We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty View and excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Lago

El Lago
Reserve with OpenTable
El Lago is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #281 of 4,237 Restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $42 - $45
Cuisines: Mexican, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Bosque de Chapultepec
Transit: Constituyentes y Alencastre
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretty View and excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

It has it's charm you should go for dinner, don't forget to make a reservation !! ask the hotel's front desk to do it for you

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Orry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    80
    36
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City
Level Contributor
277 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“the place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

Lovely place, for a romantic diner, for a business lunch, for anything, visiting in the night is better due the lake iumination, service great, food outstanding, wine list great, diner average 40-50 USD each, pretty cheap for a foreigner, but is the place, try to confirm a reservation prior you visit, not all the time is available for walking in visitor(since is crowd)

Helpful?
1 Thank Dvoyager1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEXICO CITY
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We go here once a year.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

My husband asked my hand in marriage here so we go back on our anniversary. The food and wine are sooooo good but the service is non existent. The chef deserves to work somewhere better.

Helpful?
Thank PRINCIPALMX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tequisquiapan, Mexico
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

The food is great, the staff is attentive and the view over the lake and the fountain is magnificent.

Quite expensive for Mexico's prices, but even cheap for european pockets.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PierBover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bahamas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terribly disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

First time we visited El Largo was twenty five years ago and the ambience and food was so good we went back the next night and had a wonderful time. Men in jackets and ties and women in elegant cocktail wear. Last time we visited was six years ago and both food and ambience were equally good. Looked forward with anticipation this time and were sorely diappointed, First thing we noticed were guests in ratty T-shirts and jeans. The food was terribly expensive and was either overcooked or undercooked. Nothing was as we ordered. On a Saturday night the place was half empty. Evidence that diners have moved on to other eateries. The restaurant still looks good but the food was awful and not worth half the price. We will never go back again and would not recommend it. A huge disappointment.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mannin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Lago also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to El Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing