We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They were there for me when I needed it most”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guanajuato
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Casa de Dona Ana
Ranked #12 of 73 Guanajuato B&B and Inns
Melbourne
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“They were there for me when I needed it most”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

First off, the place is great. We stayed at the Alhondiga House, not far from it's famous namesake, for an entire month in July/August 2012. It's got everything you can think of, is even better than the pictures and the rooftop view is AMAZING. Be warned though, there are lots of stairs up and down, so if you are unfit or have limited mobility, this is probably not the place for you. But that said, Guanajuato probably isn't for you as there are hills and steps everywhere.

The neighborhood kids are rugrats but that's expected. They'll ask you for money, to take out the trash, limes from the tree or just want to play in the yard. It's understandable as this is the only patch of grass in the whole neighborhood but they did get on the annoying side with a few events. The owners, Mike and Ana, have since put up a better fence and gate, hearing our opinion. Can't get much better than that, huh?

Okay, now to the really important stuff. I got super sick while I was here from eating street food. Fever, shakes and diarrhea to the point where I couldn't even go to the doctor. My girlfriend called Ana for help and she offered to meet her at the doctor to help interpret, making sure it all went well. Beyond making sure I was properly diagnosed (dysentery or salmonella), she called daily for a few days, to make sure I was feeling well. You literally can't ask for more caring owners, with both of them extraordinarily nice. When I was really down and out, they helped me, which I will never forget.

We also met a couple staying at another of their properties (not sure which one) but they raved about theirs as well. Oddly, we ran into them again in another town, talking about it further. Rent with Mike and Ana, who along with owning a great place, are fantastic people. Thanks very much for a great month in Guanajuato!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juanbuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
83
19
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Crystal, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

A perfect aspect of our nearly perfect two weeks in Guanajuato was the hospitality afforded by Mike and Ana. I agree wholeheartedly with other reviewers about this being "the best equipped and supplied" accommodation, down to a cell phone, mosquito repellent, computer with internet/wi-fi, cable TV, disinfectant for vegetables, and all the kitchen amenities -- plus a large shower, laundry, rooftop terrace, ceiling fans, etc. It is an easy twenty minute walk (or five minute taxi ride, for 30 pesos) to the Teatro Juarez, a few easy minutes to a Soriana grocery, and a few blocks to a bus stop where one can catch a ride to Dolores Hidalgo or Leon. The neighbors are friendly, and the view from the balcony of the nearby Hotel Albadia makes for a great sunset meal; food is OK, service and mood wonderful. A big plus is the fact that a taxi can drop you off right at your door; many rental units in GTO are a long uphill climb from the taxi drop-off. Mike and Ana are gracious, professional, and helpful. And the prices are amazingly low. For a week's stay, or a place to spend several months and finish your novel, Mike and Ana's suites are the way to go!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and I spent 2 weeks at this Casa.just to hang out in Guanajuato and explore..what a wonderful place and the host and hostess couldn't be any friendlier and professional. All your needs are met down to sugar for your coffee, and cell phone to use for emergencies to call them. Great Mex neighborhood to get all your foodstuffs at great prices too.... absolutely immaculate and charming like a little casita for yourself...we loved it and would stay again any time...we live in San Miguel de Allende and highly encourage you to stay there!...Lorraine and Juan

Room Tip: any apt is great,,charming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0rraine_C_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We spent a very enjoyable week at La Casa de Dona Ana. The apartment was extremely clean, well appointed and decorated in such a colorful way. It is an easy and interesting walk to the center of town. This was probably the best equipped and supplied apartment we have ever stayed in. It would be ideal for a long term visit. The bed and seating are quite comfortable. Although not included in the photos, there is a beautiful, large tiled shower in the small, but adequate bathroom. The rest of the photos on the website match perfectly with the apartment. Thank you Mike and Ana for offering for offering such a wonderful and beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

The Candalabra suite is immaculate and charming, nicely decorated with Mexican folk art, and convenient to buses, taxis, shops and restaurants. It's not a long walk to the historic center, and it always felt good to get back to the apartment. I saved some money by cooking breakfast and dinner, and was happy with the all the appliances and equipment in the kitchen. The cell phone, laundry facilities and computer were quite useful, and set these suites apart from others you might rent from different hosts. There is a lovely view of the city from the roof.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redrock104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

The suites were beautifully furnished with local decorations and artifacts, making the visit feel like an authentic Mexican experience.. Everything was available for cooking, doing laundry, connecting with wifi, TV; so well thought out, all the comforts of home plus a fantastic view from the rooftop terrace overlooking the city. The suites are located a 15 minute walk from downtown. Our hosts could not have been more genial and available. Guanajuato is a fascinating city and Mike provided very helpful information on their website for getting oriented to the historic locations. The city has a long, rich heritage and walking around is safe, day and night, for exploring. Taking inexpensive taxis is also an option.

The Mexican people were were so hospitable and obviously proud of their culture. We met people of all generations and found especially the young people were willing to share their heritage. Mexico and the city of Guanajuato are so complex and interesting, they deserve more time than we had to really experience everything. I recommend this destination to anyone who loves to travel and who has an inquisitive mind.

Room Tip: The top floor of the suites has a skylight, and windows that open on all sides to provide the best v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

My sister and I stayed last September 2010 at La Casa de Dona Ana. This was our first trip to Guanajuato, Mexico. What a Beautiful City. Her mining background make it so different from others cities we have visited before. There is so much history lo learn and appreciate, its people are friendly and helpful.
One of the best parts of our stay in Guanajuato was our accommodations.
I found La Casa de Dona Ana in the internet. The location is very convenient, we could walk to downtown, and visit many of the attractions in town. Dona Ana and her husband, were very gracious hostes, they were always there in case we had any questions. And at the same time, it was like they were not there, so we could have that feeling of privacy.
Their place is Beautifuly decorated. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Dona Ana prepared delicious meals, and we enjoyed drinking coffee and conversation with her and her husband. Thank you for the memories.
Bertha Alicia from California.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bertha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.2 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 56 in Guanajuato
492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 56 in Guanajuato
624 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 56 in Guanajuato
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#3 of 56 in Guanajuato
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Zuniga B&B
Casa Zuniga B&B
#1 of 73 in Guanajuato
561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa De Pita
Casa De Pita
#6 of 73 in Guanajuato
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Dona Ana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Dona Ana

Property: La Casa de Dona Ana
Address: Calle Calixto # 42 | Colonia Centro, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Guanajuato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These lodgings are the nicest available in the historic district of Guanajuato, decorated in traditional Mexican style, and ready to occupy for a week, month, or the period that you need. They are fully furnished with dishes, linens, and everything needed - just bring your clothes and move-in! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Casa De Dona Ana Hotel Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing