We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why stay anywhere else?”
Review of Casa Zuniga B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Zuniga B&B
Ranked #1 of 78 Guanajuato B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Casa Zuniga is a real gem! The view is breathtaking especially in the evening. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, and well appointed. The common areas are well maintained and filled with absolutely unique artworks. Relaxing in and around the pool is a great way to recover after walking around Guanajuato all morning. The hosts were very helpful and friendly. They recommended THE BEST driver, Israel, for a trip outside of Guanajuato. Oh yeah, and breakfast is way too delicious to miss!!!

Room Tip: The Morgan room has a great view with a balcony and the Margarita with windows on 3 sides is a beaut...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJMcginnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. So glad you enjoyed your stay. You put in a lot of travel time on the road. Very happy to hear that our driver worked out for you. Hope to see you again. Again, thank you for your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
There are newer reviews for Casa Zuniga B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 565 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2014

If I have a chance to visit GTO again, I will stay at Casa Zuniga. Beautiful B&B, comfy and clean room, amazing view, delicious breakfast. You also need to use Casa Zuniga's driver, Israel, for transportation and guided tours. He and Rick made our trip to GTO memorable and extra special!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Isis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. A thank you note and a beautiful smile. Can't ask for more than that. Makes having a B&B a wonderful way of living. So glad our driver worked out for you. Everyone here at Casa Zuniga does their best. Hope you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We were referred to Casa Zuniga by friends -- and absolutely loved it. Imagine a home of your eclectic, unusual, artsy friend - blended with a hotel, and you got Casa Zuniga. Rick and Carmen are masters at creating a warm friendly atmosphere -- the rooms are spacious and large, very tastefully decorated (I couldn't stop snapping photos of the decor as well as the breathtaking view outside!), the home-made breakfast cooked by Carmen and her helpers is delightful, and Rick is a master communicator -- he kept sending me personalized notes ever since they confirmed our reservation, always referring to Casa Zuniga as "your home" -- and I truly felt it, it was our home away from home. Everyone has already mentioned all the other pros: proximity to El Pipila and the funicular, the ticket for the funicular provided free of charge, the parking lot near El Pipila and the hotel and the fact that the parking is included with your hotel stay... This is simply the most perfect place to stay, and I will happily recommend it and its owners. Thank you so much, Rick and Carmen!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony -- you'll have your own amazing view!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ukigirla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review for us. All the staff thanks you! We do what ever we can do to make your stay comfy. We really want you to make yourself at home and enjoy what we have to offer. Thank you again for your stay and hope to see you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This was our second time at Casa Zuniga and it's even more amazing! To be there is a trip on it's own, this place is as eclectic as it's owner. Welcome to 'Mundo Rick', this guy is talented and eccentric and what he has built needs to be seen. Since our last visit he has created an art gallery of metal work and sculpture. Soon it will be added to the sights of GTO or if not it should be.
You will be comfortable there, the rooms are super, good beds and all the amenities. There is a pool and patio as a new addition and the pool is WARM! It might be the only outdoor pool in town that is warm.
Then there is Carmen and her helpers. They quietly keep the house immaculate (think sheets and towels on the line) and prepare you the most amazing breakfast! It's got it all; good coffee, fresh fruit, eggs, Mexican dishes and desert! If you have amazing luck you will be there for the enchiladas with the cilantro salsa verde...it left 4 of us speechless, we just let that flavor hang in our mouths. And cinnamon buns too.
Rick and Carmen, you make me smile.....

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view...I forgot to mention the VIEW! Also, Guanajuato is all about stairs, thi...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samcan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you so very much for this review. Over one forth our guest are returning guests. They already got comfortable in their home. They've just been away for a while. Returning guests are a big plus. They make the new guest get comfy in their home that much sooner. You were all great guests. Thank you for your stay. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is a great place to stay in Guanajuato...wonderful hosts, views, hospitality and one of the best breakfasts I've ever had in Mexico!! The property has much art work and many, many levels, hallways, private areas, etc. We loved the terrace next to our room.. with tables and chairs where we enjoyed a bottle of wine and the gorgeous views of GTO below. As others have said, Rick is very knowledgeable about the history of the city and eager to share suggestions about what to see and where to eat, etc.
We'll be back!!

Room Tip: We liked Luna Landin...with a very nice terrace right next to it with gorgeous views of the city.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sswksq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thanks a lot for your review. It really makes all of us glad to read that you enjoyed yourself. We watch for reviews. The staff has me translate English reviews to Spanish for them. They get a big kick out of them. Especially when the review mentions something that they do as part of their job. We have about 40,000 square feet of space. More than plenty of room for everyone. We do our best to fill-up the left-over space with metal sculptures that we whip-up in the back yard. For us, the most important thing to know is...if you come over, you're coming over to live here in your own home . Even if it's only just for a day or so. Thanks again, Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Fantastic B&B in Guanajuato, Mexico. Rick and Carmen are excellent hosts. You will learn much about the history of Guanajuato as Rick has constructed a virtual museum of artwork in his home. This place is a VERY unique B&B constructed in such a way that everyone feels like they have their own little private corner. The breakfast was incredible. There is a lap pool, and we loved the location at the top of the city next to Pipil monument.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to help us out with a review. We are lucky enough to find ourselves in the Historic Center of Guanajuato. Mexico has just named Guanajuato the "Cultural Destination for Mexico". What could be better to display in our home other than Guanajuato history. The decoration we whipped-up reflect the history just outside an all around the house.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Casa Zuniga is a rare place where all the ingredients needed to make a great B&B has come together.
It starts with the owner Rick Zuniga - a dynamo of a man, outgoing, caring, helpful owner who truly cares for his guests as well as for his establishment. One can see it from the art spread all over, the furnishings and the overall cleanliness and condition of the place. Then there is the location - the view from the place is breathtaking with Guanajuato spread in the valley below the hotel. A funicular, located next to the B&B makes the town very easily accessible. Then there is the amazing breakfast served by the very helpful staff.

Personally I hate "exposed bathrooms", those which are enclosed by glass enclosures and located in the middle of the room. Unfortunately this has become a trendy fashion in hotels nowadays. The first room that my wife and I were shown was such a room and I asked to switch. My request was granted with no fuss. The room we had had two wide beds, a desk and a vanity unit. Lighting was good. In addition we had a sitting area from which we could look at the town - amazing view! The bathroom was a bit quirky but good. Everything was spotless and the hot water available in abundance. Free wi-fi was provided and worked well.
All in all - the place deserves the stars it gets.
One note - Casa Zuniga is made up of a congregation of units connected by a lot of stairs so it is not suitable at all for handicapped people.

Room Tip: Check for view
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zedzil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We were happy to be able to accommodate you.
Casa Zuniga is carved into the folded volcanic rock that make up the arroyo that is Guanajuato. The footprint of Casa Zuniga is equal to 26 homes. The different levels, stairs and open areas mimic the rest of Guanajuato.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.3 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 55 in Guanajuato
507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 55 in Guanajuato
671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Paz
Hotel de la Paz
#8 of 55 in Guanajuato
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 55 in Guanajuato
134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#3 of 55 in Guanajuato
268 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Zuniga B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Zuniga B&B

Address: Calle Pochote no 38 | Centro, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Guanajuato
Price Range: $75 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Zuniga B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is our wish to provide our guests the best service possible from first contact to check out. We can only do this working directly with each guest. To that end, we are now independent. To make a reservation, either go to our web site-availability calendar or e-mail us and we can help you pick a bedroom, arrange BJX transportation, send directions, etc. Adults only, LGBT friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Zuniga B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Zuniga Bed And Breakfast
Casa Zuniga Hotel Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing