We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great traditional Mexican”
Review of Cafe de Tacuba

Cafe de Tacuba
Ranked #188 of 9,641 Restaurants in Mexico City
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Cuauhtemoc District
Reviewed July 4, 2016 via mobile

My friends and I spent 12 days touring Mexico City and the enchanted towns. We had the opportunity to try different restaurants and Mexican cuisine.... I can confidently say that the Cafe de Tacuba was the best meal we had! The okd building, a traditional Mexican decor, the music played life by estudiantinas, and the food itself created a unique environment which made our last meal in Mexico Cuty super enjoyable.
If you are in the zocalo, old downtown Mexico City, definitely try this restaurant, you will not be disappointed.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank lindamonika
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (4,503)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

732 - 736 of 4,504 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile

Was recommended to eat here during our short stay in the city and it was worth it. The prices were reasonable and the service prompt and friendly. The food was also good (although much of the street food was just as good and a fraction of the price!). All things considered very much worth a visit!

Date of visit: May 2016
1  Thank Ericmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 29, 2016

What's to like? To be brief......stunning space with loads of traditional charm....the wait staff is dressed as though they were back in the 1950's, traditional Mexican fare that is well prepared.....tremendous strolling musicians dressed in period costumes serenaded every table in the place.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 28, 2016 via mobile

Walking into this restaurant for lunch you entered a great space with an authentic Mexican atmosphere. Food was great but I would recommend making sure you check your orders carefully. We ordered a margarita (delicious) and were given a choice of tequila & the one we chose was over three times the price on the menu. This difference in cost was never explained to us until we got the bill.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Nadina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

......without giving it a try. No better place to go if you find yourself in the old part of town. Once inside, take the time to look and read each of the replica paintings. Walk around..., visit the kitchen..., I did.

And yes, enjoy the great food!

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank vamolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de Tacuba also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cafe de Tacuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.