We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sometimes excelent, sometimes so, so”
Review of Astrid & Gaston

Astrid & Gaston
Reserve with OpenTable
Astrid & Gaston is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #158 of 4,447 Restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Polanco
Cross street: Alejandro Dumas y Eugenio Sue
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Sometimes excelent, sometimes so, so”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

First visit was excellent; atmosphere, service, menu, food etc., etc. Visited yesterday with family to brag about the Restaurant and was surprised. Welcoming was far from cordial. Service was really poor for this "top of the notch place", although food was still great. Ceviches and shrimp are excellent. Perhaps this time they did not have enough personel, but I think I will think again going back. For the prices they charge I expect first class service!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    132
    75
    24
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible atitude”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

I know Astrid y gaston from Lima and from bogota
This time I have decided to go to Astrid y gaston in Mexico with important gusts l had
This was a terrible mistake ! The service was so slow that we had to leave the Resturant after two hours and fifteen minutes without receiving the main dish ! No body from the staff offered any apology or concession. Just nothing .
This is the first time in m life that I had acountered such an attitude in a what is supposed to be a fancy Resturant

Helpful?
4 Thank Uzi U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mexico City - Feb 2013”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Sat in the beautiful outdoor space, right next to the fireplace. Ceviche was the best I've ever had. Suckling pig entrée was amazing. Service was professional and attentive...right down to the selection of bread! Definitely one of the best spots in Mexico City for a romantic dinner!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yuxx88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“They've thought of everything”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have eaten here 3 times and I am continuously impressed by the quality of food, service, and environment. The food speaks for itself -- flavors of Peru, fresh seafood, everything well-cooked. Best place in DF to get a pisco sour, even the breads they offer are exquisite. Definitely sample the different types of ceviche on offer. My favorite dish at A&G is "la bruja y los camarones al fuego," a beautiful plate of fish and prawns.

The waiters are top-notch, most are bilingual (English/Spanish).

If you make a reservation in advance, try to get a table on their outdoor terrace.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YNWAtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Really excellent peruvian cuisine”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Go for suckling pig marinated for 3 weeks. Seviche etc of course. Cocktails and dessert worth attention, too.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cocha-Bepeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Astrid & Gaston also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Astrid & Gaston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing