We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous ambience and great value”
Review of Casino Espanol

Casino Espanol
Ranked #15 of 4,368 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $40
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Centro Historico
Cross street: Francisco I Madero & 16 de Septiembre
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Gorgeous ambience and great value”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

The Casino Español on Calle Isabel la Catolica is the cultural centre representing Spain in Mexico. The building is drop-dead gorgeous with marble, carved wood, stained glass and chandeliers as big as cars! The beautifully appointed restaurant on the second floor serves breakfast and lunch. Presentation is as elegant as the surroundings and is very reasonably priced. The manager advised me that many potential clients are scared off by the opulence of the surroundings, expecting fine dining prices. Our breakfast was delicious and the service was attentive without being obsequious. Definitely will return there on our next visit to Mexico City.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZipoDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    152
    26
    2
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a beautiful atmosphere....”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Party of 8...EVERYONE was extremely satisfied with the meal and service. Would definitely recommend and return. Very elegant and reasonable. Muchas gracias!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeaniej1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xalapa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant”
Reviewed December 24, 2011

I had breakfast and it was very nice, not very expensive and the food was really tasty.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank R2D2_MX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

This is yet another "old school" Spanish restaurant in Mexico City. While certainly worth a visit, especially on the weekend, when you can sit in the interior terrace, the food is rather drab. People do, however, like the roasted suckling pig and the paella. If you have a big appetite and are there on a weekday, you can order the well-priced "comida corrida".

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Peregringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlan, Mexico
Level Contributor
89 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Two Visits in Two Days”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

This restaurant was referred to us by a very friendly Chilango while we were waiting out a heavy rainstorm in a shopping area. We tried to go in the evening, but discovered that they were only open for breakfast and comida (main afternoon meal). So we went for the absolutely best breakfast of our month's stay in DF. The staff is very attentive, but does not hover. Today we returned for an afternoon meal. Everything was delicious and beautifully prepared. The building itself is a masterpiece! As with many places in Mexico that are not in resort areas, it is helpful to have some understanding of Spanish to make your visit more enjoyable. Buen provecho!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank PJMAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casino Espanol also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Casino Espanol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing