We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good dishes, but be careful with the tip”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Capellina

La Capellina
Ranked #13 of 235 Restaurants in Guanajuato
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Tlaquepaque, Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good dishes, but be careful with the tip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We had an issue with the tip. We were a group of 8 people, the waiter wanted more than 10%, and he stopped us to discuss the matter.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DAVID S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    100
    39
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Food with no taste”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Food has absolutely NO TASTE! Would have rather eaten paper. Cook told us "everyone has different tastes". What? There was NO taste in the food. Avoid. Would rate as zero if that option was available.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theballer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“They think clients are fool, I suppose!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

After reading some nice comments here, we've decided to go to "La Capelina", during our great stay in Guanajuato. What a disaster!

The place is beautiful, even if it's too formal. But that's all! First of all, it smelt disinfectant at the table.

We've ordered a fettuccine with duck and some filet de res with vegetables. After a very long wait, both came cold, my meat was completely raw! It was even worse for my boyfriend, who had an almost melting fettuccine, after been cooked too long, MIXED WITH SOME SPAGHETTIS (believe it or not, it's true), and, the worst: CHICKEN, IN STEAD OF DUCK (we both know duck very well and it's impossible not to recognize it. It look, smelt and tasted as it was: chicken!

Would never recommend this place! You'd ratter go to the Mestizo, Casa Valdez or Las Mercedes, which are absolutely great!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location but average food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Capellina is in the heart of Guanajuato, a stone's throw from the jardin. We ordered pizza and salad and the food was good but not great. The service was a little slow and the prices were high.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank rgdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
---
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Un peu deçue...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

L'odeur à l'entrée du restaurant la Capellina: DDT...pas sympa. Malgré ça nous avions faim et nous sommes decidés de rester. Pourtant nous sommes partis deçus. Personnellement je trouve que les repas sont médiocres et avec une "seudo fusion international" que ne mérite pas des bons commentaires. Oui, on peut manger mais sans cette belle satisfaction dégustative! Le service est bon et la location est merveilleuse! Je crois que cette restaurant pourrait faire mieux..beaucoup mieux. Il y a pas mal des choses à ameliorer... Je ne le conseille pas.

When we entered the restaurant there was an insecticide odor which was something annoying. We stayed because we were hungry already and it looks ok. However the meals we ordered were not so tasty and kinda of students meals. They are trying to make an effort to present international-mexican meals but I didn't find them good. The waitress was very good at his work and the location is excellent, not far from Jardin Union. I think they can do much better. There are many things they can improve. I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank caminante56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Capellina also viewed

 
Guanajuato, Guanajuato
 

Been to La Capellina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing