We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay, just a bit noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Camino Real Guanajuato
Ranked #39 of 56 Hotels in Guanajuato
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good place to stay, just a bit noisy”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights in a business trip. Room was nice and clean. Staff were friendly. Hotel has a nice environment and an a beautiful outdoor pool. Breakfast included many options and it was included in the rate i got. We tried restaurant a couple of times and it was good. There are also restaurants close to the hotel. It is about 30-40 minute walk from heart of downtown.
The only issue i had with this hotel was noise at night. My room did not have good sound isolation and i could hear people talking and even sometimes yelling in the hallway. There were also noise from mechanical room of the hotel. I usually don't wake up at night, but in this hotel i woke up a few times every night.
I also had week Wifi reception, however my colleague in another room was okay, so i guess it depends where your room is.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ehsan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    113
    87
    58
    47
See reviews for
147
102
8
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

It's a beautyfull hotel just a few block away from the center were all the glory of Guanajuato is. The problem with the hotel is that it needs to be cleaner, our room was full of dust and it didn't look clean at all, the front desk lost my reservation but they still gave me a room protected with a credit card, if I did not have a credit card I would've end up looking for an hotel. There's plenty of taxi services outside the hotel which only charge about $3 Dllrs to take to downtown.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Baldor18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesus O, Manager at Camino Real Guanajuato, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thanks to taking the time to share your experience with us.

For Camino Real Guanajuato es really important your comments and we will working in all the matters.

Tanks again we hope to see you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Extremely expensive in idiotic issues. Parking costs, should not. Internet service is lame. The is a store inside the hotel, pray you will not need anything from it, its always closed. Restaurant service is s l o w. too bad to recomend. Below-Camino Real standards.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElPizu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guanajuato hotels

Odessa, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a great time when stayed at this hotel but there were some flaws that made our stay not so great. the last day the floor ran out of hot water which we reported around 7 pm. they said they would get it fixed asap but in the morning around 6 am when we woke up it was still not working. We had to take a shower with a wet towel it was so frustrating.

Room Tip: The rooms on the tower are really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed here for two nights last week on a business trip and the hotel was poor. It is in an interesting building but the staff and facilities were not up to par. On checking in my key did not work in the room I was given - a bellman came to help and it turned out that the room was already occupied. I was given a new room but still problems existed. The hot water was poor to non existant - not only for me but others in my group also had cold showers. There were delays in checking in, for some reason it was very hard to charge meals and no one spoke very good English. Not what I expected for a business hotel in Mexico. Beautiful facility but poor service overall.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSB461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The former hazienda, remodeled into a large hotel- and convention-complex, has - no conventions going on - more employees (and especially 'supervisors', preferring to flirt with the staff...) than guests. But during conventions, the individual guest is not estimated at all.
At our arrival, the reception-staff didn't talk english and treated us very unprofessional, also my wife being mexican; e.g. they wanted to give us a small, badly located room instead of the reserved deluxe, wifi costs additional etc. They couldn't and weren't willing to give any restaurant advice - although the only food you can get, is in a cafeteria like 'restaurant' at this hotel. At least one of the bellboys gave us some excellent insider-tipps. We never would return to this place - and we saw very nicer hotels in Guanajuato. Sorry.

Room Tip: don't go at all to this place - or only if you want to spend your money in without proper value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raeber-Mendez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
1.7 mi away
Mision Guanajuato
Mision Guanajuato
#10 of 56 in Guanajuato
496 reviews
1.0 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 56 in Guanajuato
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Villa Maria Cristina Relais & Chateaux
0.8 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 56 in Guanajuato
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castillo Santa Cecilia Hotel
Castillo Santa Cecilia Hotel
#45 of 56 in Guanajuato
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Guanajuato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Guanajuato

Property: Camino Real Guanajuato
Address: Alhondiga 100 | Col San Javier, Guanajuato 36020, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 56 Hotels in Guanajuato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camino Real Guanajuato 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Real Guanajuato is located in one of Guanajuato's most beautiful haciendas "San Francisco Javier" with beautiful garden and a pool, 155 rooms includes Deluxe rooms, Juniors, Master and a Presidential Suite. La Huerta Restaurant center piece is a 16ht century chapel is open from 06:00 to 23:00 hrs from Monday to Sunday, also we offer 24 hours Room Service. We have meeting rooms and facilities for banquets until 380 persons. Swimming pool and children pool is open from 08 to 20 hrs. Is located at 10 minutes from the main attractions of the city's Historic Center like Alhondiga de Granaditas, Teatro Juarez , Mercado Hidalgo and Museo de las Momias. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camino Real Guanajuato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Guanajuato Hotel Guanajuato
Camino Real Hotel Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing