We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Mexican Cuisine”
Review of Villa Maria

Villa Maria
Ranked #35 of 4,367 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $23
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Polanco
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Mexican Cuisine”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Villa Maria is the best restaurant I have visited while in Mexico City! The Medallones al Tequila was one of the best meals on menu! Price point is very reasonable and the Mega Mango Margarita is delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    320
    93
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

From the moment we walked into the restaurant, we knew it was special. It has cute sayings written all over the walls (in Spanish), and the atmosphere feels very authentic. We ordered the house tamarind margarita, and not only was it wonderful and cheap, it was the size of four! We were given puffy chips and two sauces to start. One was more spicy than the other, but both were excellent. Then we ordered queso fundido which came in two different varieties, and was more than enough for the two of us. Our meal was excellend with my husband having a tequila steak with green sauce and I had a very thin, very excellent piece of meat. I wish I could remember what it was called on the menu. I have to say, that I wish we had been able to save room for dessert, but we couldn't eat another thing! While were were eating, we heard mariachis playing in another room, and the atmosphere became very festive. If you are staying at any of the hotels in the Polanco area, it is a short and safe walk away.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, null, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Yummy mexican food with friendly service.”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Friendly casual atmosphere. Good quality at a good price. The Tamarindo margaritas are delicious, just don't order the "big" one, is almost the size of kid's pool.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mury00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
186 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Cheesy but very good”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Yes, it is a little cheesy but it does not disappoint with either the service or the food. Four of us had a long lunch sharing excellent seafood tacos starters and mainly fish entrees. Everyone was agreed about the quality and at a decent price. Perhaps for seasoned visitors, it might seem a little too tourist oriented, but it still delivers on the food

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hanlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
138 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good Margarita”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Food was good, environment was good, a bit loud at times as the Mariachi are floating around. Passion fruit Margarita was very good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank adiwsusanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Maria also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Villa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing