We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Highly recommended!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Ranked #14 of 307 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
317 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located about a 5 minute walk from the zocalo, which is definitely the place to stay when visiting mexico city. The hotel is one of the best we stayed at in Mexico as a whole: comfortable beds, spacious rooms and very helpful staff who never recommended a bad restaurant when asked for recommendations.

The building had a lot of character whilst being very comfortable with modern amenities I.e. hairdryer, lifts (you'd be surprised how many places did not have a lift on our journey), free bottled water in the room, coffee making facilities etc. The breakfast was varied, and free so no complaints there. WiFi was also reliable, and free, another great draw. Check out at 13:00 is a nice addition, it gave that bit extra relaxation time before our onward journey.

As far as I remember we paid 130 pesos from the airport directly to the hotel (buy tickets for your taxi at the official, designated booths in the airport). On that note, be cautious of taxis, in fact, order taxis from reception, there's an extra charge for this but you can't put a price on safety. We experienced more than our fair share of conmen taxi drivers in this city but the hotel's taxi drivers were reputable and very helpful!

We took the metro out to the bus station and took the public bus out to teotihuacan, this site is something else and an absolute must for anyone visiting mexico city. We also enjoyed the anthropology museum which gave us a good initial insight into the sights that we were about to withhold on our trip.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill_Dublin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,100
    603
    138
    34
    22
See reviews for
467
723
171
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

This Hampton Inn had a good mix of American familarity combined Mexican culture. The friendly staff spoke English well, responded to our room requests and gave good directions. We stayed in a quiet suite on a high floor in the rear of the building -- good value. Beds, pillows and sofa were comfortable. Lighting was fine. Good closet space and dresser. Safe, TV and refigerator well worked well. Complimentary water bottles were in our room each day. Well stocked breakfast buffet with Mexican and American food were included at no extra charge.

Beautiful stained glass skylight overlooks the lobby and breakfast dining area.

The hotel is about two blocks from the zocalo (large plaza) and other historical sites. Safe area with police officers on foot patrol and directing traffic. Easy walking. Hotel will call radio taxis for guests.

Gracias to hotel desk representative Enrique for suggesting we take the Estrella Roja or ADO express bus from the Mexico City airport to the city of Puebla instead of leaving from a chaotic commuter bus station in Mexico City. This travel advice made our bus trip simple and pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on a high floor in the rear of the building. Suites add more space (TV, refiger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FastTrackGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
134 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at Mexico DF for two days but the experience in the hotel was not good at all. We arrived at 8 am and after a 6 hour flight the main desk service was very poor. They charged us 50% of a daily rate for accesing the room at this time considering that there was nobody in our room we found this inappropiate. We have visit multiple hotels and this is the first time we gt charged for this. Also the room was located at the side of an ice machine that was very noisy and we had to call two times so that they unplugged it. The shower in the room had a problem and every time we took a bath the bathroom was flooded. Considering this is a Hilton hotel we found this unacceptable, definitely they have multiplie things to improve. There are hotelz in the zones with a better service and a cheaper price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andres V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

What more could anyone want? An impeccable location; a warm and welcoming (multilingual) staff; clean and comfortable rooms; free wifi; a hot breakfast; a homey lobby; and a patio on the roof. The DF Hampton has everything an eager sightseer or a weary traveler might need. I'm coming back as often as I can.

I have stayed in other places in Mexico City. This is the right place for the right price.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hhusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Comfortable, quiet, helpful, responsive, well located, good service and great breakfast included. It's become our hotel of choice in Mexico City. We'll be back .......................................................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed three nights in June. I really like this hotel. The employees are great. Hampton Inn provides a decent free breakfast. My room also had a coffee maker. The only problems I encountered were with the room safe which was quickly fixed and the room being too hot for me. A fan was brought to my room and this helped. The room was very clean and I would like to stay here on a future visit. Don't be afaid of the hype of crime in Mexico city. I stayed six nights in the city 3 nights here and three at the Marriott Reforma and traveled everywhere by bus and Metro and felt very safe even though I travel solo.Take the route 4 line from the airport for a pretty decent ( 45 minute) trip that costs just $5 USD. Enjoy the delicious tortas found just about everywhere. Also, a trip to Sonora market is interesting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FXTIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
182 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was absolutely an amazing experience staying in this hotel. The hotel is very close to all the major points of interest that every one needs to visit. The hotel was super modern and the staff were very friendly! Amazing!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HONdominik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#11 of 307 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 307 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 307 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
#25 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#20 of 307 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#33 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Address: Calle 5 De Febrero | No. 24 Colonia Centro, Mexico City 06060, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#26 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don't just stay near historic sites in Mexico - actually stay inside one when you visit the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton hotel in Mexico City - Centro Historico. Located a short walk to the Zocalo Plaza, Metropolitian Cathedral, Templo Mayor ruins, numerous museums and the busy government and business center of downtown Mexico City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico Hotel Mexico City
Hampton Inn Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing