We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Mexican folk art”

Museo de Arte Popular
Ranked #18 of 499 things to do in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Magical Mexican folk art”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

If you like Mexican folk art this should not be missed. There were very few people when we visited. Trees of life, animals, circuses, textiles, and an excellent museum store that was closed for inventory on the day we visited.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    588
    156
    35
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Don't miss this”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is a fantastic museum in the historic center. The folk art collection is spectacular. They also have classes and workshops, check their schedule. They have done a very good job of identifying, nurturing and preserving the amazing art that has flourished in Mexico for centuries, they also work with new artisans. The shop is not to be missed! You have never brought back gifts like they have here. They are extremely helpful and will pack everything so that you can ship it or pack it. Don't miss the museum itself. But if you need last minute gifts the shop has a smaller location in Polanco.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank IlViaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic museum”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Fantastic small museum which is housed in an interesting building. It is free on Sunday, something we appreciated. In addition to the excellent collection of Folk art, the gift shop is truly one of the best I have ever seen. This is a must !!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank newyorker79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations...by far”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My friend recommended this museum and I knew nothing about it, I ended up loving it more than some of the other suggested museums in DF. Loved the themed sections (especially El Fantastico) and the graphic design poster exhibit in the little courtyard

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerome H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Depends on what you are looking for”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I rate this as 3 , but maybe for some people this would be 5. It depends on what you like. The day we went was exhibition of Mexican culture, such as their traditional clothes in each region of Mexico, some Mexican arts, also some silverware and some accessaries. I am interesting in silver. The building of museum is kind of new, nice and interesting. You should check out what they have before you visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Oralpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo de Arte Popular also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Museo de Arte Popular? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing