We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for us, and needs updating” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 138 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not for us, and needs updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I cannot fault the location of this accomodation but there were some fundamentals which had not been looked after by the owners. In addition: -

1. I would not recommend this place to couples. We are a couple of young professionals who usually stay in bed and breakfasts and this was probably one of our worst choices which was a great shame given the high rating it had on trip advisor.

I think the accomodation is suitable for backpackers or people who only have a night or two to stay.

2. When we first arrived, we were shown a small room which was outside of the main common area and the window was broken with a hole in it. This was not appropriate, especially given we were travelling in December! However, we were offered an alternative room which was much larger and more acceptable (just glad they were not fully booked)

3. The breakfast was OK but nothing great (especially compared to all our other experiences) and it is more tailored to the taste of the owners rather than their guests.

Overall, disapointing given the high marks it has on tripadvisor but the location is great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulie149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davmarino, Owner at Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us
We regret to know that Chillout Flat was not the right place for you nor your preferences.
reading your disappointment points, I would like to add some more information:

You've wrote "some Fundamentals", although you don't make reference to any in particular , but I have to say that I go personally and check every day all rooms and the Flat common areas, in order to be sure we are offering our guests a 100% comfortable room & place.., As a human being I can have involuntary oversights, but it is a fact that we are there all the time caring about our guests and business in order to react promptly to any circumstance that may occur, or any need you have, it's a matter of ringing our doorbell.

About the room .., that small room ,(yes is our smallest) but was the one that you have chose and reserved, although its clearly and publicly advertised that it is a small room (12m2) and that it is outside the common area, and farthest from the street noise (guests who prefer a more quiet room, like that tiny room) there are pictures of it in order to reinforce that information. (as a plus I send all that information in every confirmation email to all our guests. )

About the tiny crack in the glass, (who was not at all a broken window") we were at that time in the process to change the whole glass, (already done) but what you did not mention in your review is that all our rooms features double glazed windows and that the one with the crack was the outside window , that way the room had perfect protection in terms of security, wind, cold and noise (moreover in winter time we do have electrical room heaters on request)
apart from all that, in order to be sure you were comfortable with our service , we did offer another room just as you mentioned it.

We are a Bed & Breakfast mostly visited by couples of all ages and backgrounds, as more than 80% of our guests are couples and their average stay is 4 days.

Breakfasts served are Mexican specialties with family recipes
to which we have even removed the chilli (chile) flavor characteristic of Mexican food, always thinking on our guests and not ourselves
moreover we serve home made Yoghurt , Home made Marmalades, Fresh Fruit, Natural Fresh juices etc,...

best wishes

David Marino.
Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    58
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
157
38
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Chillout Flat is a cozy little apartment turned into a bed-and-breakfast of sorts. If you are looking for something more personal and intimate than a hotel and want to be located in the heart of downtown, this could be the spot for you. Some downsides worth noting: the three rooms are right up against each other, so you won't have that the much privacy. We stayed in the Kundalini room which is the one next to the kitchen, and you could hear everyone chatting during breakfast, which made it difficult to sleep in. The bed is king-sized and really comfortable; the private bathroom is down the hall and recently renovated and nice. The owners, Eloisa and David--who both speak English-- are really sweet and helpful and they live right across the hall. Another thing worth noting for first timers to Mexico City is that the neighborhood is the sheer hustle-and-bustle you'd expect, and if you are in town for three or more days, you might want to stay in Condesa or Roma, which is a more pleasant atmosphere. In sum we recommend this place if meeting other travelers/getting personalized attention outweighs the amenities and privacy of a hotel and you only have a day or two in Mexico City.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Incorita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

December 30 2012

We've just spent 5 nights at Chillout and we look forward to go back! Location, confort, cleaness, breakfasts, kindness of our hosts, safety, etc. So, we do not have any complain and we hope having friends who will also have a good and memorable stay at this place.
Josée and Luc, Montréal

Room Tip: If you prefer a private bathroom, specify If you want it in your room. Also, If you have probleme to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joluc5054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
186 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Chillout Flat has it all!! First the best location right in the heart of the centro and with 24 hour security and super safe!! The owners were very friendly and helpful. The bed was excellent and you couldnt hear much street noise with the double glass windows they installed. I would highly recommend this place and would gladly stay here again!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Kundalini with our own balcony and bathroom and really liked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julievida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pictou, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Chillout Flat the first week of December 2012 and totally agree with all of the positive comments that are posted about David & Eloise and their B & B. We arrived straight from the airport, and do not speak any Spanish. Be sure to print David's instructions (in Spanish) as to how to get to Chillout Flat, that you give to the taxi driver. It is an invaluable piece of information. The one suggestion that we offer is that because the law does not permit outside signage on the historic building, Chillout Flat is about halfway down the block on the left hand side of the one-way street "Bolivar". The entrance to the building has a huge green metal gate but the number "8" was not visible either. (The security gate is often staffed in the daytime by the nicest young gal!) So, when the taxi driver is searching for the B & B, you can help out by using these additional few directions.
David helped us out with directions on how to get to the Pyramids on our own, when Wayak Tours did not show to pick us up...using the trolley bus to get to the Bus Station, and then the bus out to Theotehuancan. This was a very practical, inexpensive way to travel out there, and then we hired an English speaking guide, Aldo, who has a degree in Archeology for 500 pesos for the entire tour. Again, with us having no Spanish, David was invaluable and explained all of this to us in English. Our stay was very safe, friendly and we would return / recommend it highly.Keith and Anne

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heath1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
235 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Halfway between the Alameda Park and the Zocalo, with a metro station around the corner, this is the best place you could possibly situate yourself if you're coming to see the sights. Some say stay in the Condensa or Zona Rosa district, but I think that would be a mistake for a first-time tourist, because even though there are more restaurants there, more of the tourist sights are in this area. Both the Zocalo and the Palacio de Belles Artes are just a few blocks away, and getting to bus terminals to go on day trips out of the capital was incredibly easy on public transport.

We only had the full breakfast twice because it's served just an hour a day -from 8:30 to 9:30, and sometimes we wanted to get an early start. It wasn't bad. Something different every day in terms of the cooked portion, and fresh squeezed juice was nice, but it was more of an "extended continental" type breakfast.

We had the room with the balcony and it was pretty good. On the plus side, the bed was spacious and comfortable, and the double paned windows combined with a full sightseeing schedule allowed us to sleep well. You could hear a little street noise, but if you're used to living in cities you'll be fine.

On the downside, there's no heating (or cooling). In late November, the former is the bigger issue. It does get down to 10 degrees C at night, and while the period building and its thick exterior walls provide some insulation, a little heat wouldn't hurt. With a shirt and an extra blanket we were ok. Plumbing is also a little delicate -no tissue in the toilet.

Use of computer in the living room was a nice. And the owner was helpful with directions and getting places on public transport.

Overall, good place. I'd recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gregsf11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

This place is just awesome.

I can't really think of anything bad to say about Chillout Flat B&B, I believe it's difficult to be disappointed with a place like this, but let's start with the obvious just in case: this is not a hotel, there's no room service, 24h reception desk or background music in the corridors.

But this is like staying at a friend's place. A good friend.

The location is unbeatable: Chillout Flat is located in the Historic Center of Mexico City, a very nice area with plenty of cafes, restaurants, museums, shops and historical landmarks within walking distance, some of them pretty much next door.

It's also in a very discreet place: there are no signs or other indications in the street, the B&B is located inside a normal apartment building. The gate outside is closed at night, but there's a janitor taking care of the entrance at all times so you have complete freedom to go in and out.

We stayed in two rooms, quite different from one another, but equally clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. There's also free wi-fi everywhere.

The common area is the place to have breakfast, plan your trips, meet other guests or just relax. There's a computer that you can use to browse the Internet, as well as plenty of maps, guides and leaflets available on the tables.

But the best of all are the hosts, David and Eloisa. They are incredibly friendly and will make you feel at home from the very first moment, giving you all the tips that you need for the city. They are also very chatty and it's a pleasure to talk to them about anything, but will respect your privacy if you don't want to engage in a conversation.

The breakfast is also not your average hotel buffet, but delicious homemade Mexican food cooked with love plus juice, coffee, tea, etc. There you also have the chance to meet the other guests, that in our case were also quite interesting.

As I said in the title of this review, Chillout Flat was one of the highlights of the trip for me, it's seriously the closest I've been to staying at a friend's place but with the privacy you expect from a hotel.

I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GammaCentauri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#4 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#11 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,367 reviews
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#34 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#19 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast

Property: Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast
Address: Calle Bolivar Apt 101, Centro Historico 8 | Between Tacuba & 5 de Mayo Streets, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Born right in the heart of Mexico City, and its relaunched Centro Historico, our 2 Flats are located at main Bolivar street just around the corner to the enigmatic Tacuba street. Chillout Flat is an urban oasis, a bed and breakfast with an unbeatable homely atmosphere, 7 rooms and a Mystical soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chillout Flat Bed And Breakfast
Chillout Flat Hotel Mexico City
Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing