We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ideal place to stay in the Centro Histórico”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Ranked #17 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
331 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“An ideal place to stay in the Centro Histórico”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed here November 2-6 and 9-11, 2011. We will stay here again.

As others have written, this hotel is beautiful, the staff is friendly and helpful, and it is centrally located. We learned that the building started out as part of a convent, then became a hat factory, then a hotel, and was abandoned after the 1985 earthquake. It has been a Hampton for three years.

I remember when the Centro Histórico was a scary, abandoned, place after dark. But in recent years it has been rehabbed and there's lot of stuff happening in the evening. For example, after we arrived in Mexico City my wife and I checked in at 10:30 pm, and we were hungry. So we walked the four blocks to the Café El Popular on Cinco de Mayo. There were a lot of people out and we felt safe. Of course, we exercised ordinary caution.

The free breakfast was nice, and it was identical to the free breakfasts that Hampton offers in the US. You may think that's good or bad. Be sure to try the restaurant Los Garabatos inside the hotel. We didn't try Fisher's restaurant, which is also inside the hotel.

Two cautions:

(1) We reserved a queen room (#320) for our first stay, and a king (#421) for our second. Stick with the king. The difference in space is notable.

(2) Light sleepers, like me, take note. Ask for a room away from the corner of Cinco de Febrero and República de Uruguay. There is a night club at that corner and it sounds like a fun place, if you happen to be a patron if it. If you are trying to sleep at the Hampton, it's not much fun. Our room the first night was at that corner, but the staff nicely moved us at my request to room #320. However, both of our rooms were at the end of a corridor next to noisy soft drink and ice machines. The staff nicely turned them off at night at my request.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMB&JAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,243
    679
    155
    40
    26
See reviews for
528
835
198
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Beautiful hotel near the many historic sites of Mexico City. Check-in was friendly, quick, & easy. Room was good size & clean though wi fi didn't reach to the room so had to go to modernly furnished atrium lobby topped by beautiful blue stained glass-nice character to building.
Breakfast was included & had a good selection of hot & cold foods.
Stay was very comfortable & felt very secure in the hotel as well as in the neighborhood. The only quibble which may deter more sensitive travellers is the loud music (primarily thumping bass) coming from a nearby club or bar that went well into the late night. Our room was at the side of the hotel which sits on a corner so don't know whether it was better on the front side rooms furthest from the corner. Slept with ear plugs one out of there nights. Nevertheless enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmie604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
109 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We loved the 3 days we stayed here. The hotel is in an old building in a great location, only two blocks from the zocalo. There are two restaurants in the same building and both were very good. The room was lovely with a comfy king sized bed. We found the staff very accommodating. Breakfast was good with both a selection of hot and cold choices. They have a business centre which we used several times. Overall we found this hotel to be excellent and would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DafyAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Given the reviews, I expected much more from this hotel. We stayed at the Hampton Inn for three nights. Thankfully we had booked a studio suite, and the room was quite nice although without any outside windows, which made it dark and with no way of getting fresh air. Our friends were in a standard room and it was quite small, with barely any room to walk around the bed and no windows. The best feature of the hotel is the central area with beautiful stained windows at the top. At breafast time (included with the room) it's a bit like a mad feeding fest, with people fighting over pretty tasteless food and very limited seating, we did not bother with it, there is too much great Mexican food to be had to waste a meal eating rubbery scrambled eggs. There is no Wifi in the room, and the cable internet connection was very slow. One very annoying thing about this hotel is that they close the main doors at night, so if you arrive back late, somebody needs to open the door for you while you wait in a somewhat desolate street. If security is an issue, they should have better security and not leave guests waiting in the street. If what you are looking for is a hotel at the Centro Historico I would recommend looking at others before you settle for the Hampton Inn. With the airliess rooms, bad breakfast, lack of windows and mediocre customer service, I think this is an average hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lolitatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

The hotel is in a great old building in a fantastic location for exploring the city centre.
Cleanliness, service and breakfast all fine - however stay ruined by room issues.. Booked and paid for two king rooms (two couples) prior to arrival - however upon check in were told only one king room available - with the option to switch to a king room the following day (did not take up offer as that is annoying when unpacked and using room as a base..).
The king room we were given had a blacked out window which was disappointing - however disappointment turned to anger on second night as we had loud buzzing keeping us awake (from behind window). Requesting a room change at 1am was not worth it on our last night, however why they would even put guests in that room (222) is the more concerning issue here?
Sadly, if it wasn't for the room problems our group would have had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank temple_of_gloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicali, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I have one year with my friends of hampton inn centro historico, why?
I visit mexico for bussines always but all the aftenoons I enjoy to walk and walk in the centro historico, the Cathedral, historics buildings, museums, etc. for this reason is very important for me to get a comfortable rest in the end of a hard day and beleived me, I can to sleep like a baby in the hampton inn bed only.

Room Tip: you can get the best price booking by internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juanpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Worcester County, MA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We've visited Mexico City more times than I can remember, usually staying either in Polanco or near Chapultepec. This time we wanted to be near the Zocalo and the Tripadvisor ratings steered me to the Hampton Inn. We are glad we chose to stay here. My wife and I had a comfortable 1-king corner "suite" that was spacious, clean and reasonably quiet considering it was on the street side. The staff was great - from the front desk to housekeeping to the folks doing their best to keep the breakfast stocked. We had a special request upon arrival to remove all down from the room. It was taken care of immediately without any hassle at all. Front desk folks were outstanding. The location was perfect, allowing us to walk all around the area doing shopping and sightseeing. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Our suite was great - spacious and well laid out. Bathroom/dressing area needs a second sink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HockeyDad95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#12 of 305 in Mexico City
1,353 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 305 in Mexico City
712 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#6 of 305 in Mexico City
2,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alameda
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
#16 of 305 in Mexico City
1,874 reviews
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#23 of 305 in Mexico City
683 reviews
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#39 of 305 in Mexico City
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Address: Calle 5 De Febrero | No. 24 Colonia Centro, Mexico City 06060, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#25 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don't just stay near historic sites in Mexico - actually stay inside one when you visit the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton hotel in Mexico City - Centro Historico. Located a short walk to the Zocalo Plaza, Metropolitian Cathedral, Templo Mayor ruins, numerous museums and the busy government and business center of downtown Mexico City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico Hotel Mexico City
Hampton Inn Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing