We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Hampton Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Ranked #17 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Superb Hampton Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2010

This Hampton Inn is one of the best I've stayed in with that chain, in fact it's definitely a nice hotel regardless of the chain. It's in a historic restored building (I think I read the building was originally a convent) a couple of blocks from the zocalo, very clean, breakfast buffet was really good and had different things every day in addition to the basics (one day they had shredded pork), everyone who works there was super friendly and helpful. I was really happy with the hotel, nothing negative to say, all in all a great experience. (I don't think I've ever given such a positive review; it's not that the hotel is luxurious or anything, it's just everything a hotel should be: clean, comfortable, bright, excellent employees, etc.)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,209
    659
    152
    40
    25
See reviews for
516
816
189
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Potosi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2010

The Hampton is our favourite hotel in Mexico City so far. We really liked that it´s so modern and clean. The old monastry has been remodeled, but they still kept some details like the original tiles.
Rooms are quite small but cozy. The beds are just great. There is a TV and a very nice bathroom.
The breakfast is a small buffet with fresh fruits, yoghurt, toast, scrumbled egg, cereals, coffee and juices. It´s really sufficient and tasty. The 2 restaurants right next to the hotel are also great.
The distance to the main place. the Zocalo, is 2 walking minutes. Whenever you need a cab just approach the front desk, they will get one within 2 minutes.
The staff is friendly and very helpful. We were also impressed by the low rate for the rooms.
We didn´t want to leave when our stay was over and will definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StefGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2010

In Mexico, service is usually friendly but a bit confused and unreliable. The staff at the Hampton Inn are not only very friendly, they are also competent and speak good English. The hotel has no concierge but the front desk staff were very helpful when it came to reserving restaurants and ordering car service.

The room itself was spacious and well laid out with a separate living area. Internet was free of charge and faster than in other Mexican hotels I have stayed at. If I may have one complaint, it would be that the rooms lack character and that there is no hand held shower. Breakfast was included but very basic.

The location is close to some of Mexico Citys typical sightseeing attractions. Tourists should be aware that the area is very deserted in the evenings. There are hardly any restaurants, bars or cafes nearby. The upside is that the immediate area is quite safe.

If I returned to Mexico City, I would consider staying in a different part of the city. If I decided to stay in Centro Historico, Hampton Inn would be my choice.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
95 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2010

Hampton Inn got it right in Mexico City. Great staff, good location, clean as a whistle, well-appointed rooms with a bed I could have stayed in all day. Other than the suites the rooms are on the small side, small but manageable. The robust coffee is very tasty while the breakfast itself is what you would expect from the HI. There is a wonderful large bakery directly across the street so why the breakfast offering features doughnuts and production muffins is curious -- too much HI formula for my tastes. I also would have liked an in-room safe; only the suites have them. Human nature being what it is these days, an in-room safe has become a necessity. The free Internet access is a welcome bonus and I was easily able to print out my boarding pass in the 24-hour business center, things that make a difference to a business traveler who chafes at $25/day Internet fees and per-page charges for printer use. Big kudos to the employees, too. They were friendly, courteous and helpful. In no other Hampton Inn has a staff member remembered my name by heart! Headed to Mexico city? Try the Hampton Inn near the Zocalo, you'll love it, too.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SantaFeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
84 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

Beautiful convertion of a traditional building, located a few minutes walk from the city centre with its fine old buildings, historic sights, restuarants and shops. The decor and furnishings are very attractive, rooms are well equiped and beds comfortable.
Staff all speak good english, and are very friendly and helpful.
A simple but adequate self service breakfast is included..
There is free wi-fi and free computers for internet access.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank assheton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Gilgen, Austria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2010

I stayed here last week (end of February) for a business trip, and I loved it! I had read the reviews on this website, so I was expecting it to be good. But my expectations were exceeded and then some!
All staff are lovely and friendly and courteous and go out of their way to be helpful. My room was very comfortable, and everything looked (and smelled) new! Free internet is appreciated, especially by me as someone who travels alot for work. I've stayed in 5 star hotels and they always seem to charge for internet, and it's the better value hotels that offer it for free. Why is that?
Breakfast was absolutely fine. Nothing fancy but enough choice and essentials to get your day going. And the location is perfect in Centro Historico - close enough to walk to the subway if needed and walk to visit the sights.
It was my first visit to Mexico City, but might not be my last and I'll definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessglauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2010

This beautiful hotel is in a fantastic central location, close to the metro and the Zocolo. The staff are all extremely helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. The head concierge, Allejandro, is both dignified and courteous and sets a high professional tone for everyone. We arrived with our young son and had been assigned a room on the first floor. A simple query to move away from the street had the staff bustling. They put us on the 6th floor with a gorgeous view of the city. The room was big and comfortable, although be sure to ask for a fan as the air can get quite stuffy. The Internet was very reliable, and a business center provides free printing. Breakfast was very good, with four hot entrees and a host of breads, cereals and pastries, plus fresh fruit, coffee, tea and tisane. The two restaurants, especially Garrabatos, are good alternatives to going out at night, and also very child-friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsulliva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#11 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
#33 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Alameda
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
#16 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#34 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Address: Calle 5 De Febrero | No. 24 Colonia Centro, Mexico City 06060, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#25 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don't just stay near historic sites in Mexico - actually stay inside one when you visit the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton hotel in Mexico City - Centro Historico. Located a short walk to the Zocalo Plaza, Metropolitian Cathedral, Templo Mayor ruins, numerous museums and the busy government and business center of downtown Mexico City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico Hotel Mexico City
Hampton Inn Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing