We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but average food”
Review of La Capellina

La Capellina
Ranked #14 of 249 Restaurants in Guanajuato
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location but average food”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Capellina is in the heart of Guanajuato, a stone's throw from the jardin. We ordered pizza and salad and the food was good but not great. The service was a little slow and the prices were high.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank rgdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    105
    39
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
---
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Un peu deçue...”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

L'odeur à l'entrée du restaurant la Capellina: DDT...pas sympa. Malgré ça nous avions faim et nous sommes decidés de rester. Pourtant nous sommes partis deçus. Personnellement je trouve que les repas sont médiocres et avec une "seudo fusion international" que ne mérite pas des bons commentaires. Oui, on peut manger mais sans cette belle satisfaction dégustative! Le service est bon et la location est merveilleuse! Je crois que cette restaurant pourrait faire mieux..beaucoup mieux. Il y a pas mal des choses à ameliorer... Je ne le conseille pas.

When we entered the restaurant there was an insecticide odor which was something annoying. We stayed because we were hungry already and it looks ok. However the meals we ordered were not so tasty and kinda of students meals. They are trying to make an effort to present international-mexican meals but I didn't find them good. The waitress was very good at his work and the location is excellent, not far from Jardin Union. I think they can do much better. There are many things they can improve. I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank caminante56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Italian/French Cusine”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Excellent food and service. I had a pasta dish with a cream based sauce. It had black olives, sun dried tomatoes and chunks of duck. Never had that combination before but it was very tasty. Of course a glass of vino tinto and a great pear dessert finished off a pleasant dining experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Parlino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DF
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good but improvements to make”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had reservations for 4 people, our table was nice and ready. Friendly and helpful staff. We were waiting for the "live jazz music", but they came after 10pm, so we missed them.
I had green & red pepper cream, it was delicious but extremely salty. We also has two Capellina Salads, which were too sweet, we had to neutralized it with balsamic vinegar. The "arrachera", the salmon and the desserts, were very good.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank CeciliaDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Tasty pizza and gr8 service”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Nice small place in gr8 location with nice awesome pizzas!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayeshvpatil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Capellina also viewed

 
Guanajuato, Guanajuato
Guanajuato, Guanajuato
 
Guanajuato, Guanajuato
 

Been to La Capellina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing