We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations...by far”

Museo de Arte Popular
Ranked #18 of 512 things to do in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations...by far”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My friend recommended this museum and I knew nothing about it, I ended up loving it more than some of the other suggested museums in DF. Loved the themed sections (especially El Fantastico) and the graphic design poster exhibit in the little courtyard

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerome H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    604
    163
    37
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Depends on what you are looking for”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I rate this as 3 , but maybe for some people this would be 5. It depends on what you like. The day we went was exhibition of Mexican culture, such as their traditional clothes in each region of Mexico, some Mexican arts, also some silverware and some accessaries. I am interesting in silver. The building of museum is kind of new, nice and interesting. You should check out what they have before you visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Oralpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“love mexican handcraft, and this museum has a very nice collection”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

If you want to see the mexican craft diversity, this museum is one of the best there is. It has so many in display, that you can only walk and admire the collection.
And after spending a few hours there, the museum store is waiting for you... grab your credit card and enjoy!.. few places have so many quality craft for sale as in this store. No, its not cheap, but you're buying really good stuff!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mimiMexico_df
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
“Fun and free”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Well worth an hour of your time. Love the multicolored animals and the unusual pinatas. It's fun, accessible art that you don't have to be an art snob to appreciate.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gregsf11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved the architecture”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I am a self paced and self guided tour kind of girl. So I disliked being herded in a large group through this museum. There were too many people crammed into each space and it made it difficult to see the pieces in the collection. Also the tour guide's presentation was in Spanish so I was unable to understand what he was telling us. Other than that I though it was a beautiful place.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo de Arte Popular also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Museo de Arte Popular? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing