We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Character but No Internet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Real de Minas
Ranked #41 of 55 Hotels in Guanajuato
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This charming hotel greets the visitor with lush foliage and stone archways. The lobby is spacious and the clerks are friendly. However, there is no internet and one room adjacent to the lobby has lamps but no light bulbs. The plentiful breakfast includes food for Mexican and American palates but one feels like one is being policed because of the abundance of wait people. Stone tiles and attractive pictures add to the ambiance. There is one safety feature that should be mentioned and that is the emergency exit is locked on the second floor.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lanatomia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Real de Minas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 220 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here over the past weekend as part of MIT event. I've never been through worse customer service experience in a long time.

Positives: Location, easy accessibility by car and quick walk to city center
Negatives:
1) The reservation: The hotel was asking to email scanned copies of credit card and ID. Why are you making the client to jump all these extra hoops. In the end, I asked the secretary to do electronic payment to save time
2) Hotel Facility: The hotel has seen it's heydays in the 70's. Very little has been done to upgrade the rooms. The carpets are filthy, bathroom tiles in desperate need of renovation and the bedding and towels felt like have not been replaced for ages. This hotel at the most should have a two star rating and a corresponding price to that
3) Food: Fruits were OK, but the rest a disaster: Eggs felt like they were from powder and rest of the food well bellow average at well above average price
4) Checkout: To finish the "great" stay, we had to wait for almost one hour to get an invoice (in Mexico you need to get a "factura" to be able to deduct the expense). In a hotel there was one person doing a checkout! We asked the clerk to prepare the "facturas" 4 hours before the checkout. Even though he promissed he would do so, of course he did not.

It's pretty sad that the hotel is so poorly managed, as it's a great location and with some investment in renovation and training of the staff it could be a gem in Guanajuato again. I should invite my MIT prefessors to write a case study on how NOT to run a hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank spoileddingdong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful ball room for functions but uneven service. Nice big rooms but no night service from 10 pm, wonderful city far from crowded and artificial cancun. A must destination! Marvellous 18 th century baroque churches. 50 haciendas 17- 18 century old. Travel in time from the conquistadors to premusce of mexican independance from the spanish crown. You can visit the mine that made this cities wealth during the 18th century: a vein 50 km long loaded with gold and silver !!!! Guanajuato is a safe city in the exact center of mexico .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hsiaverdier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Colonial-style decor, large, older structure, but placed in lovely surroundings (nice gardens). Small pool. About 15 minute walk to the city center. Clean and reasonably well maintained. Helpful staff. Rooms are spacious with rustic feel and furniture, although due to busy schedule we only spent minimal time in the room itself. The bed matresses could definitely use an upgrade- not the most comfortable of beds. Generous breakfast buffet, but as it does not change much from day to day, it may get a bit old if staying more than a weekend. There are several areas in and around the lobby to sit and chat or have a drink. The hotel premises are wired for internet all over. In general an acceptable option.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel 3 times and will return again.

The hotel is old and if you have very high expectations select another hotel more expensive hotel. This is very good for the price. There are some in this beautiful city that are more expensive and in much worse conditions than this hotel. Down town Guanajuato is a short 5 minute bus ride away and you can walk there too but the bus is only about 50 us cents and it stops by the front of the hotel on both directions and right underneath down town and the market on on the tunnels (Yes tunnels, this is one of the marvels of this city)

The pool is small but very well maintained. The kids love this hotel for this reason.

The restaurant at the hotel is very good but in Guanajuato there are 100s of great restaurants so there is no need to eat at the hotel, but if you eat there you will be pleased.

Some issues.

Some of the electrical work on this hotel is not up to us standards. Some wiring is very old and some people travelling with us had their TV short out. Which was kind of scary. We had no issues whatsoever in our room. They were promptly changed to another room. Electrical issues is true for a lot of hotels in the area so just watch your room and if anything is not up to your standards ask for another room.

Regarding the city. This is probably one of my favourite cities in the whole world. Its impossible to describe

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony to the front of the hotel so you can get a view. If you can get one on the...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilhelm_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Good-beautiful grounds and decor. Short taxi ride to downtown. Friendly staff.

Bad- don't bother to ask for a complimentary map in a city that is famous for getting lost in. One night I had no warm shower water around 9 pm.

Ugly- queen size piece of plywood supported a queen size mattress on a much smaller frame...whoopee!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Folkhero87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

First time in Guanajuato. Absolutely loved the city. We spent two nights in the Real de Mines. This is a reasonably priced hotel where you get what you pay for. The hotel is set in some lovely gardens and has a pool. Staff is friendly and helpful. This is an older property and the rooms are getting on. Beds are VERY firm as in hard as are the pillows. The hotel is within walking distance of the city center if you are a walker, otherwise a ten minute cab ride through the tunnels. Being outside the center means a little quieter but still can be noisy. Thin walls, we could hear conversations in adjoining rooms easily. Will probably look elsewhere when we go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericurmudgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
0.8 mi away
Mision Guanajuato
Mision Guanajuato
#10 of 55 in Guanajuato
511 reviews
1.0 mi away
Camino Real Guanajuato
Camino Real Guanajuato
#34 of 55 in Guanajuato
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Castillo Santa Cecilia Hotel
Castillo Santa Cecilia Hotel
#46 of 55 in Guanajuato
354 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 55 in Guanajuato
507 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Gran Plaza & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Real de Minas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Real de Minas

Address: Nejayote No.17, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 55 Hotels in Guanajuato
Price Range: $80 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Real de Minas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Real de Minas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real De Minas Guanajuato Hotel Guanajuato
Guanajuato Real De Minas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing