We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place - great service - great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Astrid y Gaston

Astrid y Gaston
Reserve with OpenTable
Astrid y Gaston is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #84 of 3,596 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Polanco
Cross street: Alejandro Dumas y Eugenio Sue
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
257 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great place - great service - great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

High prices for sure. But the place is really great, very design and trendy. Service is just perfect - very high level. So prepare to spend a lot of money but you'll get a unique experience of atmosphere and of peruvian food. And to make it easier when you have to pay, here is a tip: you'll see that the bill looks very much nicer after a couple of their (excellent) pisco sour cocktails.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EtiennE111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    115
    55
    16
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“I know my Peruvian food.....but.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

So I love finding a Peruvian place to eat when I travel (I am partial since my wife is Peruvian). This place is a gourmet and not the authentic place if that is what you are looking for. The food was good but again not your standard. They did have Lomo Saltado but that is about the only authentic dish. The rest is gourmet fusion. I asked for papa a la hauncaina or aji de gallina but they couldn't oblige. They also only have 1 type of Pisco! I do have to admit the presentation was very good and the ambiance was awesome (they have a patio with fireplaces). The service was superb. It is a bit pricey but remember it's the gourmet you're paying for.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Latino_Hog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun
Level Contributor
183 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Came in with great expectations but ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Went for the first time. Place is very nice a people very cordial but for the price paid I didn't feel the wow factor. I ordered a chilcano drink, never got it.

Helpful?
Thank uvamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
“Great dinning experience !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

One of the best restaurant in Mexico City !
Great place excellent decoration and outside place with very nice atmosphere
Great drink special the Pisco
Great food my recommendations are tiradito causes y el cochinillo
Great service with also excellent wine cellar

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JMIA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
85 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very good as usual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Fantastic service from the moment we arrived. The captain-maitre was very good and took us all the way on the wine, starter and main course. I believe this is my 5th visit, loved every time. keep the good job. The food was fantastic as usual.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ApiciusHotelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Astrid y Gaston also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Astrid y Gaston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing