We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We came back - that says it all!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa De Pita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa De Pita
Ranked #7 of 73 Guanajuato B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
1,029 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 691 helpful votes
“We came back - that says it all!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

We first visited last year in October and the welcome was so friendly by the owner Pita and then the breakfast so delicious we promised to come back and we did this November. All rooms are different and well described on the website, it is a real home and it feels like it. From the terrace you have the most amazing views and it is 5mn walk from the Teatro Juarez: great location on top of excellent customer service. Pita opens your house and makes you feel like it is yours. A great choice not to miss in this aMAZE-ing city.

Room Tip: Look at the web site and find the one that suits you, there is one for every taste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingCat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    48
    6
    10
    8
See reviews for
43
110
42
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

What a wonderfull hotel!! The room are so special and in mexican style. You get the most warm welkom from senora Pita and feel right at home!
The whole building is beautiful and you have a beautiful view from the terras!
In the morning you can eat a really nice breakfast in the kitchen and get to meet other guest.
The location is perfect, you can walk to the centre of Guanajuato.
We had a amazing time and are so happy that we met senora Pita what a amazing woman, so friendly and carring!!!
If you ever want to go to guanajuato i would recommend you stay at Casa de Pita!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirjam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naucalpan, Edo. de Mex.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

I had the chance to stay in Guanajuato from 16 to 19 of september in Casa de Pita at Guanajuato, Sincerely I had a great impression of this place. Beginning with the follow of the reservation process, Pita's indications to get there were excellent. Casa de Pita has an excellent ubication, you get to Teatro Juarez in no more than 5 minutes walking. The place is very quiet, the room is very comfortable. Pita's attention is great, you really feel like home. Breakfast are serve at the same time in the dinning room, they are delicious and also you have the chance to talk with other guests. I seriously recommend Casa de Pita for your trip

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernardo Rafael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaxaca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

We enjoyed Guanajuato immensely, especially the traffic free Callejones. Casa Pita is centrally located up a small lane away from the main traffic road. Casa Pita is much like the town itself - full of knickknacks, many levels, many twists and turns i.e. delightful. Pita herself was very friendly, helpful with local sights and shopping. We had an apartment with our own kitchen which was great, and Pita also included a wonderful breakfast served around her kitchen table. Highly recommened.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blakbokis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

The hostel is located in the heart of Guanajuato. Every room is unique keeping the mexican style. Just recently a renovation of the terraza was done, and the view is amazing, I can say this 360 degrees!!
The owner, Pita, is a very warm and helpful lady. You need to come and visit this place!!!!!
By the way, the price is just fair in the hostel rates.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fannb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

A couple of months ago my wife and I returned to Casa de Pita for a second 5-day stay and loved it! Many other comments have eloquently described the charm of this 300 year home, friendliness, location, fabulous breakfast, etc. thus I would like to address some of the negative concerns posted by others. Most of the negatives are primarily in two categories, travelers who didn't study their destination and the chronics that travel with an "attitude", which of course often combine into unfair & uninformative reviews. I’ll give three examples.

City Noise? – No problema, to avoid it simply stay at the numerous lodging options on the higher elevations overlooking the city and take taxis everywhere you go. We prefer being a short couple of blocks from all the action in the vibrant city center and within walking distance to the majority of local attractions. What the complaints fail to mention is that some of the noise comes from the beautiful tradition of night trovadoures, in full 17th century garb strolling through the city alleyways – www (dot) whatguanajuato (dot) com.

Room not perfect? Unhappy with the layout & architectural limitations of a 300 year old house? - No problema, there are plenty of more modern accommodations at higher prices and longer distance from the center of town. Who while traveling has not encountered problems? Doesn’t a cordial request from the management usually solve the problem?

Traveler’s “attitude”? – Grande problema! Actually this theme is what motivated me to write this long review. During our recent stay we witnessed an irate “attitude episode” from another traveler, suffice it to say that in the evening four couples that had just met each other at breakfast treated our host Pita for dinner… two of us from the US, one from Australia and the other from Sweden.

I always read the low-star reviews to sift through for meaningful information, but ignore those that sound like “wait till I get home to tell everyone how horrible it was…” – you get the idea. Don’t we all travel to foreign countries to expand our horizons?

My earnest recommendation to everyone is that if you want to experience Mexico’s home culture at its fullest, in Casa de Pita you can enjoy all the décor & ambiance of her family for generations. Mingling at breakfast with travelers from all over the world is always a highlight and her repertoire for recommending local attractions, restaurants, etc. is priceless!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rodrigt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

Because of easter week we booked this Hostel via Internet/E-Mail, and the stuff told me that it is no problem, confirmed the booking and that I don't need a reservation number and that they make reservations secure and easy.
Unfortunatately: when we arrived in the Hostel nobody know about us, no reservations, no room left - it was really pity and I was very sad, because I explicit asked for a booking confirmation and they told me: no problem, just come arround we have reservation.

We where lucky because we found a room in another hostel. It was very good and the women there was very kind and helpful.
I really liked Guanajuato and the other hostel, but I can't recommend Casa de Pita - sorry

so if you want to stay there: take care that your booking is really secure

Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank loenchen78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.3 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.0 mi away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#3 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa de Dante Hostel
Casa de Dante Hostel
#1 of 54 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Zuniga B&B
Casa Zuniga B&B
#1 of 73 in Guanajuato
5.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa De Pita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De Pita

Property: Casa De Pita
Address: Callejon de La Cabecita # 26 | Centro / Downtown, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Guanajuato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the magic of Mexico, Guanajuato is the best option to enjoy its legends, colonial streets (callejones) and colorful houses, Casa de Pita is located in the downtown of Guanajuato and it is the colonial house where you could smell its magic trough the years and if you are expecting more than just walk around the city, Casa de Pita is the best option to stay because she will tell you about the legends around the house, tips and tricks to maximize your stay and you will love the friendly environmental and Pitas company. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa De Pita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Pita Hotel Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing