We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting dessert list”

El Balcon del Zocalo
Ranked #36 of 6,708 Restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Cuauhtemoc District
Reviewed January 9, 2017

Ate early dinner here. First we sat outside but moved inside cause it was so windy. The kitchen was modern. The menu was not so wide. The dessert list was wide and interesting. At first the waiters did not notice us at all although the were so many of them but slowly it started to go better. Food was good.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tukano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHoteles, Director General at El Balcon del Zocalo, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2017

Dear Tukano,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to read that you had a great moment with us and that you enjoyed our desserts.
Nevertheless, we apologize for the inconveniences that you had with our service. We will take your comments into consideration to improve it because at Balcón del Zócalo we are committed to making you feel special.

Come back any time soon!

Regards,

Vladimir Mayllen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

583 - 587 of 2,275 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2017

This place is worth visiting for the view. The hotel is gorgeous and the Margeritas are very nice.

I liked the food. The service is ok - friendly but not the most attentive I've ever had.

Bring a jumper!

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank Bendybusbuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHoteles, Director General at El Balcon del Zocalo, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2017

Dear Ulla,

Thank you for your comments. As you have mentioned, our restaurant has a privileged view of the heart of the city. We are happy to read that you enjoyed it as well as our margaritas and menu. Our chef Pepe Salinas has created an innovative culinary proposal to satisfy your palate.
Also, we apologize for the inconveniences that you had with our service. We will take your comments into consideration to improve it.
We encourage you to come back soon, but this time don’t forget a jumper!

Regards,

Vladimir Mayllen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2017

In a shiny day, not crowded this is the perfect place for lunch or dinner, at night you can see the lights if the palace is decorated for any festivity. Food is good

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank Veronique A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHoteles, Director General at El Balcon del Zocalo, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2017

Dear Veronique,

Thank you for your comments. As you have mentioned, our restaurant Balcón del Zócalo has a privileged view of the Plaza de la Constitución. It is great that you enjoyed it, while you tasted the dishes created by our chef Pepe Salinas.
We will be delighted to serve you again.

Regards,

Vladimir Mayllen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2017

I went on a Sunday, our breakfast table was full. Lots of choices with good price compared to the quality. I recommend.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Cxbedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHoteles, Director General at El Balcon del Zocalo, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. It is pleasing to know that you enjoyed our breakfast as well as our privileged view of Zócalo square.
Come back soon, we will love to welcome you again!

Regards,

Vladimir Mayllen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2017 via mobile

El Balcón is right in the city downtown with a fantastic view over the main plaza. You can enjoy the view, but also enjoy the food. The guacamole is hand made on the table and is a excellent, as Mexican as it can be and taste just like it should.

Don't forget the dessert, but also enjoy the Mezcal while you feel the streets in the downtown area.

Great place to eat and enjoy the time in CDMX.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank RBacalhau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHoteles, Director General at El Balcon del Zocalo, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Surely, many members of the Tripadvisor community will find useful your recommendations. It is great to know that you enjoyed our guacamole, mezcal, and desserts as well as our privileged view of Zócalo. Our main aim is to provide you with a unique culinary experience.
Come back anytime soon!

Regards,

Vladimir Mayllen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Balcon del Zocalo also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to El Balcon del Zocalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United States

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.