We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just loved this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Casita del Patio Verde
Ranked #74 of 166 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Quiet, great location, beautiful garden and wonderful breakfasts. Stayed five night while visiting my daughter. Get the downstairs room! Large, nicely appointed, with fireplace, separate dressing and bathrooms, and opaque shades on floor to ceiling windows which offer privacy while letting in light and views from the heavenly garden!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank turtlekona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 56 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

Enjoyed a four day stay here. Jose the owner was helpful prior to our arrival and during. Easy metro trip into the it's and lots of restaurants nearby. Delicious breakfasts and very comfortable beds. Pretty garden setting

Room Tip: The front room is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bitterntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here over Christmas and the innkeeper was not on site to help us nor to make our stay memorable. I had inquired several times before arrival about changing to a better room as we booked the last one available which was the more basic room, although very nice and comfortable but small. I was told the place was fully booked but while we were there, only one couple arrived so the place was soul less and managed by the maid/house keeper who was inexperienced and breakfast was awkward. To pay our bill, I had to speak to the innkeeper by telephone and leave my card details as our plans did not meet with his visiting times to the property. Had we known the place was going to be all but empty and without a host we would not have stayed here over Christmas. A disappointing and depressing stay over Christmas. If you're staying here, take the telephone number to give to your taxi driver and no one knows where it is.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This B&B is located in the historic Santa Catarina neighbourhood of Coyoacan, within walking distance of an impressive range of tourist, cultural and commercial resources. The Jesús Reyes Heroles Cultural Center is around the corner, as is the historic Santa Catarina Chapel. Not far off is the Coyoacan village center, with its colonial buildings and vibrant street life.

The B&B is a green, quiet oasis behind high solid walls. We stayed in the Cabina, a well-sized standalone unit containing Mexican furniture and fixtures. It and the other units overlook the patio garden.

We had a range of breakfast options that we could enjoy at an agreed to time. We had yogurt and granola, but more substantial Mexican breakfasts are also available. The fresh fruit was excellent.

The neighborhood is safe, including after dark, and the units are well priced. My only concerns are that the B&B is difficult to find – make sure your taxi driver has exact directions. Also, on our second day we were unable to locate staff onsite, although one is supposed to be available for check-in and check-out.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VicVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I am sure with all the good reviews, there is a nice place to stay, but I had made reservation for December and was obligated to canceled it for reason not under my control, when I made the reservation trhe same day my credit card was charged half of the week cost, but when I cancelled it it's going to take two to three weeks to get my money back, in the mintime I'm paying interest for this money that it is seating in somebody's bank account, which it's not fair at all. Regardless of me writing direct to the Owner and to Booking.com I have not get my refund yet two has pass.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I 100% agree with all previous posts, this place is simply breathtaking. Wonderful, quiet, beautiful, great service, great breakfast, amazing location, quaint. I will recommend that anyone who visits DF (mexico city) stay in this bed and breakfast. My only regret is that we did not stay here longer. The beds are super comfortable and if an adult family is traveling together or several couples, this is the place to stay to have community but to also have privacy. I cant say enough and of course, Coyoacan remains my favorite part of DF. Thanks so much!

Room Tip: The large room with two beds provides extra privacy and space. I would recommend for couples. You wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djh121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We visited this charming B&B and found peace and tranquility whcih is highly unusual in the frantic pace of Mexico city, the rooms are well apointed, the lady who looks after you is very attentive and a great cook, the breakfast mexican plate changes every day or you can have normal favourites.
The garden is very thougthfully laid out and has made the most of its size, the owner Jose Luis Garcia Reyes is extremly attentive.
The decoration is charming we stayed at La Cabana and it was SPECTACULAR with a glass frontage with so much foliage that there is complete privacy, it feels a little like a luxury Robinson Crusoe, the handpainted details in the bathroom, and washroom / luggage room both of whcih adjoined the sumptous 2 HUGE bed bedroom, were beautiful and an inspiration ! we also had easy wifi access, books to read, TV whcih we never needed as the beauty of the place was captivating. We stayed 5 days and WILL BE BACK ... look forward to it very much

Room Tip: La Cabana is REALLY worth it, with a shower room, a luggage room / washroom so a coupel can get read...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Coyoacan
Maria Del Alma
Maria Del Alma
#21 of 166 in Mexico City
36 reviews
Coyoacan
La Casita de Coyoacan
La Casita de Coyoacan
#46 of 166 in Mexico City
7 reviews
Coyoacan
Chalet del Carmen
Chalet del Carmen
#33 of 166 in Mexico City
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coyoacan
Casa Jacinta Guest House
Casa Jacinta Guest House
#14 of 166 in Mexico City
44 reviews
Coyoacan
Casa Moctezuma
Casa Moctezuma
#16 of 230 in Mexico City
13 reviews
Coyoacan
Pug Seal Coyoacan Suites
Pug Seal Coyoacan Suites
#4 of 166 in Mexico City
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casita del Patio Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casita del Patio Verde

Address: Callejon de la Escondida # 41 | Col. Coyoacan, Mexico City 04000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Coyoacan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range: $125 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Casita del Patio Verde 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casita del Patio Verde is located in Coyoacan one of the most emblematic neighborhoods in Mexico City. It has cobblestone streets with tourist spots, big mansions, plazas, art galleries, restaurants and picturesque cafes. Within walking distance, you have access to the heart of Coyoacan, as well as Frida Kahlo's Museum (La Casa Azul); Plaza Hidalgo; Jarda­n Centenario; Casa de Cortes, Plaza Conchita amongst others. It's very close to San Angel, with its colonial Plaza San Jacinto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your La Casita del Patio Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casita Del Patio Verde Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing