We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Zuniga B&B
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel San Diego(Guanajuato)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Luna Hotel(Guanajuato)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Posada Santa Fe(Guanajuato)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel de la Paz(Guanajuato)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (591)
Filter reviews
591 results
Traveler rating
546
37
5
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
546
37
5
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrick carmenhis wifehis knowledgerich historytamalesmetal sculpturespipila monumentplace to stayel pipilaspectacular viewsfree ticketsfunicular ridepersonal tourbeansguacamolewonderful hostsother guests
Filter
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 591 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My 3-days/2-nights stay at Casa Zuniga made my visit to Guanajuato a truly memorable one. The location is fantastic - right by the entrance to the funicular station up by El Pipila, a quick ride get you directly to the town centre where all major actions take place (the funicular pass is included by the thoughtful hosts). Because of its proximity to El Pipila, it's ideal if you want to beat the crowd for the stunning panoramic view at sunrise and at night. The views from the room/balcony/swimming pool are great as well.

As many other previous reviews have stated, the breakfast is simply not to be missed. Every morning there is at least one main dish (hot), with several other dishes to be shared among the guests (eg. fresh fruit, eggs, salsa, beans). I also found other travelers who chose to stay in Casa Zuniga amazing to chat with - during my stay I've met some wonderful people and that made the breakfast time truly a great opportunity to share travel and life experiences.

The house itself and room are flawlessly clean - very spacious and tastefully decorated. Rick is so full of life and stories - he is probably the best person to speak to if you want to know more about the history of this fascinating city (originally from San Francisco but arrived in Mexico in 1965, he speaks perfect English and Spanish). In fact, the history of Guanajuato is embedded in his lovely home - the murals, sculptures, paintings and other incredible collections as well as creations have made Casa Zuniga almost like a mini museum/gallery. Rick himself is an architect, artist, historian, collector and so much more. He is well regarded in the neighborhood and it's amazing to see how well he has blended into the community.

I would definitely recommend this place to my friends and would hopefully return again. There are only a couple of things to keep in mind:
1) The funicular runs till around 10pm at night. After then you will have to walk up or take the taxi - it's a 35-peso ride from the city center and it takes you through the underground tunnel system to reach home. I personally found it interesting to at least try the taxi once. It's easy to hail a taxi at the major plazas and I felt pretty safe even at night.

2) Depending on the room that you choose, wifi might not be strong enough to reach it. However, there are several nice public areas where you can connect to the Internet. In those areas wifi is fast and reliable.

3) As it's located right above the main plaza on the hill, expect some music and noise from the crowd over the weekend. There are also dog barks and bell ringings from the churches. However - if you stay near the town center, I would expect that you will have this everywhere. It doesn't bother me much, and it feels nice to be really close to the core of the action.

Overall, really appreciate Rick to go out of his way to make my stay a fantastic one. It's hard not to like Guanajuato, but if you want to know more about the city's past and what's underneath its colorful charm, have a chat with Rick and you will discover so much more.

Elisa

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelMontage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Thank you so much for your time to put together this very complete and thoughtful review of your home here in Guanajuato. You touched on so many points. Our location by the Monumento del Pipila and next to the Funicular. The 90 second Funicular ride from almost the top door of your home to the center of the Centro Historico at no cost. We are lucky enough to have the only Funicular in all of Mexico right next to the house.
Breakfast is a get together time. It's served family style at 9:00. It's at it's best at this hour.
Guanajuato has been named the cultural destination of Mexico. We do anything we can do to promote the History of Guanajuato.
When ever a guest shows interest in the history of Guanajuato as with this wonderful guest, they can have all of my time that they want.
Truly one of our most memorable guests. We sincerely hope that someday you will come back to visit. Thank you again, Rick Zuniga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at Casa Zuniga for 3 nights earlier this year, and it was as good as advertised. Staying by El Pipila was a great spot with amazing city views, and it was super easy to go back and forth to the main part of the city using the funicular. Rick and his staff were extremely helpful, and the breakfasts were divine! Lots of space in the room as well. Very happy with our choice!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Krivokrasov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Thank you very much for your support and you your time to write your nice review. We are happy to hear that Casa Zuniga worked out well for you.
Thanks again and hope to see you on your next visit, Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 days and 2 nights at Casa Zuniga on our way to San Miguel de Allende. What a wonderful, vibrant, fascinating place to stay! Sitting atop the hill, next to Monumento Pipila, the casa has a grand view of Guanajuato! One can walk down the hill, directly into the center of town, or take the 2 minute ride on the funicular (tickets included with your stay). The rooms are large and clean and the whole house is fascinating, filled with art and Rick's sculptures and pieces of history. Patios that overlook the city and a long, warm lap pool are available for your use. Rick and Carmen, the owners, are amazing. Rick is filled with stories of the history of the city. Their wonderful staff make the absolute best breakfasts we have ever had. Breakfast is served at 9:00 and is not to be missed! Very highly recommend Casa Zuniga for your next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank layne737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Please, let me thank you for your review. It's so nice whenever we hear that our guests enjoyed Guanajuato and their stay. And thank you for your support by way of thisreview.
Until your next visit, Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at Casa Zuniga 4 days and didn't want to leave! First, Rick set us up to be picked up at the airport by wonderful driver. On our 3rd day there, the driver gave us a City tour and was very informative, showing us not only attractions, but places to shop. When we arrived, Rick gave us a quick tour of his home and included a little history (which was very interesting). The views from our rooms were amazing! The breakfast in the morning was filling and included fresh fruit, eggs, frijoles, and an entree which was always delicious. Rick and Carmen are wonderful hosts and always made us feel at home. We were also supplied with passes to use the Funicular, which took us up or down to the Main Plaza. But, be prepared to walk, which is what we mostly did. Laundry service was done for a small fee, too. I was also impressed when we were leaving and some young men who worked for Rick, asked if we needed help with the luggage. They took the heavy luggage, without a problem, put it on their shoulders and carried it up the steps. They even loaded it into the car! Everyone was so helpful! Stay one night and you will not want to leave!

Room Tip: Read ALL YELP review!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelingal33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you for your review. And thank you for accepting our hospitality.
See you the next time you come to Guanajuato, Rick Zuniga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

After two years of reading reviews on TA about Casa Zuniga, I couldn't wait to see it for myself. Rick and Carmen have done an amazing job putting together this B&B. The room was beautiful and simple -- all we needed as we spent most of the days exploring Guanajuato. The food is the real star of this B&B. Every morning was something different as the main, with sides of beans, guacamole, pico, fruit, and eggs. This meal could hold you over well into supper time. Rick is a great historian of the city and is also a very good artist in his own right. He was fun to visit with and get to know a bit. He has quite a life story! We had great conversation everyday with other travelers at breakfast time. Rick made sure we were picked up and dropped off from the airport and also arranged a reservation for us for our 10th anniversary. Awesome. If you are looking for "real Mexico" - take a trip to Guanajuato, MX and stay at Casa Zuniga. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoBigRed10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2015

Muchas Gracias for your review. We really do care about helping the guest have an enjoyable visit. So we do whatever we can do to make things go smooth for our guests. Carmen and her staff thank you for the kind words about the food that they prepare.
Carmen and rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews