We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local option in a great city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 148 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great local option in a great city”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here for 4 days with my wife in January. David is a great guy, very helpful with local advice. Love the relaxed atmosphere in the apartment. We had an unfortunate incident with getting locked out on the balcony then breaking the glass to get back in. David helped us though what must have been a very frustrating experience for him and we offered to pay for the repair. The only downside I found was that the bathroom was a bit tiny for me, I am a big guy. Breakfast was great and pleniful! I'd stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urbanfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    60
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
162
39
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Staying at Chillout flat was a highlight of my trip to Mexico. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very romantic. The staff is incredibly friendly, and the location is perfect. My favourite part was the breakfasts, which are out of this world delicious. Definitely a must for budget travelers looking for beautiful, comfortable and authentically Mexican accommodations at a great price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ariatc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Chillout at the beginning of our 3 month trip through Mexico and Guatamala and also on our way home last week! It is a great deal for the price, location, good linens, mattresses and breakfasts. Note that there is no hot food on Sundays...still cereal, toast, fruit, etc! We enjoyed walks around the area and eating at the very nearby Tacuba Restaurant.

Room Tip: We had two rooms....both fine but as someone else said you need to specify if you want an in-room ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuilterSheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

what a gem this place is, hidden away in the centro historico, bang in the middle of the city,
communal kitchen area, really clean lovely rooms, very safe and a wonderful couple who provide a scrumptious breakfast. Loads of reading material on Mexico and books that travellers have left behind
if ever we go to Mexico City again, this is where we will stay - excellente !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed 4 nights and the place lived up to its reviews. Warm welcome and consistently helpful hosts (but not in your face). We needed the only room with 2 beds, so our bathroom was down the hall, but private and secured. Eloisa & David are opening up a few more rooms upstairs, most now have adjoining bathrooms.
Tiny disappointments, were that the complimentary fruit and juice soon petered out and were not replenished. Also, we had to forgo 2 of the 4 breakfasts due to (a) going to Teotihuacan early one day and (b) flying out early the last morning, and the offer of something "to go" would have been very welcome, given that the (full and delicious) breakfast is included. Breakfast is 8:30-9:30 only. We did manage to score a couple of delicious little cakes :) for our last morning.
Our hosts were so obliging, made it clear they were available 24/7 if needed - unfortunately, we had to wake them them when the 5:00 a.m. cab he ordered for us for the airport failed to show up...and while we were out for supper, on of our hosts plunged the toilet I managed to block, despite my firm request that I do it myself!
I would stay at Chillout again in a heartbeat. Location, location - we "promenaded" nightly right outside our door. Very well run, by people who obviously love what they're doing.

Room Tip: Specify a room with adjoining bath; even a few rooms with double/king beds have short commutes down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibby2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaTac, Washington
Level Contributor
102 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

These are simple, but clean and very adequate accommodations in the heart of the Centro Historico. The building is unmarked, but easy to find and there's 24-hour security at the entrance. The owners live next door and were great resources for information on nearby restaurants, how to get the bus to the airport etc. Pedestrianized Madero Street is just three blocks away and there's plenty of new restaurants in the area as well as some historic stand-bys such as Cafe Tucuba and the Cardinal. We waked everywhere in the historic center and took the subway other places (Allende stop is around the corner). The breakfasts here were the best and most ample we had in Mexico. Our bathroom was private but outside the room in the hall, but that wasn't really a problem. Robes were provided.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pwiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
230 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The location is central - you would be 10 min away from Zocalo. The Allende metro station is around corner, and you can travel to all tourist sites by the cheap metro (3 pesos a trip) which is what we did.
The room (Foghat) is pretty clean and cozy - the only drawback was that the bathroom is down the hall. However, we got used to that. The owner David and his wife Eloisa are very friendly. David was always there during the breakfast talking to guests and providing valuable advice. The breakfasts were simple but delicious. On Sundays, the breakfast is by self-service which was fine too.
Overall, we found Chillout Flat fitting its name - so if you want to chill out in Mexico City, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 305 in Mexico City
714 reviews
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#12 of 305 in Mexico City
1,355 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#6 of 305 in Mexico City
2,548 reviews
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#39 of 305 in Mexico City
871 reviews
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#26 of 305 in Mexico City
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast

Property: Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast
Address: Calle Bolivar, 8 Apt 203, Centro Historico | Between Tacuba & 5 de Mayo Streets, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Born right in the heart of Mexico City, and its relaunched Centro Historico, our Flats are located at main Bolivar street just around the corner to the enigmatic Tacuba street. Chillout Flat is an urban oasis, a bed and breakfast with an unbeatable homely atmosphere, 9 rooms and a Mystical soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chillout Flat Hotel Mexico City
Chillout Flat Bed And Breakfast
Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing