We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible value for the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casita del Patio Verde

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casita del Patio Verde
Ranked #51 of 125 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible value for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed at La Casita del Patio Verde for 3 nights and just loved it! We are used to stay at luxurious 4-5 stars hotels and we couldn't believed that we paid so little and received so much. We stayed in the Colibri room, which is the cheapest of the three rooms because the private bathroom is outside the room. The room is nicely decorated and the bed is comfortable. The place overall is so nice and quiet, perfect for relaxing. The most amazing thing though are the breakfasts, which are very generous and different everyday. Anna-Maria (the inn keeper) prepared them on request and provided a fantastic service throughout our stay. I will definitely always try to go back to this hotel everytime I'll be in Mexico city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    4
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
9
27
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The staff was nice and friendly but I was disappointed that I paid so much and didn't even have a bathroom in the room. I had to walk out the hall to use the restroom and shower. The hotel description didn't state this. Both mornings I was woken up around 7am due to the constant phone ringing of the phone 6 inches from the outside of my door. Breakfast was decent but the second day they didn't have the choices advertised so I actually only ate fruit. Every single taxi that dropped me off got lost so I always paid more since the meter was running. I took pics of the toilet seat with the cut and the peeling shower ceiling. If The rate for the room was half what I paid it would have been worth it. However, for that price, I wouldn't recommend this. I went solo (female) and didn't feel safe walkig around at night. The streets aren't well lit and it gets kind of eerie and lonely. About half a mile from the metro stop and the downtown Coyoacan area and a mile from the Frida Kahlo museum.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMar26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

As hotelier I always try different type of services and in this case, La Casita is unbeatable. I stayed with my wife last November during a quick trip in "Cuarto del árbol", super comfortable bed; charming room well ventilated, but also had a little heather; perfectly clean and lighted bathroom and a beautiful hand painted decoration above the bed that gave a magical sensation.
You receive breakfast in the morning with not only a great taste of Mexican Food, but also a warm smile and real care. The garden is soooo beautiful and relaxing, the location great to visit Coyoacan and the whole south of the city. Jose Luis was superattentive from the reservation until our departure. Unfortunately it was fully committed last time I was in Mexico City last February and I had to try somewhere else. No comparison at all.
We tried La Pause restaurant, Martin, the Chef is a very special person with a special talent, Mexican food made in an incomplicated way, good wine, nice atmosphere. (I will better make a review there).

Be absolutely sure you will not find anything like La Casita del Patio Verde in south DF (and many other places). Stay there, you will remember your whole life.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenjiFernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

This sweet little house is a real treat. With only three rooms it really does feel your own place, especially as the other guests are out and about most of the time. It's located in a great spot for exploring Frida Kahlo's house and Diego Rivera's studio. It's only a few minutes walk from Coyoacan square so it really feels like you're staying in a little village. The house is beautifully presented, and the breakfasts were beyond compare. Very welcoming.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjt33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed in this B&B for five nights and the experience is best ever.
House was always clean,breakfast was so big and fresh and had different main dishes everyday.
Bed was so comfortable that you don't wanna get out of it.
It's an oasis within Mexico city,beautiful neighborhood,and there are some small shops/restaurant around to discover.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nana w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Wonderful experience on both of my stays. Stayed for 3 nights in July with a friend in "Cuarto del Arbol" and then 4 nights in August with my sons in "La Cabana". The rooms are beautiful, clean, cozy, silent and fully equipped.
Breakfast was great, fresh orange juice, yogurt, fresh fruit, bread, jams and a main course breakfast dish which changed daily.
Jose Luis, the Innkeeper, is welcoming and helpful, always ready to give you useful tips to enjoy your trip. He really makes you feel at home.
La Casita del Patio Verde is in my favorite neighborhood, Coyoacan, a paradise inside chaotic Mexico City. Coyoacan is a safe neighborhood full of lovely little colonial squares, churches, markets, cafès and restaurants.
The hotel is walking distance to the Frida Kahlo Museum and near the Diego Rivera and Dolores Olmedo Museums.
It was a WONDERFUL experience and would recommend it to everyone whether you are traveling as a couple, with friends, with family or by yourself.
It Home away from Home. Really hope to go back soon!
Gracias!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chamina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We got married in Mexico City on October 22 and we were looking for a cozy and comfortable place to stay. We were lucky and found space available at La Casita del Patio Verde. My in-laws, friends, my husband and I stayed at La Casita.

La Casita is an unique place in the heart of Coyoacan, a great place for those that love to walk, grab a cup of coffee early in the morning or enjoy an evening in the terrace of a local restaurant. La Casita has a priviledged location and it is a beautiful Mexican-style house.

The staff at La Casita was friendly, welcoming and helpful. The breakfast at la casita was delicious; we had fresh fruit, juice, eggs and bread.

In our next trip to Mexico City we will certainly stay at La Casita again.

Room Tip: The cabana room is the biggest if you are looking for a lot of space. All rooms are spacious, quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beatriz_maass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Coyoacan
La Casa del Tekolote
La Casa del Tekolote
#237 of 305 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 stars 9 reviews
Coyoacan
Chalet del Carmen
Chalet del Carmen
#33 of 125 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coyoacan
Maria Del Alma
Maria Del Alma
#20 of 125 in Mexico City
5.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Coyoacan
Pug Seal Boutique B&B
Pug Seal Boutique B&B
#5 of 125 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 119 reviews
Coyoacan
Casa Jacinta Guest House
Casa Jacinta Guest House
#23 of 125 in Mexico City
5.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casita del Patio Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casita del Patio Verde

Property: La Casita del Patio Verde
Address: Callejon de la Escondida # 41 | Col. Coyoacan, Mexico City 04000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Coyoacan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Casita del Patio Verde 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casita del Patio Verde is located in Coyoacan one of the most emblematic neighborhoods in Mexico City. It has cobblestone streets with tourist spots, big mansions, plazas, art galleries, restaurants and picturesque cafes. Within walking distance, you have access to the heart of Coyoacan, as well as Frida Kahlo's Museum (La Casa Azul); Plaza Hidalgo; Jarda­n Centenario; Casa de Cortes, Plaza Conchita amongst others. It's very close to San Angel, with its colonial Plaza San Jacinto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your La Casita del Patio Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casita Del Patio Verde Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing