We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Camino Real Guanajuato
Ranked #36 of 55 Hotels in Guanajuato
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Terrible Internet, horrible and overpriced food, bad service, receptionist gave us the wrong room then the tv and lamps didn't work then the telephone stopped working they mixed up our room service order forgot to come fix the telephone and when we followed up it took them 30 minutes to come fix it, 2usd for a cup of coffee and 3usd for a bottle of water at the rooms , overall disappointing and miserable the only good thing was the bell boys and cosierge

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank helkeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
There are newer reviews for Camino Real Guanajuato
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 387 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying here, and first we were given room 2210 which is next to the water pump and it is really noisy, also the only window this room has, faces a corridor, so no privacy at all. This pump works 24 hrs a day, so we asked to be changed to a quieter room, the reception lady told us there was only one room left in the old part of the hotel. The room is basically on the "Azotea' of the hotel, with a horrible view of the car park. It is better than the previous one so we decided to take it. If you can choose a different hotel, do it, his is really poor quality motel standard.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmnMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

They charge extra for a 2nd device to use the wifi.
They charge to use the internet in the business center.
They charge $20/person for the breakfast buffet.

Who does that?? Camino Real is touted as a 5-star hotel, but acts like RyanAir by charging for things that are free even at the cheapest hostels. It's so annoying to be charged extra every time you want to do something to enjoy your stay, and when management treats you like a revenue stream rather than a guest!

They also treated us like criminals when, after delivering room service, they realized they didn't have our credit card on file and interrupted our meal twice (once phone, once a visit to our room) to try to collect payment for the meal.

So what was meant to be a relaxing stay at a world-class property turned into a frustrating experience.

I do not recommend this hotel despite its nice grounds and decent rooms. Location is also not great - a cab ride from the center.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minnesota_egger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

What appears to be a nice hotel is spoilt through poor service and a veneer approach to the facilities. I stayed here for 4 nights and experienced service ranging from indifference to plain rude, and had problems with my door key three times, wifi four times, and a blocked toilet. Nice property but would not return for the price

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We loved it...plan on goin back! Very quiet, very clean it is a beautiful hotel...the rooms are beautiful, the bathroom too
Very modern...good restaurant...incredible food!! Nice location...nice views!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gcoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights in this place, it is magic, the service is excellent and the building is worth of a visit specially at night. Very good option to stay in Guanajuat, By far our favourite City of our trip, we will come back to enjoy more of it and of course we will stay again in this Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one with the view to the city or the couryard, at night it is a bautiful view
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Not too far from the Bus Station and not too far from the Center of Guanajuato, nice rooms, clean, friendly staff. From mexico city is arround 4.5 hrs by bus so if you want to enjoy your trip go to Central del Norte bus station and take the 7 am bus.

Room Tip: Taxis in Guanajuato are very cheap, dont forget to visit the mummies museum. If you are going in Oc...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricardo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
1.7 mi away
Mision Guanajuato
Mision Guanajuato
#11 of 55 in Guanajuato
510 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 55 in Guanajuato
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 55 in Guanajuato
669 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Mellado
Hotel Boutique Casa Mellado
#16 of 55 in Guanajuato
27 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quinta Las Alondras Hotel
Quinta Las Alondras Hotel
#21 of 55 in Guanajuato
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Guanajuato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Guanajuato

Address: Alhondiga 100 | Col San Javier, Guanajuato 36020, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 55 Hotels in Guanajuato
Price Range: $97 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camino Real Guanajuato 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Real Guanajuato is located in one of Guanajuato's most beautiful haciendas "San Francisco Javier" with beautiful garden and a pool, 155 rooms includes Deluxe rooms, Juniors, Master and a Presidential Suite. La Huerta Restaurant center piece is a 16ht century chapel is open from 06:00 to 23:00 hrs from Monday to Sunday, also we offer 24 hours Room Service. We have meeting rooms and facilities for banquets until 380 persons. Swimming pool and children pool is open from 08 to 20 hrs. Is located at 10 minutes from the main attractions of the city's Historic Center like Alhondiga de Granaditas, Teatro Juarez , Mercado Hidalgo and Museo de las Momias. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Camino Real Guanajuato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Guanajuato Hotel Guanajuato
Camino Real Hotel Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing