We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful accomadations in a wonderful city”
Review of Casa Zuniga B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Zuniga B&B
Ranked #1 of 79 Guanajuato B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Casa Zuniga is at a great location and easy to find by car or taxi. The parking is convenient and safe. Nestled on a hillside with the city at your feet the views from the casa are lovely. Clean, modern rooms with great mattresses and bedding. The breakfasts are memorable and take you through the days sightseeing feeling satisfied. The casa is within easy reach of the city either by the 'zunicular', a fun tram from 'centro historico' right to your door or by foot, either way it is just minutes. Your hosts, Rick and Carmen go beyond hospitality to make your stay everything it should be. Rick's 90 minute 'mini' tour of the city gives you a feel for the time and history of this amazing city. Arrive a guest, leave a friend.....
Guanajuato can be a noisy city, especially during festivals. I find ear plugs a must when traveling in Mexico.

Room Tip: room with a view, for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samcan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 569 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2011

Casa Zuniga and its hosts, Rick and Carmelita, are a distinctive Central Mexican treat. The B&B was great with tea, cookies and a fabulous breakfast every day. The location was as centra as it could be, and Rick went out of his way to show us the heritage of this fascinating city and to make things "right" for his visitors. The room was comfortable and spacious, and the hospitality beyond compare. If we were to return to this historically significant town, we would not hesitate to revisit Rick and Carmelita.

For first time visitors we strongly recommend ear plugs to dull the impact of barking dogs. But the trade-off in convenience to the fabulous town center was well worth it, and Rick is a kick. He loves this place, and revels in the chance to share his enthusiasm with fellow Norte Americanos.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eschilling46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

All the other reviewers were right on the money about Casa Zuniga. Rick and Carmen make you feel right at home, except it's way more fun and the food is much better. Breakfast was outstanding every day, and the tamales they sent us off to the airport with at 4:30AM were so good I'm still thinking about them. I've never stayed with such nice, friendly, and welcoming people. We've been traveling all over Mexico for many years, but our stay at Casa Zuniga was inspiring like nothing else to date. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: they'll give you the best one available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jefffromiowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

My partner and I have just returned from our first trip to Mexico, where we stayed at the terrific Casa Zuniga. This B&B is ideally located in beautiful Guanajuato, atop one of the many hills, providing an amazing view of the city. The room was lovely, clean and private. Rick and Carmen welcomed us into their home and made our visit very memorable. Breakfast every morning was delicious, and a real treat. Rick's enthusiastic and friendly personality was great! His knowledge of the local culture and history was amazing and helpful in getting to know Guanajuato - and he's an awesome tour guide! Highly recommended - we plan to return, and not nearly soon enough! I can't say enough good things about Guanajuato and especially Casa Zuniga.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris87401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

My husband and I have been going to Mexico annually for 10 years. Staying at Casa Zuniga was the best experience ever. The reason... the hospitality. Rick and Carmen took such good care of us. They welcomed us into their home and created a super fun atmosphere.

In addition, Rick attended to of all the details. He took us on amazing tours of the city and mines. He hired us a taxi/ the fabulous Arturo to take us to San Miguel D'Allende, and found us a cobbler to fix a broken shoe. Fantastic!

In addition, I met some amazing fellow travelers and looked forward to having breakfast just to hear about everyone's adventures.

Thank you Rick and Carmen! I would live with you full time if I could!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maryzeran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

We spent 15 days here in March 2011, and enjoyed it just as much if not more than our previous 2010 visit. There is no point in repeating the accolades offered by other writers. It's all true.
I would like to emphasize several things that perhaps don't get the attention they deserve. First, Rick and Carmen, the owners and operators are an incredible resource for guidance about the community. That doesn't mean just historical stuff, although Rick is Guanajuato's secret weapon when it comes to promotion. But they helped us locate a dog portrait artist, a hairdresser, a seafood market, the best place to buy a leather belt, and an outstanding taxi driver. They seem too know everything and everyone.
Second, Rick and Carmen have developed a system where they cook an enormous amount of great Mexican food for breakfast, and then leave it in the refrigerator all day and encourage guests to help themselves. This really is a tremendous benefit. Sure, it saves a few bucks on buying lunch or dinner. But more important it offers weary visitors the opportunity to simply have a meal at home without the fuss of cooking it or going out and hunting down a suitable restaurant. It also gives the visitor a chance to break bread (so to speak) with some of the other guests and get to know them a bit better under very relaxed circumstances. I know of few B and B's who offer this kind of flexibility.
Finally, in these days of media overkill about the dangers of Mexico, it's so refreshing to head out from Casa Zuniga to scour a city that seems almost devoid of crime. On Friday and Saturday nights we only saw two or three fresh-faced police officers in the Jardin. That is, everyone was having fun and no one seemed to be going overboard. It was great.
Don't forget as well that Rick has free tickets for the funicular that carries Casa Zuniga guests down to the main part of town. It's a wonderful ride with an outstanding view of the town and its yours for nothing.
We'd go back to Casa Zuniga any time. Our friends have been there four times in the last year.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jojo1473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

We arrived late and Rick met us at our taxi as promised. The location near the top of the funicular is ideal and the view is gorgeous. Breakfast---outstanding! The walking tours of Guanajuato led by Rick are so much fun and he brings the history of the town alive. We felt like we spent a few days with an old friend.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Felipe20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickzuniga, Owner at Casa Zuniga B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2011

we made as much time as possible for out guest, did what we could to help them enjoy their stay. they survived the freak wind storm(s). lots of dried leaves/dust/trash blowing all over the place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.3 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 55 in Guanajuato
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 55 in Guanajuato
689 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 55 in Guanajuato
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Paz
Hotel de la Paz
#7 of 55 in Guanajuato
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#3 of 55 in Guanajuato
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Zuniga B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Zuniga B&B

Address: Calle Pochote no 38 | Centro, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Guanajuato
Price Range: $75 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Zuniga B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is our wish to provide our guests the best service possible from first contact to check out. We can only do this working directly with each guest. To that end, we are now independent. To make a reservation, either go to our web site-availability calendar or e-mail us and we can help you pick a bedroom, arrange BJX transportation, send directions, etc. Adults only, LGBT friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Zuniga B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Zuniga Bed And Breakfast
Casa Zuniga Hotel Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing