We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family of Four had an Awesome Visit”
Review of Casa Zuniga B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Zuniga B&B
Ranked #1 of 75 Guanajuato B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family of Four had an Awesome Visit”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My family of four just returned to the States after our visit through Mexico. We stayed at Casa Zuniga based largely on the excellent reviews posted on Tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed. If you're looking for a place to stay that's safe, clean, and convenient then this is absolutely the place for you! Warm welcomes, peaceful generous people, and delicious breakfasts that will keep your stomach full until late in the day. The dramatic views are almost impossible to believe... trust me you'll be wondering later if it was all a dream.

Rick could easily charge his guests twice as much to stay here. You truly get the sense that he prefers to keep things simple and affordable in order to share this piece of paradise with all people. His museum quality artwork provides testimony to Guanajuato's rich history, and his willingness to share it with you is truly remarkable.

I've traveled all over Mexico and I have to say this place is at the top of my list for a return visit.

Thanks for everything Rick and Carmen! We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grant L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    36
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
55
336
41
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

A great find and a truly special place! Our room was immaculate and spacious, the view sublime, the breakfast bountiful, imaginative and delicious, the conversation interesting and friendly, but best of all the owners went out of their way to make each visitor feel welcome and special. Rick even got up at 5am the morning we left to pack us a home-made tamale breakfast to take on the plane, and then carried our suitcases up the stairs to the driver he had arranged for us! His artwork adorns the house, and actually IS the house. Ask him about it and your in for some good stories. We were given a funicular pass, which was great, and It was no problem to take the stairs down, or feel justified splurging in one of Guanajuato's good restaurants followed by a walk up. I would definitely stay again and recommend to friends. Bravo Rick and Carmen!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grumpyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed one night but felt extreme hospitalty from Rick. He knows everything about Guanajiato, maybe even more than the locals. The room is spacious and clean according to American standard. I will definitely stay again.

Pro:
1. There is a parking area 50 meters away from the hotel. Rick or someone carried my luggage in and out between the hotel and parking. Free of charge:)
2. Fatastic view from Pipila over entire Guanajuato city. Unforgetable memory!
3. Triditional and delicious homemade breakfast.
4. Enthusastic introduction of Guanajuato from Rick.
5. Free cable cart ticket. The cable cart is 100 meters away from hotel. Very convenient to go down to the center of old city.
6. Free usage of Rick's printig and copy machine.

Con:
I can hardly find any con. Anyway, there are dogs in the town and they bark in the night. If you don't like dog barking, you may bring some earplug if possible. Besides this, everything is wonderful of my stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ling Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile


We stayed here in late January and were so happy with our accommodation . Rick is an amazing host and so helpful with directions and information on this very interesting town. His wife, Carmen, provides an amazing breakfast and we met some very nice people around the breakfast table. Thanks so much. We would definitely recommend this B&B to our friends.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank chuc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bibasmom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Casa Zuniga has so many things going for it, It is a synthesis of the owners understanding of this beautiful city and of their vision to create a space which perfectly blends with it. Everything works. As the owner says, "It's basically one big home with a bunch of seperate bedrooms", But this "home" took 7 1/2 years to build... that is- handbuilt by the owners with local craftsmen. attention to detail is everywhere, beautiful colors, gorgeous local art. Imagine sitting on the outside deck looking across the valley of this city and seeing houses painted in every color of the rainbow. Close enough to everything to hear the singing students, but far enough away to get a good night's sleep. Swim real laps in a pool while looking at blooming bouganvellias on one side and swimming the other way looking at the oldest and most important silver mine in the America's right below a 300 year old cathedral. And you walk a few steps right to the entrance of the Finicular, a Swiss tram system, that takes you right into the heart of downtown. The breakfasts that Carmen and her staff prepare at nine in the morning are genuine feasts, with fresh squeezed tropical juice, good strong coffee, eggs, and a variety of things like quiche, chicken enchiladas in a cream chili sauce, home made cinnamon rolls, tomales, fresh fruit - the list goes on and on. Guanajuato is a very safe city, and this property is also completely safe, spotlessly clean, comfortable, and Carmen and their staff treat you more like family than as guests and will do whatever they can to make your stay really special. As an example, when we had to leave before breakfast to catch our flight out, Carmen prepared delicious tomales for us and wrapped them up in foil for us, right out of the steamer, so we would have a special meal to take with us. We left two days ago and are already planning our next trip. I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else, unless if it were with family. It is such a tremendous value at around a hundred dollars US a night. Like everywhere else in Guanajuato, be prepared to walk some steps to get in, if mobility is an issue, well, other places might be better. There are so many different living areas and gathering rooms and levels you never feel crowded or cramped, it really is like being a guest in a Mexican rancho. If it seems like we really liked Casa Zuniga, well, you are right - the whole premise of this establishment and its business model is a "win ' win" - for the owners, their guests, and the local people of Guanjuato, Thanks for reading all this, enjoy, Tom and Laura Kirschner, San Luis Obispo, CA

Room Tip: I really don't think there is a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bibasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Casa Zuniga is probably the very best place to stay Guanajuato. It is located on a hill above the town (very close to El Pipilo) and provides spectacular views over the city. The house is very modern and comfortable; the rooms are large and immaculate; and the breakfasts are delicious and very filling. Rick, our host, was very accommodating. He provided us with passes for the funicular, and arranged taxis when we needed them. The funicular is actually a great way to get to the middle of the town - it takes a mere 90 seconds to descend or ascend on it, and it is a unique experience which adds greatly to the Guanajuato experience.
While we were in this town, friends of ours stayed in the centre of Guanajuato. They commented on the noise level at night, that it kept them awake. Meanwhile, we were in our peaceful Casa above all the hubbub, enjoying a peaceful night's sleep. Highly recommended. One caveat: plan to pay in cash, not on credit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roadtripper024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houten, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We were only there one night in the Margarita room and later regret it and wished we had stayed longer just to spend one more night in that magic room. Extremelly recommended to honey mooners (we certainly felt like that!). A very romantic room with an astonishing view of the city. Very very spacious with a very interesting seat behind the bed which added to the lush of the room > for honeymooners.
The breakfast was such an experience. Heavenly! Amazing food served in such a cosy atmosphere which almost made feel as if we were family to the owners.
We highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Runninglady77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.3 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 55 in Guanajuato
501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 55 in Guanajuato
650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#3 of 55 in Guanajuato
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Paz
Hotel de la Paz
#8 of 55 in Guanajuato
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 55 in Guanajuato
132 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Zuniga B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Zuniga B&B

Property: Casa Zuniga B&B
Address: Calle Pochote no 38 | Centro, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Guanajuato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Zuniga B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is our wish to provide our guests the best service possible from first contact to check out. We can only do this working directly with each guest. To that end, we are now independent. To make a reservation, either go to our web site-availability calendar or e-mail us and we can help you pick a bedroom, arrange BJX transportation, send directions, etc. Adults only, LGBT friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Zuniga B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Zuniga Bed And Breakfast
Casa Zuniga Hotel Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing