We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Carnitas”

La Casa de las Sirenas
Ranked #64 of 4,236 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centro Historico
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Carnitas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Yes it's expensive. Special view and good service and AMAZING Carnitas and margaritas . A visit here is worth the price.

Helpful?
Thank chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    132
    40
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
milwaukee wi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Slightly overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stopped for a margarita at the umbrella filled area out front at the back of the cathedral. The Rita was great, but at $10 per head, a little steep

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank oldnippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincs UK
Level Contributor
420 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
“Returning some two years later we were dissappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Two years ago when we were in Mexico City - we ate here at least twice & recommended the restaurant on our hotel review. We admit that we did visit on a Monday night and there was in fact only one other couple there.

The view is great, our meal was fine, but I would warn you that an extra side dish appeared - although a health warning was given as to its "hotness" - it was inedible even to my other half - it could have easily ruined our meal.

We felt that the reception/ service had little "warmth" and were completely taken aback when a 40 peso charge for bread and a substantial service charge was added as mandatory to our Bill. In a month long trip visiting some very good restaurants neither of these were added; It had been our intention to have lunch on our last day - but we gave it a miss.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaw118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“The view is special”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We were very lucky on Valentine's day and got 1 of the 2 tables on the 2nd floor which have a view. Those 2 tables only seat 2 persons each and are on a raised step. We walked in at 7pm without a reservation and were seated immediately. They gave a free glass of Mexican wine to every customer. The food was good but not nearly as good as Azul Historico. Service was very good EXCEPT the waiter added an 18% tip on the check and then asked us to give him the tip in cash while we put the check on a credit card. The tamarind margarita was amazing. The bill before the tip was about $80 for appetizer, 2 meals, one margarita and 2 beers.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank upgraded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Delicious, friendly, scenic and expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Very good food and an amazing view of the Cathedral from the backside. I had guacamole which was fresh and authentic and Pollo Mole Verde which was to die for. It's expensive for sure (for Mexico City) but I really enjoyed it and will be back!

Helpful?
Thank jeremymmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casa de las Sirenas also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to La Casa de las Sirenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing