We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like having your own place downtown Mexico City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 141 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Like having your own place downtown Mexico City”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

My wife and I spent a week in Mexico City. One of the highlights of our trip was our stay at this cozy b&b. The owners, David and Eloisa made us feel right at home with their excellent service, great attitude and good tips on what to do and how to get around this beautiful city.

According to reviews, we had gotten the noisiest room with a window to the street, to our surprise and delight, David recently had double pane windows added to the room so the noise level coming from the street was minimum.

We particularly enjoyed breakfast time where we got to share stories and adventures from the prior day with other guests from around the world as well as David and his Wife Eloisa.

Because Chillout Flat is within walking distance to dozens of museums and galleries; hundreds of restaurants, bars and taco joints right in the middle of centro historico, we had time to enjoy more of Mexico City within the week we stayed there.

We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raul_NG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    58
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
158
39
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This b&b made me feel like I had my own appartment in Mexico City, located in a great spot: downtown, beautiful buldings all around it, metro stops a few steps away from it, museums, authentic local food restaurants. David is super accesible and friendly, he makes you feel like you're visiting a good friend that you haven't seen in years, don't be affraid to ask for his advice, insights on the beautiful city. I was there for a concert (radiohead) and still got to see many many sights around the flat.

Cheers David, keep doing such a great job!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbrahamGBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

My husband and I made our first stop in Mexico City on a 2-week rendezvous for an anniversary trip, and by far this is the best hospitality we've received during any of our travels. We unfortunately did not get to meet David, since he was away during the time of our stay, but we were hosted by friends of his, Liliana and her husband, whom happened to make us feel at home just the same. Liliana's breakfasts were delicious! Something fresh and different to eat every morning, plus she was very helpful in providing directions on how to move around the city. I think we ended up with one of the smaller rooms, but it was all we needed (i.e. easy access to public trans and all the fun, clean and tidy room where we can crash and re-energize, feel-safe place to stay...). I'd recommend to Chillout to my family and friends, and as a matter of fact I have. One of my friends just visited David last month, and she was just as pleased and agrees that this is the best place to stay...She and I are planning to go back...hopefully very soon!

Room Tip: I hear some of the rooms inside by the common area do not have bathrooms inside. We stayed in one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tere0817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I spent 4 nights at the Chillout Flat B&B and had a wonderful time. The B&B is really in a great location. My first night there I walked two blocks to the Palacio des Bellas Artes and saw the Ballet Foklorico and it was terrific. I liked my room. I loved the breakfasts. I really loved David Martino, the host! He was super friendly and encouraged me with my limited Spanish and laughed at my jokes and told me the best way to go to Teotihuacan, the Lucha Libre wrestling, and everything else I needed. He was a great ambassador for his country and made my stay really great. I recommend the Chillout Flat.

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank fanoftennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

This was the perfect place to stay with friends right in the centre of Mexico city. Enormous beds and great breakfast. Our bathroom wasn't in our room but it wasn't a problem and there are rooms with en suite. David was so helpful organising our airport transfer and advising us with our sightseeing plans. We took a bicylce taxi from the Zocalo (v close to the Chillout flats) to Ciudadela market - highly recommended. Drinks on the roof of Condesa DF hotel and lunch in Dulcinea restaurant in Polanco also highlights.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I have stayed in various places to sleep during the past twelve years or so, ranging from luxury hotels to modest backpacker hostels, in many different cities around the world (probably about 30 or so by now, haven't counted them really), and I hereby solemnly declare that the Chillout Flat B&B in Ciudad de México is the best of them all! The owners, David and Eloísa, are very friendly and helpful, and truly kind persons -this being the most distinctive aspect of the Chillout Flat. Breakfast was always delicious, with a different preparation every time. The place has a great relaxing feel and the rooms and the common areas are very comfortable, and also nicely decorated. Location is excellent, with the metro station just around the corner and many shops and places to eat nearby. I would very much like to return to México one day and if I ever do, even if I have the money to go to the most luxurious hotel in town, I would probably prefer to stay at the Chillout Flat B&B instead.

Room Tip: I stayed at the Prana room with a friend (two queen size beds) and at the Kundalini room, alone (wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franciscosebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed here for six nights in March 2012. We took cab straight from the airport for 180pesos - after David kindly emailed us the instructions before we arrived. The location is perfect for exploring Centro Historico, in a period apartment building, less than five minutes walk to Allende Metro station.

David is the perfect host, very friendly and welcoming, fluent in English, and always on hand to help with directions, places to eat, and to visit. Worth booking for alone!

The flat is colourful, clean and spacious, with a communal dining area, communal television. and computer. There is free and fast wireless and even a communal fridge for beer! As the name suggests, it is very easy to chill out here.

The breakfasts are great and served until 9.30am. They are freshly cooked and traditional with fruit and juice as well as fresh coffee, or you can help yourself to cereal at any time.

We stayed in the "Kohar" room. It was fairly large and filled with a comfy king-size bed, with
plenty of storage for our bags. It was clean, and colourfully furnished, and the bed was made up for us every day. The fixtures and fittings are in different states of wear, but the room and bathroom had a very homely feel. We had a private bathroom with our own key, but it was 2 or 3 metres down the corridor, which was fine with us - David provides bath robes as well as towels. It was generally quiet, no noise from the street, but at times noise from adjacent room and the hallway was present, which may affect a very light sleeper, but not us!

In addition to advice, David also lets you borrow from a library of guide books, and sun hats for trips.

It is reasonably priced and if you like the feeling of traveling to stay with a friend instead of a hotel, this is the only choice for you.

Room Tip: Email David - there are rooms with En Suite bathrooms if you prefer. We stayed in the "Kohar&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 306 in Mexico City
638 reviews
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#11 of 306 in Mexico City
1,308 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 306 in Mexico City
2,428 reviews
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#37 of 306 in Mexico City
839 reviews
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#19 of 306 in Mexico City
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast

Property: Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast
Address: Calle Bolivar Apt 101, Centro Historico 8 | Between Tacuba & 5 de Mayo Streets, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Born right in the heart of Mexico City, and its relaunched Centro Historico, our 2 Flats are located at main Bolivar street just around the corner to the enigmatic Tacuba street. Chillout Flat is an urban oasis, a bed and breakfast with an unbeatable homely atmosphere, 7 rooms and a Mystical soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chillout Flat Bed And Breakfast
Chillout Flat Hotel Mexico City
Chillout Flat Bed & Breakfast Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing