We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask for room 34”
Review of Posada Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Posada Santa Fe
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Guanajuato
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2009

I really enjoy my stay in Guanajuato, this hotel is really good, but ask for room 34 that has a king bed, very confortable and clean. Firstly they booked to me a bad room, #42, it was dirty, noisy and dark, but everything changes when I kindly asked to change me, then the sun appears and it was the best!! Of course it must has another confortable rooms, but this one was the best from point of view cost x benefit. The breakfast is not a jewel, but it is ok! I suggest buy something at Starbucks in front of hotel and lunch and/or dinner at restaurant Casa Valadez, is simply the best, I´m not exagerating! best quality food, best service and cheaper than another one. The taxi from bus terminal cannot charge you more than 40 pesos, keep alert! I recomend also do a little trip of one day to San Miguel de Allende, very beautiful city but to much expensive, so you should sleep at Guanajuato. Dont forget to buy tipical candies at La Catrina, beside the restaurant. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (713)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 713 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2009

You will read several reviews (including mine) about how great the location is of Posada Santa Fe. Check-in was smooth, room was lovely and breakfast delicious!

To those reviewers that complained of the sound, get a room in the back. It's Mexico: they don't begin to party until midnight. Since the hotel located in the centre of the city (the garden), it's only natural people will hang out there.

Will stay at this hotel again when I return to Guanajuato.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

Great location, but there are other nearby hotels that I wish we'd checked out. For the money this just wasn't worth it.......tiny, stuffy cell of a room with one small window up near the high ceiling. The mattresses had a plastic covers that wouldn't allow them to breath and they held the heat. The room was dusty and had old accumulation of dirt and grime.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctgal22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2009

Although not reachable by car (was left off by taxi 2 blocks away), Posada Santa Fe has the best location in Guanajuato, smack in the middle of Jardin de la Union, less than a 10 minute walk to anywhere! Service was okay. Room was very clean. Restaurant wasn't bad. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerLIsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2009

the customer service was great, albeit stuffy. I guess that's to be expected from a 'high class' hotel. we preferred meson de los poetas. more character and larger rooms.

it was fun to be on the main square though. the rooms with views have great views!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank past-nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2008

Great location and the breakfast was good but the room was a pit.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Hoffie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

I was placed in an interior room on the 3rd floor for two nights. There was still some noise but I didn't expect it to be tranquil being that it's right on the plaza. I can deal with the noise, as long as I have a fan or a sound soother. I could also deal with the pincher bug and dozen or so ants that I killed in the bathroom. The mold around the shower area was gross but again, I could tolerate it.

What I couldn't tolerate was the number of times I had to show my credit card to an incompetent and inefficient staff who repeatedly told me that I didn't have an account set up for in-house charges. I absolutely HATE showing my card to staff more than once. And the fact that they took my card and disappeared with it for fifteen minutes was even more irksome.

No apologies, nothing.

Never again. There are much nicer, cleaner, well-run hotels in this town for half the price.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TigerTonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.2 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 54 in Guanajuato
517 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 54 in Guanajuato
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Paz
Hotel de la Paz
#7 of 54 in Guanajuato
107 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mision Guanajuato
Mision Guanajuato
#11 of 54 in Guanajuato
532 reviews
0 mi away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#3 of 54 in Guanajuato
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Santa Fe

Address: Calle Jardin de La Union 12, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Guanajuato
Price Range: $92 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Santa Fe 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1862, our Guanajuato Hotel keeps in its facilities a captivating colonial and historical appearance, a signature element of the best Hotels in Guanajuato. Posada Santa Fe is home of a big artwork collection by local artists and a lobby that stands out for its lofty beamed ceilings, fine chandeliers, antique furniture and spectacular paintings garnishing the walls. Stay in one of the 43 guest rooms of our Hotel in Guanajuato, all of them homely and comfortable for an easy rest in this magical colonial city.For added convenience, Posada Santa Fe Hotel features some other elements that distinguish us as the top choice among Guanajuato Hotels. A Tourist Ministry certified Restaurant with national and international dishes, a place that boasts a great view to the Jardin de la Union, a Parisian- style cafe terrace, functional rooms for both social and corporate events, parking lot and an endless list of amenities and services for a 4-star stay in the most traditional Guanajuato Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Posada Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Santa Fe Guanajuato
Posada Santa Fe Hotel Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing