We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"We could get used to this!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Sueno Azul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Sueno Azul
Ranked #2 of 73 Guanajuato B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"We could get used to this!"”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The beautiful Villa Sueno Azul was the highlight of our 3 day mini vacation in Guanajuato. It's small and beautifully done with the best of Mexico style, complete with flowers and fountain on the patio. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The continental breakfast included great coffee and all the cut up fresh fruit we wanted, and a heartier breakfast was available at a small extra charge. The manager was extremely friendly and helpful. I think she would have taken us on a personal tour of Guanajuato if we had asked her to! Our third night was free. We kept telling each other that we could definitely get used to staying for a long time at a great place like Sueno Azul.

Room Tip: We stayed in the upstairs room with a personal balcony. Can't remember the name. It was exquisit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelley152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    53
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
90
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was our favorite hotel/B&B of our trip through Cuernavaca, San Miguel de Allende, and Guanajuato. It wasn't the most luxurious (Las Quintas in Cuernavaca) but it was charming, staffed by the MOST WONDERFUL people, and it just FELT like home. Our room had a little extra space with a small patio overlooking the cute courtyard, so that was nice. This place felt the safest of all the places we stayed as well, like you could even leave your camera or laptop out in your room and it would be fine for the day. Other reviews noted it wasn't the most central location, but it's a short and interesting walk to the town center. And having spent days and eves in the town center, I can say I'm glad we stayed where we did! The only downside is the bathroom is really tiny, but the upsides to this B&B far outweigh that one little downside.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triguyinSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerManager88, Owner at Villa Sueno Azul, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
We truly appreciate your comments as we strive to offer the best service that we can. Unfortunately, you are right, Room Gladiola has a tiny bathroom in comparison to the rest of our rooms. It was something we couldn't modify (when we purchased the house) due to the structural layout.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seoul, South Korea
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Actually, I think it's little far from central. But this B&B is quite even if near hostel has a party.
Anyway I had very good experience because of Villa Sueno Azul.
If you stay in Guanajuato, this is nice choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 구아나
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

There are pluses and minuses to just about any location in Guanajuato. Being close to 'everything' generally means more noise, and being further away is, well, just that. In Guanajuato this can mean a longer walk, mostly often hills. The Sueño Azul is not particularly close to any of the major sights, and it is located on San Sebastian - a busy street frequented by buses, although it is much quieter at night. That doesn't make it a bad place to stay, but you need to know. So maybe no special points for location - with two exceptions: there is parking about 10 minutes away, and there is a nice, off the beaten track feel to the area.

The ambiance is pleasant enough and, with the exception of the entrance/reception desk, the public spaces feel more like part of a family living room than a small hotel. The rooms all are different: Gladiola is a comfortable room at the rear of the building and comes with a small balcony overlooking the little courtyard with its two breakfast tables and fountain. The website photos are accurate, but they cannot show that the bathroom is dimunitive, although entirely functional, and the shower stall truly is tiny.

The breakfast is included, and it is Continental - fruit, cereal, yogourt, pan dulce and toast, rather than Mexican or North American. It's OK, but I would just as soon go somewhere else where there is more on offer, even if I needed to absorb the extra cost. A really good breakfast can help you ride the day through to the late afternoon, and so to a lunch that is verging on dinner. Take your choice.

So not so gushing a review as some others have offered, but accommodation in Guanajuato is something of a challenge for a city as popular as this is and the Sueño Azul has a number of points in its favour. As noted, the location comes with some minuses (the long walk to the lower town, down a bus-choked street with no sidewalks being the biggest minus), but the management makes up for that with attentive and pleasant service and comfortable beds. A solid 3.5 stars. I'd go back.

Room Tip: The rooms on the street side will hear lots of daytime traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chapul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerManager88, Owner at Villa Sueno Azul, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
One of the pluses about our location is that we are completely accessible by car (there are no stairs to climb to get to us) which in Guanajuato means that there will be some traffic noise like in any living city. Fortunately that changes at night. In fact, the rooms facing the street have double pane windows to minimize the noise, being the reason why they are slightly cheaper than the other ones.

About our breakfast we do have the option of a "full breakfast" at an extra cost. However, the fresh fruit is local, and the Mexican pastries (pan dulce) are the best you can find.

As you mentioned all of our rooms have a different layout, and Room Gladiola which happens to have a small balcony also has the smallest bathroom of them all. The other rooms have decent size bathrooms, however, this one was "designed" with the limited space, and within the existing footprint of this colonial house.

Some things we were just not able to change, even though we strived for American standards being American architects. We apologize if the layout "dilemma" and the breakfast option was not clear to you, and hope to make mends your next time around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeriousDreamer
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We have visited Guanajuato four times and tried various places. Villa Sueno Azul is the best. It is close to downtown. It is quiet and clean. We will definitely go there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeriousDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and were made very welcome by Mila, the rooms and beds are very comfortable. The service was excellent, would have preferred they included eggs in the breakfast choice rather than charge.
Would certainly recommend this B. & B. and would stay there again.. It is also very conveniently located for walking around Guanajuato.
Andrea Canada

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

the service and attention given by the landlady was excelent. You will feel just like at home right away.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mab333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.7 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 56 in Guanajuato
486 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de la Paz
Hotel de la Paz
#10 of 56 in Guanajuato
84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 56 in Guanajuato
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 56 in Guanajuato
117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Zuniga B&B
Casa Zuniga B&B
#1 of 73 in Guanajuato
557 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa de Dante Hostel
Casa de Dante Hostel
#1 of 54 in Guanajuato
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sueno Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sueno Azul

Property: Villa Sueno Azul
Address: Calle San Sebastian No.88 | Colonia Centro, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Guanajuato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Sueno Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Sueño Azul is only 30 minutes away from the Bajio International airport, and 10 minutes walking to the heart of the historic center in Guanajuato. Room rates include: Continental breakfast, purified drinkng water, free WI-FI, tea or coffee service. and TAXES. The rooms are NON-SMOKING, and are decorated with artisan furniture. Each has a private bathroom, hair dryer, fan, an alarm clock, and reading lamps.The lounge area has a satellite TV for the guest, and tea or coffee service. There is bar service (wine or beer) available. It has a covered patio with a fountain, a cozy living room, and a terrace where guest can sun bathe, and where smoking is allowed. NO CHILDREN under 10 years of age, Villa Sueño Azul is not suited for children, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Sueno Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing