We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in Mexico City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Ranked #19 of 309 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
“Nice place in Mexico City”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here. Nice rooms, nice location just off the Zocolo and near the newly fun Santa Regina area, fair price. The breakfast was good and the internet worked very well. Would definitely go back next time we are in the DF.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Barnaby N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,265
    688
    159
    41
    27
See reviews for
542
846
203
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yuba City, CA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We loved the Hampton Inn in downtown Mexico City. First off, no other Hampton Inn we've been to has a gorgeous colonial façade. Its location is just a few blocks off of the Zocalo. That means you're close enough to everything in the downtown area, but just far away so that you escape the noise of the busy Zocalo.

Our suite was comfy and blessedly quiet for a center-of-the-big-city location. (We had just come from an extremely noisy hotel location in Guadalajara, so we were grateful for uninterrupted slumber.) We appreciate the fridge and microwave on multi-day stays, and the two free bottles of water they provided each day (essential hydration at Mexico City's altitude). The HVAC system was easy to set, the heat/AC worked nicely and unobtrusively.

We're both electronic gadget addicts, and were pleasantly surprised at the number of electrical outlets available for our use. There were two sockets on one of the nightstands, two at the desk, and four in the living room (this excludes the ones being used by the hotel's lamps and TVs). We didn't have to fight over who gets to charge her computer, camera, or cell phone.

All hotel staff we encountered were friendly, helpful, and polite. I'd like to give special thanks to Enrique at the front desk. On our first night there, we didn't get hungry until really late. We asked Enrique for restaurant recommendations, but he said nothing except room service or Pizza Hut would be open this late. We chose Pizza Hut, and he kindly ordered for us since I didn't think I could negotiate a "half of this, half of that stuffed crust pizza" in Spanish. The next night, I asked if they sold laundry soap for the washing machines (which are free, by the way). Enrique said they don't sell laundry soap, but he gave me a coffee cup of detergent he had in a box in another room.

Since we were in Mexico City for a week-long stay, we appreciated the laundry room on the fifth floor. It was kept clean and neat, and we never had to fight for the two washers and two dryers.

We used Garabaldi's Restaurant downstairs both for in-restaurant meals and for room service during our stay. The food was pretty good, reasonably priced, and they handled special orders with grace (sometimes with creative but tasty interpretations of our requests!). As far as I could tell, there was no extra charge for room service. I almost forgot to mention that the breakfast buffet seemed to be a step above the usual Hampton Inn breakfast fare, too. We had real scrambled eggs (not the fake kind I've seen elsewhere), bacon, breakfast burritos, fresh fruit, the usual array of cereals and yogurt and other items.

My only complaint about the Hampton Inn was that its wifi service kept cutting in and out, so you were constantly forced to re-enter the passcode to get wifi up and going again. It happened frequently, interrupting the "submit" button just as I made an airline reservation and again while my daughter was on a Skype call. This would happen numerous times a day. I think the worst was about three times in 10 minutes.

Outside of the hotel, there's an awesome huge bakery across the street with all kinds of pan dulce, cakes, etc. It also rather incongruously sells hot Mexican meals for take-out or eat-in. You definitely need to check it out.

The closest subway stop is Zocalo, located just to the right-hand side of the Cathedral as you're facing the church. Other subway stops are also within easy walking distance. Taxis and pedi-cabs abound. As other reviewers have mentioned, many attractions such as the Palacio de Bellas Artes, Museum of Fine Arts, Templo Mayor, etc., are all within easy walking distance. I didn't check out the small Museo de Tortura (Torture Museum), which promised to teach us about the processes and torture methods of the Spanish Inquisition, but that's within walking distance, too. Of course, there are plenty of shops and restaurants in the immediate area.

I would give the Hampton 4.5 stars if I could, with it losing a half-star for the constantly-interrupted internet. Since TripAdvisor won't allow half-stars, I'll give it 5 and hope it improves their internet service in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SML-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmarSantillanes, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico, responded to this review, April 25, 2015
Thanks for choosing Hampton Inn & Suites for your stay in Mexico City!

We sincerely appreciate all feedback as it allows us to improve the experience we provide for our guests. We have shared your survey with our staff and involved managers, as they strongly contribute to our efforts in providing the best possible guest satisfaction.

We take great pride in hosting to all and each one of our guests, as one of our goals is to exceed their expectations in every aspect of the visit to our hotel. We hope that you will afford us the opportunity of keep on showing you the genuine level of service and facilities upon which we have built our reputation.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City Centro Historico in the near future.

"We love having you here"

Sincerely,

Omar Santillanes
General Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Centro Historico
omar.santillanes@hilton.com
55 8000 5026
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this gem of a hotel in Mexico City. After a long tour of Costa Rica it felt great to return to a lovely hotel room. I found the beds and pillows incredibly comfortable. The hotel room had everything we needed and there was a laundry nearby. The concierge was very helpful. The breakfast was decent too and offered enough choice. I thought the hotel was great value for money and after a days tours it felt great to return to it. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BombayGlobetrotter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmarSantillanes, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico, responded to this review, April 25, 2015
Thanks for choosing Hampton Inn & Suites for your stay in Mexico City!

We sincerely appreciate all feedback as it allows us to improve the experience we provide for our guests. We have shared your survey with our staff and involved managers, as they strongly contribute to our efforts in providing the best possible guest satisfaction.

We take great pride in hosting to all and each one of our guests, as one of our goals is to exceed their expectations in every aspect of the visit to our hotel. We hope that you will afford us the opportunity of keep on showing you the genuine level of service and facilities upon which we have built our reputation.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City Centro Historico in the near future.

"We love having you here"

Sincerely,

Omar Santillanes
General Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Centro Historico
omar.santillanes@hilton.com
55 8000 5026
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My husband is a Hilton Honors member due to his frequent work travel. We often stay in Hilton properties, and many times in Hampton Inns. We like the amenities (free Wi-Fi, the usually pretty good and hearty breakfasts, and nice beds). We used his points to book this property in the Historic District of Mexico City by the Zocalo for 3 nights after New Year's eve until January 6, Three Kings Day. They had us in a two room suite, which was nice and comparable to a US suite, which we've had before in Chicago. The room had a microwave, a mini fridge, and an in-room safe. They left 4 small bottles of water for us for free each day. The bed was comfy, but we always hate the feather pillows most hotels use. The room was very clean. It was noisy at night, but that isn't their fault since it was a celebratory weekend leading up to Three Kings Day, when all the children get toys from the Three Wise Men. They get 2 Christmases, essentially. The location was great for visiting all the sights nearby, and we took the metro (perfectly safe and clean!) to some places, and taxis to others. The hotel staff was pleasant and their English was great (although we speak Spanish). Erick, the concierge, deserves a shout out (and a raise, managers!) for his impeccable service in helping us with taxis, phone calls, etc. There is an awesome bakery right in the hotel with cookies that are scrumptious. I didn't try the cake, though I should have. They serve food, too, apparently. I would stay here again, but during a quieter part of the year!

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up and away from the nightclub/other noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RangerDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Centro Historico is the historic center of Mexico City and it is walking distance to a lot of places my wife and I wanted to visit. For example, there's the Metropolitan Cathedral, National Palace, and Zocalo (Main Square). It is also a short cab ride to the Anthropology Museum, Chapultepec Castle, and Basilica of Lady of Guadalupe.
Around the hotel, you are also walking distance to a lot of cafes, stores, pharmacies, and right across is a pastry shop called Pasteleria Madrid where we had some delicious but inexpensive pastries. So location was excellent for us.
Outside the hotel can be busy and noisy during the day and Friday and Saturday night. The constant presence of security guards provides a feeling of security but the ones I talked to didn't understand English. The concierges Alejandro and Erick were very helpful and spoke good English. At the Front Desk, Enrique was the most helpful. They all spoke good English. The room cleaners were also nice and helpful. So service was very good for us.
We had a regular room (not a suite) and it wasn't the typical Hilton room that I was used to. So if you don't get a suite, you get a room at the inn. Thus the name of the hotel. Room was dark and small fridge took a while to cool our drinks.
Excellent were: location, service, and wifi.
Needs improvement: breakfast items and regular rooms. (I can't comment on the suites).

Room Tip: Get a suite (probably better) or choose a room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the comfort of our stay at this Hampton Inn. Softest beds we had in Mexico, nice room suite with good amenities. The breakfast was varied and decent. You can't beat the location - just two blocks off the Zocalo. We arrived early in the morning to stow our luggage and they were nice enough to have a room ready for us by 10:00am instead of the usual afternoon check-in.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeavingSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucarest
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

This experience is indeed very interesting especialy we've spend the NYE in Ciudad de Mexico.
First of all this hotel is part of the Hilton chain, what a joke! So let's begin: they don't have a mini bar, they don't have an exchange office, they don't have breakfast, well they do have something they call it breakfast, but it's far far away from it (few fruits, some waffels, some spredable cheese and an awful omelette).
The standard room is tiny and the shower is kind of rainy one, very strange.
An of course free wi fi, what wi fi?! We had thee different top divices and neither one could reach the signal.
On the onther hand the hotel is well situated very closed to the all major atractions of the city.
My opinion is that if you expect a 4 stars, a Hilton 4 stars, don't!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank FrostKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#14 of 309 in Mexico City
1,394 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#5 of 309 in Mexico City
2,654 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#6 of 309 in Mexico City
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#40 of 309 in Mexico City
894 reviews
Alameda
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
#17 of 309 in Mexico City
1,935 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
NH Collection Mexico City Reforma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Address: Calle 5 De Febrero | No. 24 Colonia Centro, Mexico City 06060, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#25 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don't just stay near historic sites in Mexico - actually stay inside one when you visit the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton hotel in Mexico City - Centro Historico. Located a short walk to the Zocalo Plaza, Metropolitian Cathedral, Templo Mayor ruins, numerous museums and the busy government and business center of downtown Mexico City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico Hotel Mexico City
Hampton Inn Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing