We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveler rating
114
47
7
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
114
47
7
6
5
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 179 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2017

My son and I stayed for a week in the room Las Garzas. We were told although the room was downstairs and rather dark, it was quieter than the other rooms. It was charming with one wall of the room showing remnants of the old bakery, talavera tiled shower and scrupulously clean. The entire hotel was extremely clean. The continental breakfast is just okay with very nice fresh fruit and some bread, but there's a menu to order from with heavier fare for under $4 and well worth it. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a loud bar across the street but they tend to close things down about midnight, but still earplugs might be a good idea for sleeping. The city tends to be loud everywhere, but the last night was especially tough with a drunk party next door screeching and cackling until 5 AM. The young man on night duty was apologetic and had asked them to quiet down, so lesson learned, bring earplugs.

A tip on some great street food - walking east on Calle Galarza, turn right at the corner past the Templo de San Roque. The ladies there make tlacoyos, a masa based food with beans and cheese, and then they slice them open and add the filling of your choice. They're really good.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank b0wh0ws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2017

Everyone who worked here was helpful and kind, even those who put up with my pathetic Spanish. The view from our room was a picture in itself (see attached.) It was close to everything and even the breakfasts were good.

Room tip: Facing downhill and open to the city.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbygSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2017

This whole hotel is a feast for the eyes and senses. This is just an amazing place with so many things to see and experience that it is hard to write about. If you like older hotels (200 years old) that have been meticulously maintained, check out this facility. It is just down the street from the Diego Rivera Museum and many other art galleries and in an area of many fine restaurants, near the University of Guanajuato.

Room tip: Request a quiet room (as always) if that is what you prefer.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2017

My wife and I returned to the Antiguo Vapor for the fourth time and enjoyed our stay as much as ever. The location and secure parking are certainly a plus, but the friendly staff and beautiful building are why we keep returning. Pilar, the owner always goes out of her way to make us feel welcome. The included breakfast of fresh fruit, toast and coffee is lovely and more than sufficient. Yes, the beds are a little on the hard side, but we have always slept well at this hotel. Travelers to Guanajuato should know that it is a university town and can be noisy at night. There is a bar across the street from the hotel that plays loud music, but it ended by 10:30 pm and did not disturb us. We will return with pleasure to the Antiguo Vapor.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank jackg641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2017 via mobile

Definitely overpriced. Structure is nice and this what the hotel relies on; for the rest any kind of service is missing; staff unkind (first thing they ask you is to settle the bill) and unhelpful, as only the owner can make decisions over the phone, including as to whether your request to change room since there is not hot water can be met though the hotel is actually empty. Breakfast is included but is very poor unless you pay an extra price à ma carte. Wifi in the rooms is announced, but there is actually no wifi or close to zero, so if you are on a business trip and need to stay connected just go elsewhere. Only advantage , there is parking for free which is rare in Guanajuato's center.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank paoloz252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews