We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service, beautiful room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. Regis Mexico City
Ranked #11 of 313 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This hotel is one our favorite places we've ever stayed. Since returning home, we find ourselves frequently telling friends about the level of service and luxury we experienced at the St. Regis Mexico City--over and above amazing sights and experiences like visiting Teotihuacan and exploring Xochimilco.

We never stayed at a St. Regis before. One of the hotel's signature amenities is butler service. This means you have a number to call if you need anything, and you get a certain number of free pressings and shoeshines. We didn't need that stuff because we were on vacation, but also included is free coffee and tea service any time. Well, that was our breakfast, teatime, and sometimes our evening snack (tea comes with a couple of cookies) almost every day. We tipped a lot, but less than we would have spent for coffee and tea room service.

Our room was beautiful and spacious. The design was very tasteful, the bed was comfortable, and there were these crazy high-tech touches, like universal lighting controls built into the bedside phone, and a TV built into the bathroom mirror. The shower was excellent.

We also used the hotel gym and pool. Both are not large but are excellent facilities in good condition. We were mostly alone when we used the gym. It is on a high floor and you can look at a beautiful view while you use the machines. The pool is quite small, really more for lounging in than doing laps. When my husband and I both did laps at the same time it felt crowded. There are also two small hot tubs. You can sit in the hot tub and look out at the city below, which is pretty amazing.

This is certainly not a cheap place (though we got a terrific advance Internet rate). For one thing, all the great service makes you want to tip a lot. The restaurant is very expensive and the bar is pretty expensive also (for example a 6 oz bottle of mineral water was 75 pesos--about $6). But to give an idea of the service, on the first night my husband asked for a mescal. He did not ask the price and when we saw the bill, we gulped--the shot (a generous one) cost more than $20. The next night, we returned and my husband asked the bartender for a tequila, but something not so expensive as the night before. I declined anything, since I found the cost of mineral water crazy. The bartender obliged my husband with a shot that cost half as much as the night before and gave me a free mineral water to take back to our room.

Another service anecdote: when we were arranging with the concierge to make a dinner reservation I mentioned it was my husband's birthday. I said I wanted to make sure that it was a nice restaurant for a birthday celebration. The concierge said it would be perfectly appropriate. Then we went out on our adventure for the day. When we returned to our room late that afternoon it had been transformed: balloons were hanging everywhere and there was a special dessert and birthday card on the coffee table. My husband was overwhelmed and delighted. It really made him feel special.

A third service anecdote: one evening the concierge gave us walking directions to a nearby restaurant. When we arrived downstairs (the lobby is on the third floor), the doorman recognized us and pulled out a map to show us exactly where to go. Similarly, on evenings when we had concierge-arranged reservations, a taxi was arranged for us before we asked for it.

The hotel's location is very good--a few blocks from the Seville subway stop and a leisurely walk from Chapultepec Park. The area feels very safe.

We loved our visit to Mexico City and the St. Regis is a big part of why we enjoyed it so much. When we return to Mexico City (which we hope to do one day), we will try and stay at the St. Regis again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebOChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Community Manager at The St. Regis Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for sharing this amazing review, we are certainly touched, yet honored and glad, to read your kind words.
Second of all, allow me to speak for all The St. Regis Mexico City associates and tell you, these experiences are our pleasure. Thank you for letting us be part of an special occasion, and unforgettable vacation, and a memorable trip to Mexico City. It is exiting to know you got to enjoy places as Xochimilco and Teotihuacan and also our facilities and amenities.
We hope you always remember this time in Mexico and come back soon to keep building extraordinary experiences,

Best and warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,030)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

543 - 549 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

Service is excellent, the location central, the restaurants in the hotel are very good too. Don't miss the exercise room and the view from there. One of the few hotels where you can have connecting rooms (it is always a problem for us traveling with kids)
Only complaint: the floor of the beautiful bathroom is flat, so the water goes into the rest of the bathroom every time you take a shower, because there is no door...(for the Kingsize bed bedroom).
Overall excellent experience!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bubuNewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Manager at The St. Regis Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback and review. We are pleased to know you had an excellent stay and enjoyed our culinary experiences.
About the bathroom incident, we will track your room, as this should not happen, and get it fixed,

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel in Mexico City that is safe and convenient, the St. Regis is top shelf in regards to safety, top restaurants (two), room service, rooms and spa. The rooms are big and plenty of room to stretch out and relax. Personal butler service available for all rooms to take the wrinkles out of your clothes and shoe polisher available! All staff seemed to be bilingual and very helpful. Room was spotless and the hotel was close to the major attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing east or west for best views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MonkeyBoyPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Manager at The St. Regis Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Guest,
The St. Regis Mexico City is proud to have an exclusive Remède Spa, J&G Grill Restaurant by Jean Georges and Diana Restaurant, with a breathtaking view of the city.
Your personal butler will assist you in each visit,

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Friendly and helpful stuff. Large rooms with modern infrastructure. Very clean. Good breakfast bufett. The only complaint: There is no easy accessible power outlet at the desk and not enough power outlets in the room.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank snowrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Manager at The St. Regis Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking some minutes to review The St. Regis Mexico City. We are grateful for your comments, in order to give you a bespoke service, let us know in your next visit, how many outlets you require, so we can accommodate your needs.

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The only truly deluxe hotel on Paseo de la Reforma. Centrally located on "Diana the Huntress" circle but super secure and quiet with no hint of Mexico City's infamous traffic below. Great breakfasts, convivial bar, excellent beds, outstanding views, bathtubs!! (a rarity in Mexico) with complete bathroom amenities (including plenty of body lotion and gooey blue shower gel), good gym with an indoor heated pool, decent wifi, and a 1-star Michelin restaurant that lives up to its billing. But the thing that makes St. Regis really stand out is its consistently outstanding staff. They give the personal touch to a large, modern, steel and glass hotel. No problems with key cards.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SophieChar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Manager at The St. Regis Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are touched by your kind words to our personal. Thanks for sharing your thoughts about our facilities and quality, we truly appreciate it.
Hoping to welcome you back soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel and the layout is designed around the safety of its guests. The staff is extremely friendly, polite, and very helpful. My butler Daniela was outstanding! I found the location to be great. Everything was super clean and the hotel has a great smell. Beds are very comfortable and the view from my room was really nice. The staff really went out of their way to make my stay a personalized get away.
-Cecilia M.
Texas, USA

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CeciliaTexas_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Manager at The St. Regis Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Cecilia,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are very happy you enjoyed a bespoke stay and that staff made you feel welcome.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights. Everything was great- we loved it. Wonderful room, great healthclub and good breakfast! The location was good and the concierge helped us with lots of things. The place to stay in Mexico City!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EllinorT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Manager at The St. Regis Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Guest:

We are very pleased to know you had such a lovely time with us. We will be honored to serve you during your visits to Mexico City.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
Polanco
Las Alcobas
Las Alcobas
#4 of 313 in Mexico City
667 reviews
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#12 of 313 in Mexico City
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
W Mexico City
W Mexico City
#23 of 313 in Mexico City
1,003 reviews
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
#10 of 313 in Mexico City
1,524 reviews
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#15 of 313 in Mexico City
2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Mexico City

Address: Avenida Paseo de La Reforma 439 | Colonia Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#3 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#5 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $300 - $779 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Mexico City 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Mexico City is located at Paseo de la Reforma, a key financial and business district as well as a center for social life in the Mexican capital. The hotel in Mexico City enjoys a strategic location in front of the Glorieta de la Diana Cazadora, a meeting point between the Bosque de Chapultepec museums, Polanco business district and the Centro Histórico. The airport is a mere 45 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The St. Regis Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Mexico City Hotel Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing