We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great rooms, great hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Condesa Haus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Condesa Haus
Ranked #7 of 141 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location, great rooms, great hosts”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The title sums it up. We were made welcome right from our arrival. The room was great; comfy bed, beautiful bathroom, quick wifi. Breakfast was tasty and everything was spotlessly clean.

The guys there were really helpful giving advice on what to do/where to go. Would definitely recommend as a base in Colonia Condesa - very good.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evanscm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    47
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
26
147
52
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The early 19th Century Mexican home now guest house is a tremendous way to comfortably visit Mexico City. The location is safe and enchanting with plenty to keep one occupied just in Condesa alone (of course you don't just stay in Condesa!). The room was intimate but spacious, clean and bright with a claw-foot bath right in room which was such a comfort after a long day as a tourist. The bed was a bit hard, in case you're a soft-bed type of person, but really, I would definately go back to Condesa Haus again - it's really such good value-for-money, provides a wonderful home-cooked Mexican breakfast, espresso coffee if you wake up early and need to get going, and best of all - Douglas and Fernando - who are so into their city and making the experience of staying at Condesa memorable. I would definately go back to Condesa Haus again and recommend it to anyone who's going to Mexico. By-the-way, if you are going to Mexico and hadn't considered going to Mexico City, you should! If you're in doubt, just book a few nights at Condesa Haus, and send Douglas an email to ask if he'll arrange transport from the airport. You won't be sorry.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Our most recent trip to Mexico included a 5-day stop in Mexico City. We have travelled to DF numerous times as we have extended family in the city, and always stay in the Condesa area due to the great restaurants, central location, and safe/friendly vibe. When my husband and I travel, we try to stay in smaller, unique properties and have tried several in the area over the years. Now we have a new traveling companion - a 10-month old son, and were worried that our days of finding some really great gems of accomodations in la condesa were over! Fortunately, we were wrong when we found Condesa Haus! We stayed in Suite 1, and although it only had one bed, the suite had plenty of room for a portable travel bed that we brought along (the bed was also plenty big enough for all three of us to sleep together). Having a suite with a small child worked out perfectly, as we could put baby to bed early in one room while still enjoying the rest of our evening in the living/dining area. The kitchenette was stocked with everything we needed, including a microwave which we used to sterilize baby bottles. We were pleasantly surprised to find out that Suite 1 had an in-suite washer & dryer! There wasn't a bathtub in our particular suite, but our little guy was fine sitting in the shower. La condesa is a very old neighbourhood, and while many of the properties are renovated very well, we have never found one that is completely sound-proof (totally understandable given the age of the buildings). However, we found that we barely heard any of the other guests at Condesa Haus (and hopefully, they couldn't hear us either)! Wi-fi worked great throughout the property, and we were given a local mobile to use during our stay - perfect if you know people in Mexico City or are traveling with a group and want to stay in touch. The staff were wonderful and accomodating - helping us call sitios and make restaurant reservations. We will definitely stay here again the next time we return to Mexico City!

Room Tip: Suite 1 is a 1-bedroom suite with kitchenette, living area and insuite washer & dryer
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SabrinaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

One of the reasons I often prefer staying at B&Bs is having the opportunity to chat with and learn tips from the proprietors as opposed to a more "formal" hotel experience.

We stayed at Condesa Haus for our first 3 nights in Mexico City and one of the best things about it was having Douglas as a resource. This man seems to have encyclopedic knowledge of this city! He gave us great tips on walking routes, where to find Internet, events going on in the city, where to find an interesting cocktail, which parts of the Archeology Museum to see (and to skip). He even gave us a short architectural history lesson on the houses in the neighborhood. If for nothing else, it's worth staying here just to have access to his wealth of knowledge.

The second best thing about this B&B are the breakfasts. The fresh panela cheese is not to be skipped, and each day they serve one specialty Mexican dish which always tasted amazing.

We stayed in the Playa del Carmen room which was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The bed was a bit too firm for my preference, but not a big deal. The dual head shower was definitely nice. We also had a lovely little balcony overlooking the street, which was nice except we did hear a lot of street noise at night. It didn't bother us too much except for one night when a neighbor decided to have a little singing fiesta from 2-4 am :( So if you're sensitive to noise, bring ear buds or request a quieter room.

A friend had recommended that we stay in Condesa/Roma rather than in Centro. I'm glad we took his advice, as this area was much more to our liking (we did stay in Centro our last night)--quiet, leafy, lots of restaurants, and a nice neighborhood feel. Definitely check out Parque Mexico when in the area.

We did take up the B&B's offer for a private driver to pick us up at the airport. I thought for our first arrival in DF it would just be easier to have someone pick us up rather than deal w/ the hassle of getting a cab and worrying about directions. It was a pricier, but nice to have the peace of mind. When we flew back to DF from Oaxaca we took a regular cab to the Centro, and it was fine--although make sure the taxi counter doesn't try to rip you off by giving you pricing for an "executive" car rather than a regular sedan. Fare to the Centro should only cost about 180-190 pesos.

Room Tip: Playa del Carmen was a lovely room, but bring ear buds if you're sensitive to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcc813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We go to DF and we wanted stay in CONDESA HAUS again, Now we stay in TEPITO`S Room
the experience was Great!! the bed, and the bathrooms are incredible you really love the place because its different to the others rooms, You have a little touch of the "folklore" neighborhood, we really have a good time and relax too!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badastrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey N.L.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

This place has everything you need and more.
The room that we stay in is called Puebla.
The bed and the pillows are just perfect...
The bathroom is amazing, large and very nice.
Breakfast is varied and vast.
It's located in the heart of La Condesa, near of pubs, coffes and restaurants.
So next time you go to Mexico City, do not miss the opportunity of staying there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VicGon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

Condesa Haus is a wonderful b&b. A renovated 1930's house thats not only beautiful but also very relaxed and tranquil. Fernando and Dougals are so helpful, the rooms are spectacular and the service exceptional. I strongly recommend staying there!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hana68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Condesa
Maria Condesa Boutique Hotel
Maria Condesa Boutique Hotel
#47 of 306 in Mexico City
281 reviews
Condesa
Hippodrome Hotel
Hippodrome Hotel
#51 of 306 in Mexico City
154 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 306 in Mexico City
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Condesa
Hotel Villa Condesa
Hotel Villa Condesa
#9 of 141 in Mexico City
331 reviews
Condesa
Casa Comtesse
Casa Comtesse
#5 of 141 in Mexico City
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Condesa Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condesa Haus

Property: Condesa Haus
Address: Cuernavaca 142 | Colonia Condesa, Mexico City 06140, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Condesa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Condesa Haus is a new concept of hosting in Mexico through a blend of art, comfort and technology all at Condesa the most famous and trendy neighborhood in Mexico City. All suites feature Wi Fi internet, flat TV , cable TV, Bath w/tub and a local cell phone. Start your day with a delicious breakfast included. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Condesa Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condesa Haus Hotel Mexico City
Condesa Haus Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing