We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views, good food service leaves something to be desired”

El Balcon del Zocalo
Ranked #36 of 6,708 Restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Cuauhtemoc District
Reviewed March 17, 2017

Well the view is lovely if you get a seat near the windows. Sunday only an expensive brunch but nicely done food, some buffet for first course and then order main and dessert. As solo diner I felt very invisible by staff and the slowness of the service was frustrating. Very busy with guests who can fork over mucho denero for a brunch to have the view. Something to do on a lovely afternoon - perhaps better options.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank 450juditha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHoteles, Director General at El Balcon del Zocalo, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2017

Dear Judith,

Thank you for sharing with us your comments about your recent visit to our restaurant Balcón de Zócalo.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed the majestic view of the Plaza de la Constitución as well as the culinary proposal of our Chef Pepe Salinas.
Nevertheless, we apologize for the inconveniences that you had with our service. We will take your comments into consideration to improve because our guests are of utmost importance.
Please, give us another chance to serve you.

Regards,

Vladimir Mayllen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

561 - 565 of 2,275 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2017

I thought that Mexico was going to be an awful place to be, but no. The ambient there is amazing and the way they treat you is just incomparable.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank arivera009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHoteles, Director General at El Balcon del Zocalo, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2017

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read that you had an amazing time in México. Also, we are glad that you enjoyed the view to Plaza de la Constitución and that our team did a great a job with you.
We will be waiting for you!

Regards,

Vladimir Mayllen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2017

We had a drink one late afternoon and dinner one evening at El Balcon. The view over the Zocalo is excellent but the food is mediocre. We had friendly service for drinks, and indifferent service for dinner. The staff prepares table side--it's fresh but bland. go for a drink once to see the view.

Date of visit: December 2016
1  Thank nameste56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHoteles, Director General at El Balcon del Zocalo, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2017

Dear Guest,

We are thankful for your comments. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the view from our restaurant Balcón del Zócalo.

We are really sorry for the inconveniences. We will consider your comments so we can improve and provide you with an even better service for future trips to Mexico City.
We hope you will come back soon!

Regards,

Vladimir Mayllen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2017 via mobile

One of the best views of Zocala Square. I went here a few years back and couldn't wait to return. The quac is made at your table. Very nice place to eat and relax.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank JuannyChico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2017 via mobile

After reading reviews on Trip Advisor we decided to eat here one night. We didn't make a reservation so had to wait about 30 minutes for a table, but it was worth it.
We had a table overlooking the square but unfortunately it was raining so the awning was down which still had a window to see outside.
The food was incredible. We ordered the soft seafood taco, cheese and spinach ball and pork with carrot purée. It was all so mouth watering and delicious. I also tried a Mexican mojito (it was really strong).
The only down side to that experience was other diners were smoking which isn't a pleasant experience when you are eating. You can sit inside so this may be the better option but you miss out on the view.

Date of visit: March 2017
1  Thank PocketRocket1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHoteles, Director General at El Balcon del Zocalo, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are honored to read that you had a really good experience at Balcón del Zócalo. We believe in the small details that make a huge difference.
We hope to serve you soon.

Regards,

Vladimir Mayllen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Balcon del Zocalo also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to El Balcon del Zocalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United States
© 2020 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.