We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place (except for the other guests!)”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Bertha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Bertha
Ranked #22 of 73 Guanajuato B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Lovely place (except for the other guests!)”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at Casa Bertha for two nights in May 2013. Great location, good facilities, but any noise echoes throughout the building due to its structure. No air-con or fan, but not required. Good shower but only hot in the morning. Good wifi connection.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    27
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
4
17
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Casa Bertha is a real gem - a welcoming, clean, centrally-located guesthouse. While there are countless characteristics that make this place a winner, the owners Juan and Jorge are the heart and soul of Casa Bertha. They make you feel warm and welcomed every time you step in the door. I arrived in the dark at 6am, rang the bell, and Jorge opened the door for me and made me feel at home right away - I was worried no one would be awake or that my room wouldn't be ready, but I was immediately put at ease. Communicating with them in advance was easy - emails were answered in under an hour, and the exact type of room I had requested was available and waiting for me upon my arrival. Throughout my visit, both Juan and Jorge answered my many questions about Guanajuato and the surrounding area, and patiently and kindly provided very useful information on how to get around and what to do, despite my broken Spanish. I didn't think the hospitality could get any better when on my last morning, at 5am, my taxi failed to show up and Jorge pulled out his keys, walked me to his car, and drove me to the airport himself! I've never seen anything quite like that before.

The terrace has a beautiful view looking out over the town. At the same time, Casa Bertha is really in the middle of all the action - less than 5 minutes walk to the main square, and within 100 yards of great restaurants, cafes, and sites. I walked and walked and walked around town, and Casa Bertha was always within reach whenever I got tired. Every day the housekeeper made the room tidy.

You can't go wrong with this place. If you're looking for a good guesthouse, look no further!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jonaizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Ok, if you are looking for a place that is close to all the action and is very affordable then look no further. Casa Bertha is a minutes walk to the Jardin (Central Garden), which is famous for it's fine dining, bars and local music that is the spirit of Mexico. I stumbled on this place as I was walking through the streets looking for somewhere to stay. The rooms are very clean and tidy and some have kitchens if you like to eat in every now and then. There is a terrace on the top wich offers amazing views of the beautiful town of Guanajuato, great for the avid photographer. The terrace is also a great place to meet other tourists in the evening if you like to have a few pre drinks before a big night on the town. There is cable TV with many chanels for movies & entertainment if you want to relax in you room for a while. Housekeeping is daily and occurs when you have left for the day, so no unexpected interuptions. Special thanks to the property owners Juan & Jorge, they are the most hospitable people I have ever met in my travels and did their upmost to make you feel like Casa Bertha was your home too. For this I would like to extend my gratitude to Juan, Jorge, Micheala and the boy that doesn't spaek english and say you guys are the best hosts ever. Muchasn Gracious. Seriously travellers you must check this place out, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We spent 3 nights here. The terrace was a nice place to meet up with other travelers and also to take pics of the city - if you want some really nice pics come up at dawn. Room was fine and clean.
Service was fine. Very hospitable reception.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ornoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I have taken a group to Guanajuato the last three years to studyi Spanish in the nearby language school, Escuela Mexicana. It is my favorite place to stay in my favorite city in Mexico. I agree with the remarks of others who believe Casa Bertha is clean, inexpensive and charming. It is not up-scale, but that is part of its charm. The two brothers, Juan and Jorge, could not be more fun or helpful. I once arrived two days early and there were no vacancies. The brothers' solution was to offer me their own room until a room came vacant. It is located in the historic district within walking distance to most everywhere you will want to go. One of the best things about CB is the terrace. Almost every evening the guests gather for conversation and fun. If you are looking for a fiesta you need to go no further than to climb the steps to the terrace. However, the brother's policy is that the terrace closes at ten most nights when the place falls quiet so that everyone can get a good night's rest. The staff is like the brothers who employ them - friendly,helpful and competent. It is a steep climb from the center of the historic district to your hotel room at CB, so you need to be able to make the climb as you can not drive there. A cab could let you off at the plaza just below the hotel.

Room Tip: My favorite room is # 9. For about 20 dollars a night you get three beds including bunkbeds, a stov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

This is an excellent central hostel and the two owners just could not be more helpful. I had the top room with a wonderful view and it was spotlessly clean but the drains did smell in the very clean bathroom. One has to be good at iron steps to get there but 100% worth it.

Room Tip: I commented on which room to take in my review
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WidgeParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

The friendly service from start to finish made this a great stay. With a room off the rooftop terrace, the climb up to the room was worth it every time. The hosts help you get around, give great recommendations, and make you feel at home.

The location puts you right in the downtown area. The hotel is easy to find and can easily be reached by a local bus from the city bus terminal.

Room Tip: The rooms off the rooftop terrace are more open than the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arpan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.7 mi away
Mansion del Cantador
Mansion del Cantador
#24 of 56 in Guanajuato
55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Al Son de los Santos
Al Son de los Santos
#10 of 73 in Guanajuato
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Centro Bharati
Centro Bharati
#4 of 54 in Guanajuato
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa De Pita
Casa De Pita
#7 of 73 in Guanajuato
258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa de Dante Hostel
Casa de Dante Hostel
#1 of 54 in Guanajuato
203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Zuniga B&B
Casa Zuniga B&B
#1 of 73 in Guanajuato
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Bertha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bertha

Property: Casa Bertha
Address: Calle de Tamboras # 9, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Guanajuato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Bertha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Bertha Hotel Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing