We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm a local and I love eating here!”
Review of Cafe de Tacuba

Cafe de Tacuba
Ranked #188 of 9,641 Restaurants in Mexico City
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Cuauhtemoc District
Reviewed July 22, 2016

This restaurant is a classic and a very old one to the downtown area. Go there for breakfast before you hit the Centro for a very full belly so you can have the energy needed, or end a nice walking and discovery day with a really nice Mexican cuisine dinner. Try the enchiladas -any of them-, or the pozole, and save a space for some Pan Dulce (conchas, orejas, polvorones or moños are the best) with a Cafe con leche (latte), don't panic, the waitresses know how to serve it, you will be surprised!
Usually there's live music, for sure yoiu will enjoy

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank paulinaln73
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (4,503)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

727 - 731 of 4,504 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2016

The atmosphere was exciting. The restaurant was very pretty and traditional. The service was good. The food was average. Stick with the traditional Mexican food. I had very good enchiladas. My husband had very, very dry chicken with average fries. It's a tourist restaurant...you go there for the atmosphere, not necessarily for an outstanding meal.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank TMSPORTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 19, 2016

We brought our two-year old and were relived to see other children dining as well. the food was outstanding. Everything we ordered was wonderful. We would have liked to try more but there wasn't room.
We especially recommend the 4 cositas dish. I had the beef mole which was very good. For dessert we ordered the cheesecake with fruit jam on top - fantastic.
It's a little pricey compared to other places but so worth it. (650 pesos for the three of us)

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Danielle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

Discovered on our first day, this culinary prize is set in a century-old building. The attractive plates of traditional Mexican fare were mouth watering.

Great margaritas, wine list, and mariachis if you like the serenade. Worthy of your inclusion.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Freezeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 9, 2016

I have visited Café Tacuba since 2000 any time I visit CDMX and have chnce to do it. Very good cuisine on any meal.
Congrats!!!

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlejandrodelCorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de Tacuba also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cafe de Tacuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.