We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Just loved this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casita del Patio Verde

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casita del Patio Verde
Ranked #50 of 129 Mexico City B&B and Inns
cuernavaca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Quiet, great location, beautiful garden and wonderful breakfasts. Stayed five night while visiting my daughter. Get the downstairs room! Large, nicely appointed, with fireplace, separate dressing and bathrooms, and opaque shades on floor to ceiling windows which offer privacy while letting in light and views from the heavenly garden!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank turtlekona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    4
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
9
27
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bittern
Level Contributor
371 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Enjoyed a four day stay here. Jose the owner was helpful prior to our arrival and during. Easy metro trip into the it's and lots of restaurants nearby. Delicious breakfasts and very comfortable beds. Pretty garden setting

Room Tip: The front room is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bitterntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
132 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here over Christmas and the innkeeper was not on site to help us nor to make our stay memorable. I had inquired several times before arrival about changing to a better room as we booked the last one available which was the more basic room, although very nice and comfortable but small. I was told the place was fully booked but while we were there, only one couple arrived so the place was soul less and managed by the maid/house keeper who was inexperienced and breakfast was awkward. To pay our bill, I had to speak to the innkeeper by telephone and leave my card details as our plans did not meet with his visiting times to the property. Had we known the place was going to be all but empty and without a host we would not have stayed here over Christmas. A disappointing and depressing stay over Christmas. If you're staying here, take the telephone number to give to your taxi driver and no one knows where it is.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This B&B is located in the historic Santa Catarina neighbourhood of Coyoacan, within walking distance of an impressive range of tourist, cultural and commercial resources. The Jesús Reyes Heroles Cultural Center is around the corner, as is the historic Santa Catarina Chapel. Not far off is the Coyoacan village center, with its colonial buildings and vibrant street life.

The B&B is a green, quiet oasis behind high solid walls. We stayed in the Cabina, a well-sized standalone unit containing Mexican furniture and fixtures. It and the other units overlook the patio garden.

We had a range of breakfast options that we could enjoy at an agreed to time. We had yogurt and granola, but more substantial Mexican breakfasts are also available. The fresh fruit was excellent.

The neighborhood is safe, including after dark, and the units are well priced. My only concerns are that the B&B is difficult to find – make sure your taxi driver has exact directions. Also, on our second day we were unable to locate staff onsite, although one is supposed to be available for check-in and check-out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VicVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I am sure with all the good reviews, there is a nice place to stay, but I had made reservation for December and was obligated to canceled it for reason not under my control, when I made the reservation trhe same day my credit card was charged half of the week cost, but when I cancelled it it's going to take two to three weeks to get my money back, in the mintime I'm paying interest for this money that it is seating in somebody's bank account, which it's not fair at all. Regardless of me writing direct to the Owner and to Booking.com I have not get my refund yet two has pass.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I 100% agree with all previous posts, this place is simply breathtaking. Wonderful, quiet, beautiful, great service, great breakfast, amazing location, quaint. I will recommend that anyone who visits DF (mexico city) stay in this bed and breakfast. My only regret is that we did not stay here longer. The beds are super comfortable and if an adult family is traveling together or several couples, this is the place to stay to have community but to also have privacy. I cant say enough and of course, Coyoacan remains my favorite part of DF. Thanks so much!

Room Tip: The large room with two beds provides extra privacy and space. I would recommend for couples. You wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djh121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We visited this charming B&B and found peace and tranquility whcih is highly unusual in the frantic pace of Mexico city, the rooms are well apointed, the lady who looks after you is very attentive and a great cook, the breakfast mexican plate changes every day or you can have normal favourites.
The garden is very thougthfully laid out and has made the most of its size, the owner Jose Luis Garcia Reyes is extremly attentive.
The decoration is charming we stayed at La Cabana and it was SPECTACULAR with a glass frontage with so much foliage that there is complete privacy, it feels a little like a luxury Robinson Crusoe, the handpainted details in the bathroom, and washroom / luggage room both of whcih adjoined the sumptous 2 HUGE bed bedroom, were beautiful and an inspiration ! we also had easy wifi access, books to read, TV whcih we never needed as the beauty of the place was captivating. We stayed 5 days and WILL BE BACK ... look forward to it very much

Room Tip: La Cabana is REALLY worth it, with a shower room, a luggage room / washroom so a coupel can get read...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Coyoacan
La Casa del Tekolote
La Casa del Tekolote
#235 of 304 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
Holiday Inn Mexico Coyoacan
#125 of 304 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Coyoacan
Casa Jacinta Guest House
Casa Jacinta Guest House
#20 of 129 in Mexico City
5.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coyoacan
Maria Del Alma
Maria Del Alma
#22 of 129 in Mexico City
5.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Coyoacan
Chalet del Carmen
Chalet del Carmen
#31 of 129 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Coyoacan
Pug Seal Boutique B&B
Pug Seal Boutique B&B
#4 of 129 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casita del Patio Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casita del Patio Verde

Property: La Casita del Patio Verde
Address: Callejon de la Escondida # 41 | Col. Coyoacan, Mexico City 04000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Coyoacan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Casita del Patio Verde 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casita del Patio Verde is located in Coyoacan one of the most emblematic neighborhoods in Mexico City. It has cobblestone streets with tourist spots, big mansions, plazas, art galleries, restaurants and picturesque cafes. Within walking distance, you have access to the heart of Coyoacan, as well as Frida Kahlo's Museum (La Casa Azul); Plaza Hidalgo; Jarda­n Centenario; Casa de Cortes, Plaza Conchita amongst others. It's very close to San Angel, with its colonial Plaza San Jacinto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your La Casita del Patio Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casita Del Patio Verde Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing