We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent colonial style hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Camino Real Guanajuato
Ranked #39 of 56 Hotels in Guanajuato
Veracruz, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent colonial style hotel”
Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

Located at a very nice place of Guanajuato it's colonial arquitecture it is not what usually a hotel would look like.

The rooms are quite comfortable to rest, but a little small, specially the bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    113
    87
    58
    47
See reviews for
147
102
8
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

This hotel is one of the nicest in the city of Guanajuato. I go to Guanajuanto on business quite often and I have stayed at many hotels in the area. I think that they charge too much for then the room is worth. The property is well kept, with the brand name of Camino Real the price goes up 50 USD per night. The food was really good. I would not stay here again because it was not worth $130 USD a night. The rooms were not very nice for a camino real. Lots of stairs, I would not recommend it to you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dougzihua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We were booked with a group at this hotel, and I expected a lot from it because of the Camino Real name. When we checked in, the clerks seemed a bit confused, perhaps new at the job. I soon realized that they were putting us in rooms that involved climbing stairs and some of the group would not appreciate that. When they learned that some of us would not climb stairs, they changed those rooms to "the tower," which has an elevator. The rest of us got the stairs. My husband counted 83 steps to Room 1017. 1016 is a few steps less and 1018 is about a dozen more. I certainly understand how using an old structure can involve some stairs, but one would think they would warn us, or perhaps look at people our age and adjust the room choices. There is no possible elevator service to these rooms. The porters carried our bags by hand up the stairs.
The rooms themselves were clean and attractively if sparsely decorated, but the windows didn't open, so it was necessary to use the air conditioner even when the evening was cool.
And only one of us could take a shower each day because one shower used up all the hot water. This happened both days and we were not the only ones who experienced it.
The grounds are quite attractive and the buffet breakfast is quite good. We used the pool and it was lovely. We did not try to walk to or from the center from the hotel because it seemed a little far. During our stay the rooms were quiet (but of course we were way up high on the other side of the building)..
The bar is located in a little room across the entrance driveway. It is rather dark and has a little waterfall and pool which makes it somewhat humid. On our second night, the staff told us we couldn't use the bar because there was an event scheduled there. We moved to the lobby and asked for drinks there; pehaps this became inconvenient for them because eventually we were sent back to the bar where they made space for us and had the event, an art exhibition opening, around us. It was kind of interesting. But in such a large facility, one would think a few people could get a drink without interrupting another event.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OutofKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We have just returned from our one night stay at The Camino Real. We chose this Hotel as it had a pool, which for our 4 year old was a huge attraction! We were right to stay here as she had such a lovely time in the pool, with it's water slide and very pleasant surroundings.
The main reasons for me rating this average is because the service was possibly the worst we have ever experienced from a Hotel. Mainly the girls on reception, who really do not care about any concerns you may have.
Firstly I called the Hotel direct to book our room, specifically requesting a pool side room. I would have understood at the time of booking if this was not available, however after been put on hold to check, I was told it was absolutely fine (some friends had advised us to request this if poss as they too had visited this Hotel) So when we arrived, after querying this, we were met with blank looks and simply told it was not available. No apology, nothing. Ok, fine, not such a big deal, disappointing, but it wasn't going to spoil our stay in this beautiful place.
We were put on the 5th floor. The room was fine, nothing special, but clean and more than adequate. We ordered some lunch by the pool. The lunch was absolutely wonderful. Beautifully presented and above our expectations.
We had a brilliant night in Guanajuato, and returned to the Hotel around 9pm. That's when the fun began!! There was some party going on outside, which sounded like it was in our room! It was incredibly loud, like our very own disco in our room, that we hadn't been invited to! This went on until the early hours. Basically we got little sleep. The next morning we voiced our concerns, we're told on 3 occasions that the Manager would call/ come and see us. The girl on reception, told me the 3rd time that she had 'forgot' to report my concerns. She found this amusing. I found this infuriating. We were told it was an 'outside party' no idea if this meant a party organised by some guests staying at Camino, or some neighbours. Anyhow no apology, could not care less.
Good points - pool brilliant, especially for families. Gives a good balance between exploring and relaxing by the pool.
Buffet breakfast was great. Lots of choice.
Viktor was lovely (helping with bags and valet parking)
Reasonably priced.
Very clean
Easy to take the 5 min taxis ride to the centre
Very clean

Just a shame that the service on reception was so terrible. We hope to return to Guanajuato at the end of the month with friends. Was hoping to stay here again, but will research other places with pools...........

Room Tip: Hope for the best. Our request was completely ignored.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlemonkey07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Camino Real of Guanajuato is built amid the ruins of a colonial monastery, which is one of the things that attracted me. A good 10-15 walk uphill from the city center, it is a large complex with elegant public spaces and a pleasant garden/arrival cricle. Everything you encounter at first is very sleek and well presented. The desk staff are helpful and have some English skills.

Our room was at some remove, and very clean and presentable. But we were surprised that the coffee maker had no coffee. This turned out to be something we had to buy, each day in fact. The less expensive Hampton in the DF had free coffee and breakfast. The decor was dated, though everything in it was in good repair. And on our second night a wedding party was father raucous and roused us two or three times as they came down the hall outside, meaning the rooms were not very soundproof.

Other hotels reviewed here often had issues as well, and overall this is a good place to stay, with more in room amenities than many and there was a very fine restuarant on site, though we did not choose to eat there.

We were served quite well on arriving and leaving, and the staff handled all our needs and questions with ease.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W F W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Camino real is all is always a brand that you can trust it's hotel in Guanajuato it's a very good one best I have ever stayed in that town it's Located in an old bilding but biutufully renovated, the location it's priceless and the service very good, if you go in winter make sure to take a very good coat it's gets very cold

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gferraez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

All staff very attentive to our needs,
Best of all is the bed, very comfortable and the room so well designed to make you spend a pleasant night.
The hotel is near to the attractions of the beautiful city of Guanajuato, and if you want a little fun more, we dont´n need go too far, because the club is just a few steps.
I really liked.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marybe_lop_leon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
1.7 mi away
Mision Guanajuato
Mision Guanajuato
#10 of 56 in Guanajuato
496 reviews
1.0 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 56 in Guanajuato
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Villa Maria Cristina Relais & Chateaux
0.8 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 56 in Guanajuato
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castillo Santa Cecilia Hotel
Castillo Santa Cecilia Hotel
#45 of 56 in Guanajuato
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Guanajuato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Guanajuato

Property: Camino Real Guanajuato
Address: Alhondiga 100 | Col San Javier, Guanajuato 36020, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 56 Hotels in Guanajuato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camino Real Guanajuato 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Real Guanajuato is located in one of Guanajuato's most beautiful haciendas "San Francisco Javier" with beautiful garden and a pool, 155 rooms includes Deluxe rooms, Juniors, Master and a Presidential Suite. La Huerta Restaurant center piece is a 16ht century chapel is open from 06:00 to 23:00 hrs from Monday to Sunday, also we offer 24 hours Room Service. We have meeting rooms and facilities for banquets until 380 persons. Swimming pool and children pool is open from 08 to 20 hrs. Is located at 10 minutes from the main attractions of the city's Historic Center like Alhondiga de Granaditas, Teatro Juarez , Mercado Hidalgo and Museo de las Momias. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camino Real Guanajuato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Guanajuato Hotel Guanajuato
Camino Real Hotel Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing