We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only go if you're visiting the hospital”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Mexico Medica Sur
Ranked #181 of 313 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were put in this hotel as it was close to our company's office in Tlalpan where we were visiting for 5 days. However, nobody warned us that this hotel is truly IN the hospital. Taxi drivers can find it quite confusing to get to the back and of the multiple floors, only two are the hotel (5 & 6) - the others are all various departments of the hospital itself.

The rooms were very spacious and clean (all are wheelchair accessible) but the entire concept was bizarre. Great if you have relatives in the hospital but I couldn't really see another reason why you'd stay. Food was pretty poor in the place, room service finished at 9pm and it wasn't that safe to go walking around outside - I found that even though I speak a little Spanish and always try speaking a foreign language first, I really couldn't get myself understood without showing google translate. Only the front desk speaks any English.

Room Tip: Floor 5 is on the same floor as reception - Try and get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bexiboo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Mexico Medica Sur, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear bexiboo09,

Thank you for your feedback. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We are sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret the interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope that we can better serve you next time.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 36 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

Pleasantly surprised by this hotel.. the highlight was definitely the room, which I suspect was the nicest of the lot. Spacious, with contemporary design, and floor to ceiling windows with great views. This is as nice as it get's for Holiday Inn. The hotel itself is very strange, as it is located inside a hospital complex. It can be difficult for taxi drivers to navigate, although it is signed fairly well. There is a 24-hour Starbucks in the complex nearby, and is fairly safe at night. Breakfast was OK; the 'restaurant' lacked any character or ambiance whatsoever, but again the view was certainly nice.

The only negative aspect of my stay was the live band and fireworks that started at 6 AM, very close to the hotel. I'm not even making this up. That made sleep difficult, but I can't really blame the hotel for that. 7/10

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bensagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had to go to Mexico City for a few days to visit relatives and friends. Happened that almost any Holiday Inn in the south of Mexico City were full so we took this one. It's inside of this Medical complex. Very clean and quiet with a decent restaurant service in premises. Personnel is very helpful. So, if you're going to be treated in this Hospital, this is the choice, otherwise, it's a little bit odd to go into the Med facilities to be at the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms are all the same, facing the roof and the Hospital parking building. Not too much to see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tron38us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Good hotel but not if you are a tourist. Not good for children and good service but not extraordinary. Restaurant is not good.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juanmfraga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

I basically lived here for 3 months working on a project in the DF. This hotel is great, staff is super friendly, clean rooms, nice restaurant. I really felt at home here and would recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
2  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We found this hotel on Expedia and did not see any reviews yet for this place on a few sites I checked. Let me be the first! This place was great! We had a family emergency and this place was more than accomodating. In the beginning we had problems with our reservations through Exepdia. But staff solved our problem and was very patient with us as we did not know how long our stay would be. Staff was friendly and supportive. Thank you for the wonderful service! Rooms were very nice and clean too! A big plus! I would definitely stay here again. Only down side is it is located in the same parking lot as the hospital, so was a bit hard to find. Also, while we did not have much time to walk around the hotel area. I did not recall seeing too many places walking distance from the hotel as far as stores, restaurants and the like. But, don't quote me on that. Overall, GREAT PLACE! SUPERB! Thanks again Holiday Inn staff!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happytravels2us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berenice v, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Mexico Medica Sur, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Coyoacan
One Ciudad de Mexico Periferico Sur
City Express Plus Periferico Sur...
#125 of 313 in Mexico City
31 reviews
Coyoacan
Fiesta Inn Periferico Sur
Fiesta Inn Periferico Sur
#51 of 313 in Mexico City
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camino Real Pedregal
#194 of 313 in Mexico City
252 reviews
Tlalpan
Radisson Paraiso Hotel Mexico City
Tlalpan
Hotel Inn Sur
Hotel Inn Sur
#243 of 313 in Mexico City
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Mexico Medica Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Mexico Medica Sur

Address: Calle Puente de Piedra Tlalpan 150 | Colonia Toriello Guerra, Mexico City 14050, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Tlalpan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 313 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range: $88 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Mexico Medica Sur 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites México Medica Sur is strategically located within the Medica Sur Medical Complex. It is surrounded by the hospital zone, commercial and business areas as well as a theme park. This hotel is 100% non-smoking, offers 72 beautiful rooms and is connected to the hospital. The Medica Sur Complex is a secure and safe area, where you can move to the restaurants, banks, hospital and back to the hotel room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Mexico Medica Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Mexico Medica Sur Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing