We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in Guanajuato”
Review of La Casa Azul

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Guanajuato
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Casa Azul
Ranked #20 of 55 Hotels in Guanajuato
Reviewed July 29, 2006

We stayed here in early July 2006 with our 8-year-old son. There are a number of single and double rooms, but we stayed in a large room with two double beds and private W.C. and shower. The tiled floor, beamed ceilings and plaster walls gave the room a warm and authentic air. Our window was directly above the narrow street and therefore rather noisy with traffic at times. (There are interior rooms too.) The casa is an attractive cosy place. The view from the roof deck is wonderful; there is a little seating area for two, perched at the edge, above the street, that offers a relaxing place to sit early in the morning or in the evening after a day of sightseeing in this beautiful town. There is free (communal) internet and reasonably priced laundry service from a friendly older woman who may also do the maid service. The other proprietors were, unfortunately, not particularly friendly, and the older gentleman in particular was grumpy most of the time and just barely civil. When we arrived, we were given the choice of paying at checkout, each day, or up front, but then, after a couple of days, they demanded money from us. These were minor irritations, though. The Casa is located about 10 minutes' walk up a fairly steep roadway from the Jardin - just far enough away to be quiet (and in a real neighbourhood) and yet close enough to everything. At 150 pesos per person (more if you want a room with jacuzzi), this was great value.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
14  Thank loraxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for La Casa Azul
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 60 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Cancún, Mexico
115
Reviewed September 6, 2005

A beautifuly restored old house makes you feel at home in Guanajuato. Walking distance from most events taking place during the Cervantino Festival, you will want to come back, as we do. They have a terrace overlooking the city and a kitchen were if you want you can cook your own meals.

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2005

We stayed at Hotel La Casa Azul in Cuernavaca in last month. Can't say enough about the value -- small (9 rooms), charming, reasonable price, clean, great location --north part of Centro on Arista (4 blocks to zocalo). It's a walled, gated spanish-style restored building with quiet central garden court and pool, well-decorated and maintained. Raul and his staff were very helpful. We highly recommend this hotel.

6  Thank aaacting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2005

I was fortunate to be in Guanajuato, Mexico, for the October 2004 Cervantino Festival. It wasn't my first time travelling in that area, on a budget. By now I have become some of an expert in finding nice accomodations at a reasonable price. This one, recently opened, was not just nice, but VERY nice!
If you ever dreamed of what the most romantic, lovely setting could be
like in a charming Mexican town, go and experience it in La Casa Azul. If you go in October, that much the better! The Cervantino Festival will be in full swing. Try your Spanish on the friendly owner Jose Herrera and his family. They all took their time preparing the facilities and creatin an exquisite, artsy environment. Decorations most tastefully selected enhance a setting that was already unique for its charming arquitecture and a privileged view of the city and surrounding landscape.
You may give Jose and his daughter Paulina a call at --- or --- or drop them a line at --- or at --- Even better... just drop by to see them at Calle Carcamanes 57, Guanajuato. You won't regret it! LBB

44  Thank Brownalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranciscoVela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Los precios son por persona no importa que cama elijas
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Karla V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Javier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.3 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 55 in Guanajuato
507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 55 in Guanajuato
674 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Paz
Hotel de la Paz
#7 of 55 in Guanajuato
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 55 in Guanajuato
134 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mision Guanajuato
Mision Guanajuato
#10 of 55 in Guanajuato
511 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Mellado
Hotel Boutique Casa Mellado
#16 of 55 in Guanajuato
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Azul

Address: Calle Carcamanes 57, Guanajuato, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 55 Hotels in Guanajuato
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
La Casa Azul Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing