We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“much better than before”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Mexico City - Plaza Universidad
Ranked #79 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I recently returned to the Plaza Universidad to give them one last chance, and the experience was quite good. Improved attitudes among employees at the front desk and better room service stood out, as did the quietness of my room.
I suggest to anyone that they request a quiet room away from the two main streets.
The buffet is very good, for a hotel of this type. And regular items on the menu are always prepared well.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peppermanPasadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Mexico City - Plaza Universidad
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 174 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2011

We had satayed in this hotel a year ago and it was being remodeled, because it was named differentely...and my mother and i liked it even when there was a bit of construction going on....but now , wow, instead of making it better they got worse..:
the air conditioning didn´t go below 78 degrees and it was so hot outside that i had trouble sleeping because of the heat. they had the amazing idea of putting a glass wall separating the bathroom from the rest of the room, so any time someone would go to the bathroom in the middle of the night it would light the whole room, therefore waking the other people. And also the toilet made grugling noises all night long and one night it flooded the bathrrom,The key card had to be put in a special place so the lights could work, if you forget to put it there you woul have ligths for 3 minutes only. The cabs from the hotel were a rip off charging 3 times as much as a regular taxi.And the reception desk people were a little bit unprepared to deal with the questions one could have...so in a pinch..terrible service, bad hotel, never going back.....

Room Tip: I got the worst possible room so i wouldn´t know
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandyMonterrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

My employer has put me in this hotel four times and the result is always the same. 'Free' cofee in the rooms is rarely replenished, so it is only free one day, if there is some on arrival. The front desk did not answer two calls this morning, housekeeping did not answer. This is common, so I walked two floors down to lobby to ask for cofee.
Taxi service is great when available, but do not expect a cab during busy times. The food in the restaurant is good, but for Mexico City the price is very, very high. Room service is slow and expensive.
Internet service is very poor, and television offers very poor selections compared to other local hotels.
The noise in the rooms can be very bad because two extremely busy streets cross at the hotel. Every day I awake to blowing horns, unless my room is one of few not on street.
The gym is poorly equipped and poorly maintained, no pool, no spa.
While the staff is friendly and helpful, they are handicapped by poor management.
There are some terrific people working here

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peppermanPasadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

Very modern, very clean and short taxi ride to most locations. The most important thing going for this hotel however, is value. $74 for a nice modern hotel in a good location is truly a very good deal. Rooms are shockingly modern and roomy.

If you are here on business and looking for a modern and comfortable hotel in a good location, this place is a slam dunk, unless you have most of your business on the north side. Free reasonably fast internet access seals the deal. I did not eat at the restaurant

If you are a tourist and are price conscious, this is also a slam dunk. The area is safe but certainly nothing special for tourists, but it is close enough to tourist spots to take a short taxi ride. If you want to be able to walk to fine dining and shopping and museums and such, look elsewhere. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jengel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

I just finished a 15 day stay at this hotel!
The Holiday Inn Plaza Universidad is probably the nicest Holiday Inn I have ever stayed in. I am a platinum member of HI and got upgraded. The room was superb, very well furnished and decorated and comfortable in every respect. It was clean as a whistle. Amenities were good and the daily cleaning was thorough beyond anything I’ve seen at other Holiday Inns.
The staff is polite, well trained and always running to help in any way they can.
The food in the restaurant is very good, the service excellent and the prices reasonable.
Every inch of the hotel is spotless. This property is a class act and the price quite reasonable. I log about 6 months in hotels every year of which atleast 100 nights a year are in Holiday Inns. This hotel is #1. It is a superior hotel which is just head and shoulders about the rest.
As a businessman, I am dependent on a reliable internet connection. The wireless internet connection was flawless-worked like a charm.
Only one negative thing I can point out…..there is a disco or bar across the street and the music is very loud and can disturb people who are sensitive to noise. Fortunately, that is not my problem….but it could be an annoyance to others.
I give this property 5 stars and will stay here again when back in Mexico City.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILoveIsrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

I recently spent two weeks at the Holiday Inn Universidad and found the rooms and staff to be good. The food from room service and in the restaurant can only be described as excellent, for Mexico. The beds were comfortable as well.
On the down side, there was a very persistent odour of sewage in the hallways and more specifically in the room. With the air conditioning running at full, the smell would disappate within an hour or two. This was a system that required a card to run the electricity and they would not let you leave a card in the card reader during the day if you were out. The house keeping staff managed to miss things like coffee and bottled water.
I would probably stay somewhere else if there was another hotel nearby.

Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
Thank programboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

I used to stay often in the Royal Plaza for business years ago and I liked it. Since it has changed to a Holiday Inn, it is much better even. Completely renovated, good design, big rooms, gorgeous breakfast and dinner buffet. Service in the restaurant was very good; I only had some critics towards the bell boys who hang around and are not always very helpful. Given the lack of hotels in the south of Mexico City, for me there is no alternative to this hotel if you look for a nice place to stay. The area around the hotel is not particularly nice but you are in walking distance of a shopping center (200 m) and of a movie theater (500m) and it takes 2 minutes by taxi to get to the center of Coyoacan.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElsasservonZawere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
City Express Patio Universidad
#65 of 312 in Mexico City
559 reviews
Holiday Inn Mexico Coyoacan
#139 of 312 in Mexico City
103 reviews
Fiesta Inn Insurgentes Sur
#42 of 312 in Mexico City
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada VA Veneto Mexico City Sou...
#270 of 312 in Mexico City
55 reviews
Juárez
City Express Plus Insurgentes Sur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Mexico City - Plaza Universidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Mexico City - Plaza Universidad

Address: Parroquia 1056 | Col. Santa Cruz Atoyac, Mexico City 03310, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $83 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Mexico City - Plaza Universidad 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Plaza Universidad is located in the southern area of Mexico City, where you can enjoy space and comfort, 18 kilometers from the Benito Juarez International Airport and 5 kilometers from World Trade Center (WTC). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Mexico City - Plaza Universidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Mexico City-Plaza Universidad Hotel Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing