We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern, perfect, but dishonest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The St. Regis Mexico City
Ranked #6 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
376 reviews
265 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
“Modern, perfect, but dishonest”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Absolutely perfect property in the center of the city. Great service. Truly five-star business hotel. BUT. We'd booked a nice room Grand Deluxe for better view, there are some of them on 12-14th floors. BUT! During checking-in, the guy said "Perfect choice - great GRAND Deluxe room, yes?" - "Yeah". And had given us 8th floor - simple Deluxe room (as have discovered right now only). So - our extra money were waived.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexzhdanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Manager at The St. Regis Mexico City, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Dear Mr. Zhdanov,
We are very glad you enjoyed the service at The St. Regis Mexico City but furthermore we are sorry about this misunderstanding. Our Grand Deluxe Rooms are located in floors 12th and 14th as well in the front part of the hotel (with an expansive and breathtaking view to Reforma Avenue) from floors 4th to 11th, having all of them the best view form the city. We truly hope to have you back sometime soon. Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    134
    33
    15
    9
See reviews for
121
272
59
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

The St. Regis Hotel in Mexico City is one of the most elegant hotels at which we have stayed. Everyone from the Concierge to the Desk Staff to the Room Staff were outstanding, helpful and wonderful to work with. We loved the American breakfast each morning and the bar scene is lively and lots of good music.

The amenities are outstanding....butler service on the floor, total pampering in and out of your room, a beautiful spa and pool and wonderful car service that took us anywhere we wanted to go!

When we come back to Mexico City this is the only place we will stay!

Room Tip: My guess is that all rooms are great! They have wonderful windows so you don't hear the street n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerdeb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Manager at The St. Regis Mexico City, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Dear guest,

We deeply appreciate each one of your words. We are glad you enjoyed Breakfast, the live music and great ambiance at King Cole Bar and the comfort and privacy of your room. Furthermore, thank you for bringing us excellent news knowing that we will be honored to receive you sometime soon.
Wishing you a lovely day,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

A true 5 star hotel that delivers superior service. Every single detail is accounted for and the staff outdoes themselves to make sure that you have absolutely anything and everything you desire. Whatever you ask for they will find a way to find an answer for you.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evitapuente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Manager at The St. Regis Mexico City, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Evita,
Thank you for taking some time to review The St. Regis Mexico City. One of our core values is Uncompromised Service, we are really glad we fulfilled your desires and will be glad to get to know more about you for an superior service in each visit,
Best and warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The St Regis offers the best of everything, from friendly and helpful assistance by Antonio at the lobby door, to Francesca greeting us every morning for breakfast, to Aivaras making sure that all is well in the bar and dining room, including bringing us blankets out on the terrace when it was chilly, to Lilian, our butler, and Joseph brining the cocktails - all were exceptional.

The St Regis rooms are comfortable and modern, including the TV inset into the bathroom mirror, to the steam option for the shower in the Executive Suite. They have a great turn down service in the evenings, and a fun Wednesday cocktail hour.
The spa services were also exceptional.

An example of the extra level of service and attention - on St. Valentine's night, an attendant knocked on our door and gave us an exquisite, and complimentary, heart shaped box, make completely out of edible candy. Never had that happen before in a hotel!

Overall, one of my favorite hotels in Latin America.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NOIDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Manager at The St. Regis Mexico City, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your kind comments, it is really encouraging to begin a day with this impressions about our service and staff. We do like to indulge our guest and will be honored to do it again in your next visits,
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I spent a weekend here with my girlfriend, we live in Mexico City but wanted to stay here for a night to get away from it all. We started with Saturday lunch at the Diana restaurant's terrace. The place is nice, service is good, what amazed me is the incredible ability of the chef to take every flavor out of the food, it was probably the blandest food I have ever had. We tried the "aguachile de hamachi" and the "camarones al tequila" and they both had absolutely no flavor at all. We had a great time because we drank lots of tequila, but food was much lower than mediocre, it was absolutely terrible.

Next day we had breakfast in our room, again, very so so food. Then we had a massage at the spa, we had been there before and it is a really nice spa, five stars, very small and intimate but with top-notch everything. Do yourself a favor and book a treatment with a masseuse called Candy, I have had many massages in five stars hotels all over the world and she is the very best ever. Do not just book a massage, specifically request Candy, you'll thank me.

In short, a very nice hotel, good service, terrible, terrible food (they are about to open a Jean George steakhouse, let's hope that works out well), excellent spa and the best masseuse ever.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RafaelMexicoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Manager at The St. Regis Mexico City, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
We do thank you very much for your comments. We have a new renowned Chef (Chef Guy Santoro) in property, so please be sure that the quality of food is now spectacular. Jean George is opening in the near future and will meet all the St. Regis standards in order to surpass the food and service quality that our guests and clients are expecting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

This hotel was beautiful. The furnishings in the lobby not only looked fabulous they were comfortable too, the flower and plant arrangements were changed regularly and were original and beautiful. My room was spacious, contained all that i needed and had the finishing touches such as the mirror TV in the bathroom that i have come to love as well as the fragrant complimentary toiletries.
I love their butler service and Oswald who looked after me the first (very early) morning check in was charming and very helpful. Their breakfast (i could only manage the continental) was scrummy and the desk staff that greeted me in the breakfast room remembered and pronounced my name each subsequent morning.
What i was disappointed in was the inconsistency- after Oswald I had a different butler who despite several attempts could not recall/pronounce my name and seemed very embarrassed. The water in my room for one day was not topped up and i had to ask twice for replacements of some of the toiletries. i was not offered a news paper and neither did i receive fruit or any other recognition that I was an SPG Gold member. I discovered both of these had been given to my (also Gold SPG) colleague on the evening before i checked out after a 4 night stay. Whilst i received a very gracious apology from the check out personnel and the explanation being that there was no mention of my status in my reservation- they did at least recognise that with a 4 night stay they had had the opportunity to do something about it and didn't.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CazzaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Manager at The St. Regis Mexico City, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate your kind words, comments and feedback. I will value if you could send to me your name and SPG number to carlos.fajer@stregis.com
Wishing to welcome you back soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed at the hotel over Christmas with my parents and my 2yo. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They even left a stocking for my son on Christmas eve. Very kid friendly, the butler takes care of your every need. Great restaurant and amazing view of Reforma boulevard.
The Spa is amazing and worth every penny. The fitness center is state of the art and there is a fully equipped Pilates room.
We'll come back for sure. What a treat.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexMexZilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Manager at The St. Regis Mexico City, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Thank you for your review,

Family is very important for The St. Regis and we are glad you had an alluring experience during the Christmas season. Remède Spa staff is also very proud for keeping there and in the Fitness Center a great service. But nothing gives us more joy than the news that you are planning to come back.

See you soon and Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Mexico City
Four Seasons Mexico City
#10 of 306 in Mexico City
1,193 reviews
Polanco
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
#1 of 306 in Mexico City
619 reviews
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#7 of 306 in Mexico City
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
#14 of 306 in Mexico City
1,165 reviews
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#9 of 306 in Mexico City
1,792 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 306 in Mexico City
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Mexico City

Property: The St. Regis Mexico City
Address: Avenida Paseo de La Reforma 439 | Col. Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#5 Family Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Mexico City 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Mexico City is located at Paseo de la Reforma, a key financial and business district as well as a center for social life in the Mexican capital. The hotel enjoys a strategic location in front of the Glorieta de la Diana Cazadora, a meeting point between the Bosque de Chapultepec museums, Polanco business district and the Centro Histórico. The airport is a mere 45 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Mexico City Hotel Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing