We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views and perfect location”
Review of Casa Zuniga B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Zuniga B&B
Ranked #1 of 85 Guanajuato B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Casa Zuniga is located close to the top of the Funicular which makes it very easy to get to the base of the mountainside and into the central part of town, near the town square, theatres and restaurants. Because of Casa Zuniga’s location, the views of the town are spectacular – we spent hours on our balcony just observing.

Our room was sparkling clean, spacious, simply but tastefully decorated. A quick walk through the courtyard to breakfast or off the property to the Funicular. Breakfasts were delicious with plentiful and varied selections and lively conversation with the other guests.

The owners, Rick and Carmen, are personable and helpful and full of information and ideas about what to do and to see while in Guanajuato.

Room Tip: We stayed in Maxcito room and the views of the town can't be beat. Just email them your desires...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Knowing how busy you must be, we really appreciate your time for this review.
As this guest wrote, if you would like to make a reservation, just e-mail us.
By pure luck, we are next door to the Funicular with a five foot pathway that connects us. We provide a pass for use of the Funicular at no cost to our guests. It's a 90 second ride to the center and a good photo op.
Again, thank you for your review. They keep us in business.
We'll see you the next time you're in town. Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (578)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

195 - 201 of 578 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2013

If you are going to Guanajuato and are looking for a place to stay, stop, look no further. Casa Zuniga is the only place to stay. After we booked our room, Rick, the owner contacted us to help with our arrival arrangements. We decided to use his recommended driver, Israel, for our airport pickup and were scheduled to arrive around 2pm. Unfortunately our flight was cancelled and we transferred to a later flight finally arriving in Leon at 11:30 pm. At this hour we did not know for sure if we would have transportation to Guanajuato, or be able to find or check in to the B & B. No worries as Israel went above and beyond and was waiting for us, took us to Casa Zuniga, had a key to the B & B and took us to our room! This is exceptional service and so our visit to Casa Zuniga began. You can read the other reviews to which I echo. Rick and Carmen are warn and wonderful hosts. The place he has created (5 years in the construction) is fascinating. The large and comfortable rooms, the location above the town, next to the funicular, with the great views. The pool, exercise equipment, the murals depicting the history of Guanajuato and on and on. And then there was the delicious breakfast which was a new and delightful experience every day. The food in this town is memorable and we ate dinner at several excellent and inexpensive restaurants, however, I did offer Carmen a suggestion and that was she open a restaurant of her own. Thanks Rick and Carmen, and Israel for a great vacation.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Morgan room which has a balcony overlooking the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Thank you for the kindness in your review. Israel always does what it takes to get the job done. Only because you had booked directly, which put us in contact, were we able to get this done. When guests use a on-line travel agent to reserve a bedroom at at our home, it's a bit of a chore to obtain contact information for the guest. Without this contact information, it's not possible to send information, directions or arrange airport pick-up.
thanks again and see you on your next trip to Guanajuato, Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We came back to Casa Zuniga for the Thanksgiving weekend, two years after having first visited. Rick and Carmen have really been busy, making an already wonderful place to stay even better! Rick has added a lot of sculpture and metal reliefs to the artwork, all depicting significant moments in Mexican history. Also, there is a new mural, which is the best map of Guanajuato I've ever seen. It makes planning your walk through town much easier. Carmen's breakfasts are still excellent. Tasty and very generous! I'm looking forward to our next visit already.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Thank you for stopping to take the time to write your review. Returning guests makes everything go even smoother because they made themselves at home on the first visit. So it's like returning home.

Guanajuato is the cultural destination for Mexico. This is a big home with tons of space. The best thing to do with the space, use it to tell the history of Guanajuato with stuff we whip-up in the back yard.
Muchas Gracias, Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

If you want to experience Mexico, go to Guanajuato; staying at Casa Zuniga makes that experience pleasant, relaxed, safe and fun. Enjoy the experience of sitting on a balcony overlooking the city after of full day of walking thru the city. Casa Zuniga has the amenities; a great breakfast, conversation with people from everywhere, free multiple tickets on the cable cars and friendly hosts (Rick and Carmen) who go out of their way to make your visit memorable.

Before you go, read about the history of the area and learn a few words of Spanish (and use them). Remember, you are in Mexico and staying in an area surrounded by roosters, barking dogs, fireworks, and men announcing gas and water. But you also hear kids playing, laughter, and neighbors talking and greeting you (if you use you few words of Spanish) on the street.

Now, If you want to go to Mexico and expect to experience America, stay instead in the Americanized colony of San Miguel de Allende or Guadalajara. There you can be surrounded by other Americans who have lived there for years and who still refuse to learn spanish and expect Mexico and Mexicans to cater to their American standards.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a private balcony overlooking the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Thank you. You told me you would do it and you did it. A true man of his word. Gracias! BTW, gracias is one of the words that I have learned. So far It really comes in handy over and over again each day.
Casa Zuniga is in the Centro Historico of Guanajuato. On our one street you have the old mansions of the silver barons. Surrounding these mansions you have homes carved into the side of the ravine that is Guanajuato. Casa Zuniga shares the side of this ravine with the neighbors and their farm animals. We still have farm animals in the center of the town, the Centro Historico. We are seriously deep in old Mexico here and it's great!!!.

Again, Gracias for the review, Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Most people might think that Guanajuato might be the last place to go to four weeks after hip surgery because of all the hills and steps, but I needed a break and Casa Zuniga was beckoning. It worked out well. Casa Zuniga is vast. Their exercise room had some serious machines that I needed for my rehab. Then there was the pool. I wasn't too mobile which meant that I spent most of my time at Casa Zuniga. Never seemed to get in anyone's way. The guests from all over the world made for interesting conversation at breakfast. The food was (as usual) great. I was able to take in a few activities in town after a while. The funicular just outside the front door made getting to the center of town easy - even for me.. I left in 2 weeks with my batteries charged, my body rested but also strengthened, my spirits raised, and my hip in much better shape. Thanks to everyone, particularly Carmen and Rick.

Room Tip: All rooms are large Some have patios, however most people are not like me on this visit and spent m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DocMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Gracias for whipping this review out so quickly. As you know, reviews are what keep us on the map. Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

On our visit to Guanajuato we spent two nights at Casa Zuniga, a charming B&B nestled on a hill overlooking the town. Casa Zuniga is only a very short cable car ride away from the historical center, the cable car is located next door to the B&B and Casa Zuniga will provide you with free tickets.
Parking is nearby and the parking cost will be paid by Casa Zuniga.
Our room was specious and sparkling clean with a beautiful view overlooking Guanajuato, the shower is simply the best with plenty of hot water and excellent water pressure.
Our room (Renee-Max) had two large king size beds, very comfortable.
Breakfast was a delight, every day a new dish was served in addition to the regular spread and is served at 9 am.
The owners are a wealth of information; Rick is a historian and a joy to talk to, the staff is friendly and helpful.

If this is your first visit to Guanajuato by car as it was ours, you might find driving in town a challenge. Guanajuato has many tunnels crisscrossing underneath the town and can be confusing. Also finding the B&B is difficult because it is not located on a street. We hired one of the many guides around town to take us there ( Ask the guide to take you to "Monumento Pipila") the B&B is next to it. This was money well spent!
We enjoyed Guanajuato very much and plan to return for a longer visit, when we do we will definitely stay at Casa Zuniga again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyingdutchmanblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Thank you. It is so considerate and thoughtful of you to write this nice review. As you said. the easiest way find us is to go to Monumento del Pipila and look for the Casa Zuniga-Funicular sign. You can see the house from the sign. It's the one with the private landing pad on the roof.
Again, thank you very much for the review. Reviews help keep us visible.
See you on the next trip, Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Dear Carmen and Rick,
We loved staying at your amazing, artistic house. The views of magical Guanauato are spectacular. It was wonderful to zip down to the Jardin on the funicular & thanks too for the tickets to ride. I loved that you were so eager to find a kettle to make proper tea. Thanks for researching and discovering that making tea is important to English & Canadians.

Our time in Guanauato was too short, being only for 2 days. We were following the drivers of the Carerra Panamericana race and when planning the trip had not realized that this town would be so interesting. There are lovely little museums, it is an easy town to walk around. Rick was quite right about the Mummy museum being rather not too exciting. The post office in the town is terrific, I still send old fashioned postcards with lovely stamps so that was a pleasure for me too. We enjoyed a diner style meal at Ofelia. The food was tasty and the restaurant colourful. We did not have time to go out to the best restaurant in the town, Las Mercedes, but will do so on a return visit.

We did not hire a car in Mexico as in the small towns it can be a nuisance. Rick arranged for a driver to come to Queretaro to drive us to Guanauato. We took the Primera Plus bus back to Mexico City, it was a good service and very inexpensive. I have learned to take the bus, hooray.

Thanks again Rick & Carmen, you two are fantastic hosts.
All the best, Linda & Andrew

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LIndaWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

HI guys:)) Thank you so much for your nice review. The next time you are in town, maybe you'll have time for a waling tour.
Take care and see you in the future,
rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.3 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 55 in Guanajuato
522 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
0.2 mi away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#4 of 55 in Guanajuato
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 55 in Guanajuato
139 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Maria Cristina Relais & Chateaux
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Paz
Hotel de la Paz
#8 of 55 in Guanajuato
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Zuniga B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Zuniga B&B

Address: Calle Pochote no 38 | Centro, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Guanajuato
Price Range: $75 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Zuniga B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is our wish to provide our guests the best service possible from first contact to check out. We can only do this working directly with each guest. To that end, we are now independent. To make a reservation, either go to our web site-availability calendar or e-mail us and we can help you pick a bedroom, arrange BJX transportation, send directions, etc. Adults only, LGBT friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Casa Zuniga B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Zuniga Bed And Breakfast
Casa Zuniga Hotel Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing