We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Knockout view and more. ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Antiguo Vapor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Antiguo Vapor
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Guanajuato
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Knockout view and more. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed three nights in the Tortolas room, accent on the first syllable please. The view of Guanajuato is quite breath taking when you first enter the room. The room is nice although it only has one queen sized bed. The bathroom is nice too but hot water takes a while to arrive. Housekeeping standards are high, staff friendly and English spoken. Location is great, Diego Casa Museum just down the street and a 10 minute walk to the nighttime madness around the Theater. The restaurant breakfast food is good. Dogs barking constantly but no fault of the hotel. Same with the noisy Callejoneadas parading through the streets. Lots of church bells too but that's a charming touch I think. All in all, a nice spot to live while visiting Guanajuato.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank gonezen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    42
    6
    6
    5
See reviews for
39
89
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Our room was in the basement with no windows but it was large. There was no heat, but they gladly gave us a space heater. They were very accommodating. You do have to call the front desk if you don't feel the shower is hot enough, but they warned us before hand, Overall, great value for the money, and good location.

Room Tip: The room near the restaurant was convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiscrimTaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with another couple. This hotel is walking distance to the Centro. If you are unsteady on your feet, I might recommend another hotel. We had to walk up and down a few flights of stairs to get to/from our room. Overall, this is a nice hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Serenab82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aguascalientes, Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Ok if really want to see what's Mexico about , these is the place , the city it's just magic , lot of hills little street , the architecture just to dyed for , about the hotel great location walking distance to every where , the hotel it's an all Spanish hacienda , it's very impressive , every single corner has something interesting to c , the room was beautiful,nice a comfortable bed, the decoration is rustic Mexican , my room had a beautiful view f one of patios , with a balcony , a really cute fireplace very romantic , the staff super fern lily and helpfully , I definitely want to go back to these city again and I will stay there again ,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alberto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We picked this hotel from the wonderful reviews. True - the hotel is lovely, well situated, immaculate, wonderful and attentive staff. Breakfast was simple but good - fresh squeezed orange juice, good coffee, sweet roll and fresh fruit. I have no idea what the rest of the town is like but dogs barked all night long. Nearby church bells rang up to 32 rings at a time in the early hours and consistently like every half hour or so. If you can sleep through that kind of noise, have no hesitation about staying here. For me, though, I was tired and cranky all day being awakened so much through the night. Also, while the room was cleaned immaculately, the cleaning person organized my toiletries and some bags I left on the floor so I had to look to find them. Am sure she/he meant well but I didn't appreciate that. Besides, I told the desk that I didn't need my room cleaned that day and they did anyway.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldiept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Location is good, near art galleries and Diego Rivera museum. Very clean and nicely decorated but somewhat stark. The multi story building has undergone extensive refurbishment . My husband and I stayed 2 nights - Wednesday and Thursday - and the hotel was not very busy. There was once a restaurant, but it seems to be closed. Staff pleasant and took care of our needs. Owner met us when we arrived and was very welcoming. The bed was really hard, as we came to know most hotels in this town have the same ! Loved this town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agapanthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Beware of their cancellation policy. I had to cancel unexpectedly 6 days in advance and they charged me 50 percent. I will not ever stay there again. Although the hotel is charming, the location is difficult to find. I have Ben there in the past and enjoyed the atmosphere but am aghast at the policy for cancellation when it is so far in advance. Not recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pila61, Gerente at Hotel Antiguo Vapor, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We are very sorry for your opinion. In all hotels there are cancellation policies and we reach a mutual commitment when the reservation was made. And there was an opportunity to change the dates of your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.1 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#7 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Paz
Hotel de la Paz
#10 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#3 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mision Guanajuato
Mision Guanajuato
#8 of 56 in Guanajuato
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antiguo Vapor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antiguo Vapor

Property: Hotel Antiguo Vapor
Address: Calle Galarza Centro 5 | esq. Positos, Guanajuato 03600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Guanajuato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antiguo Vapor 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Antiguo Vapor house, in the heart of captivating historic downtown Guanajuato, dates back to the 18th century. Rooms are decorated with the elegance of old colonial Mexico, featuring fine, comfortable wrought iron and wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Antiguo Vapor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing