We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perhaps the best restaurant in Guanajuato” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Capellina

La Capellina
Ranked #15 of 230 Restaurants in Guanajuato
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perhaps the best restaurant in Guanajuato”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

A quiet restaurant near the Jardin Union. This restaurant has a sophisticated menu and the kitchen to back it up. Try the salmon carpaccio to start, then sit back and enjoy a great meal with a bottle of wine from an extensive selection.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank The_happy_traveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    100
    38
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
swan lake mb canada
Level Contributor
186 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great service/food/atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Went twice, stuck to the pizza options which were both excellent. Good selection of wines.
Had 3 different salads on our visits, all excellent. Service was excellent from all the staff,
especially Aldo. The last night there was a live jazz band which was great. Cannot comment on the food other than the pizza

Price for a pizza, 2 salads, 2 waters, a bottle of Malbec and 2 glasses of house wine came to about $70........as sure as hell you will not get this value in Canada.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gdesmond61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best in downtown Guanajuato”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Living in a city nearby, I have been in Guanajuato downtown countless times taking visitors. After a long walk, each time we try one of the restaurants in the downtown (Teatro Juarez, Parque Unión) and they are always disappointing. This place is, by far, the best in the área. It might not be the best restaurant I have been to, but it´s clean (I do not want to give details about the others), fresh, the food has good quality, clean restrooms and the service is agile due to the excellent manager that is checking them all the time. I definitely will go to this place again next time I visit Guanajuato.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BARGAINHUNTER_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nothing great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Bad service but lots of seating. Not a busy joint. Comfortable chairs but nothing to say about the food. The inside decor is interesting, somewhat artsy.

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
233 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Good but not more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

My wife and I had dinner at La Capellina last night. We enjoyed the pleasant old world ambience and excellent service. The food was good but not remarkable. My wife had two steak cutlets with an interesting sauce. I had a pasta dish with rabbit. Although the pasta dish was ok, somehow the combination of flavors did not add up to anything special.

On the down side, we were diappointed by both the selection and quality of wines that were available. Surprisingly, there were no Italian wines available, despite the fact that Italian food comprises the majority of the menu. Although, some may argue that many wines go well with Italian food, I have come to appreciate and love the unique flavor profile of these wines when paired with the traditional herbs and flavors of Italy. We ended up ordering a bottle of a Spanish wine which was from a well known producer but unfortunately turned out to be from the low quality end of their product range.

If excellent wine is an important part of your dining experience, I would not recommend La Capellina. On the other hand, if you are open to more everyday food and wine, then you will enjoy the great ambience and service at La Capellina.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MontanaVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Capellina also viewed

 
Guanajuato, Guanajuato
 

Been to La Capellina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing