We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, lovely historic building & helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Ranked #19 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2011

This hotel is in a historic building - I particularly liked the stained glass roof in the atrium.
It is in a safe and convenient location - walking distance to the Zocalo, Catedral, Palacio Nacional, the Zocalo metro station and some good restaurants - we particularly liked Cafe Tacuba and Los Girasoles on Calle de Tacuba. We also ate at Garabatos right next to the hotel which had good cakes and pastries but a fairly standard menu otherwise.
We stayed here with our 2 children, who thought the complimentary breakfasts were the best ever. The beds were comfortable and the aircon was quiet but we couldn't seem to adjust the temperature - overall we slept well. The complimentary wifi worked well, although sometimes the codes expired and we had to get new ones from the front desk.
The hotel desk staff were efficient and helpful.
The concierges were very helpful with arranging safe taxis, giving advice about day trips and helped us arrange a driver/guide to Teotihuacan for the day.
The cleaners were very efficient the first 4 days of our stay but didn't clean our room or replenish products on the fifth day - we worked out then that perhaps we were supposed to leave tips every day, rather than leave a big tip at the end... a hint about this in the information folder would have been nice.
Overall a good hotel in a convenient location with particularly helpful concierge and front desk staff.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kakiteano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,220)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,245 - 1,251 of 2,220 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2011

The Hampton Inn is the best place to stay in the Centro Historico. It is very close to the zocalo without actually being in the zocalo,so you can enjoy all the fun and noisy concerts and events but then can escape to a nice quiet hotel room to get restful sleep. The rooms are very clean and well decorated. The amenities include hot tea and coffee all day long, free breakfast daily with juice, fruit, yogurt, cereal, waffles, pastries, and eggs and ham as well as an office work area for printing papers or faxing documents or just checking emails, and washing machines for your laundry. The hotel is very secure with 24 hour monitoring and each guest room has its own personal safe. The concierge staff takes the time to get to know their guests and suggests travel destinations based on your interests. I am happy I chose a hotel with so many perks. I feel very secure and comfortable here.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not adjacent to a stair exit door. Otherwise the security patrol may acci...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherri r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

This hotel is a great value and is conveniently located near many cultural attractions and places to eat. Also access to the Metro is only a few blocks away which only costs 3 pesos. They provide a complimentary breakfast consisting of several different items and the staff was attentive and polite. The room was clean and its furnishings were new and coordinated. Moreover we liked the compact lobby for its clean lines and design. However there were a few minor points I believe that others should be made aware of such as the size of the rooms. Our room faced the atrium and it was small and cramped. We spent more time relaxing in the lobby than our room due to the lack of space. Also our bed was smaller than the specified queen size. And lastly, I could not adjust the thermostat. It seemed to be set at 70 degrees F which was a bit too high for someone from the Pacific Northwest. But overall for convenience this place is hard to beat.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing the atrium as noise from the lobby may keep you up. Pick the corner rooms wi...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gospeedracer888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Overall I liked this hotel, though there were a few problems we experienced during our stay.

Pros
The location of this hotel is great if you want easy access to the sites of central Mexico City around the Zocalo. The rooms are very nice, beds comfortable, everything kept very clean, the complimentary breakfast is pretty good with a lot of options, there is complimentary wireless Internet service, and the building is quite charming. The staff offers pretty good service.

Cons
When we arrived the electricity was out in the building and only emergency lighting was working and it took several hours for them to get it fixed. At least once they did there were no further issues. They didn't offer an explanation of what happened since they weren't sure at the time we checked in, and I didn't ask later either. The wireless Internet service is a little weak in the rooms. The two restaurants/cafes in the hotel did not offer very good service or food (though the one could be related to the electricity being out and them relying on emergency power). As others have mentioned, the AC leaves something to be desired. We were told it did not get below 18C, but even then our room stayed at a steady 19/19.5C.

Overall, I would return to this hotel if I were to return to Mexico City and wanted to stay near the Zocalo.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a view - ours had the window frosted, probably because it faced towards an alley...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aquistbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

This place was very nice. It is 2 blocks from the Zocalo. We had our kids with us, and they had a great time there. They have a free business center. They have plenty of stuff on the tv for people to watch. They have a good free breakfast. The staff were friendly and helpful. They hooked us up with some very good local tour guides. The rooms were comfortable. The place felt very safe, and it was well maintained.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I stayed in this hotel last week, it is certainly a beautiful building and it is conveniently located if you need/want to be in a downtown hotel: 2 blocks away from the Cathedral, Zocalo and Palacio de Gobierno (Government Palace), and a metro station (subway). Rooms are clean and comfortable. Every morning a very decent breakfast is served including hot items, pastries, fruit, juices, coffee, tea, yogurt, choices of milk, etc. In addition to the above, this Hampton has a very good service, all the employees are courteous, efficient and they always welcome you with a smile. Once we checked out, one of my friends found out that she had forgotten her iPhone, we called the front desk and they found it and gave it back to my friend. Housekeeping and Front Office people are awesome.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sb412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

This hotel is excellent with wonderful accommodating staff. The location in the Centro Historico is perfect. Lots of dining and sight seeing options near the hotel. The rooms are small but comfortable and clean. We had a wonderful stay here

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor which has access to the roof garden and the gym
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#14 of 312 in Mexico City
1,422 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#4 of 312 in Mexico City
2,734 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#3 of 312 in Mexico City
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#39 of 312 in Mexico City
920 reviews
Alameda
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
Hilton Mexico City Reforma
#18 of 312 in Mexico City
1,974 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico

Address: Calle 5 De Febrero | No. 24 Colonia Centro, Mexico City 06060, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#25 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $114 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don't just stay near historic sites in Mexico - actually stay inside one when you visit the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton hotel in Mexico City - Centro Historico. Located a short walk to the Zocalo Plaza, Metropolitian Cathedral, Templo Mayor ruins, numerous museums and the busy government and business center of downtown Mexico City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico Hotel Mexico City
Hampton Inn Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing