We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A winner!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Boutique 1850
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Guanajuato
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We have traveled all over the world, but can safely say that it is rare to find a hotel with staff more welcoming and more helpful than this one. Smiles, smiles, and more smiles.
The staff can't do enough for you. Mi casa es su casa is definitely the rule here. We would particularly like to commend the concierge, Betty. Wow!
But that is not all. The hotel (a refuge from the liveliness outside and quiet, as well) is located right on the central square, Jardín de la Union; a stone's throw from the Teatro Juarez where many performances take place, and in walking distance from the main tourist sites. The building (once a casino) is very modern inside and environmentally friendly.
Breakfast, which is included in the room rate, is available in the cafe adjacent to the hotel and it is very ample with numerous options.
This place is a winner!

Room Tip: Our inside room overlooked the indoor enclosed patio, but didn't have a window on the square.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sabasavta123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mari Carmen S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Boutique 1850, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Guest:
In the name of all the staff working at the 1850 boutique hotel, we want to thank you, for the opportunity to serve you during your last stay at this magical city. Your comments motivate us to continue working with more effort, with the only purpose to achieve our way for a service excellence. Hope to see you soon again, here in Guanajuato.
Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Boutique 1850
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 462 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

Location, location, location!!! Its right in the heart of town, plus the rooms are super new and nice. Had a wonderful experience in this hotel. The hotel included breakfast in the adjacent restaurant "Casa Valadez" which is a really nic place to eat and have some drinks. every room has a different name and decoration I loved this hotel

Room Tip: Try to get the room in the front cause they have a great view of the "jardin de la union"
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mari Carmen S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Boutique 1850, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Guest:
On behalf of all staff working at the Hotel Boutique 1850, we thank you for taking the time to include such kind comments about our hotel, suites, and our great location. Coments like yours, help us, to give us the pattern, to know that we are at the right way to serve all our guest as they deserve. Thank you very much for choosing us, at your visit to this magical mexican city. We hope see you soon in Guanajuato.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

this would have easily gotten a 5 star but we had problems with there wifi connection, besides that everything was awesome, we got lost and the bellboys actually ran a mile to find where we were and lead us to hotel, there service was great room was great, limited tv channels only other issue, the city itself is awesome and this is a great location. Sofia was great at checking us in. (cute too)
and spoke great english as well, both the bellboys were great, the concierge hooked us up with a english tour of the city which i highly recommend. i would highly advise staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randy7496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariasabate, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Boutique 1850, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Guest: Thank you for your comments about the hotel and our service. I want to tell you that during the last 2 weeks, we had a lot of problems with our internet provider, which is the supplier for most businesses and hotels at Guanajuato. This problem affected temporarily our service with, cut of service for 1 or 2 hours. At this moment, we have contracted with an extra internet company provider, that will guarantee the performance of our high speed Wi-Fi, 24 hours a day.
We hope in the future, see you again
Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is definitely a very swank hotel for the charming town of GTO. So from the beginning of the search I was kind of impartial to it as I felt it couldn't capture the ambiance of the city. However as the search continued it seemed there were no guarantees among the "nice and reasonably priced hotels" judging from reviews. It was my boyfriends first time in Mexico so we didn't want any issues. We booked the room and we were contacted by the concierge before our arrival to offer transportation and any other needs which was a nice introduction to our stay.

The hotel is elegant yet modern with the art and style upon entering. Our room was modernly themed and very spacious. The only complaint was there was an occasional foul odor when we would start up the air conditioner. It was a minimal issue so we didn't bother bringing it up. The rooftop terrace offers a beautiful city view and we received two free drinks as hotel guest. We also bought a bottle of champagne on our "alcohol shopping spree" and were allowed to drink it on the terrace as guest. The champagne cost on the terrace as you would imagine is very high and we just wanted to drink it at sunset with the beautiful city view. We of course purchased drinks on other nights up there and the service was just excellent. Betty was our concierge and she was wonderful, informative and very enthusiastic. She booked a couple of trips for us and advised us on how to get around without needing to take a costly cab as we're from Chicago and use to traveling on public transportation.

Overall our experience was wonder with the staff, the location was spot on and the hotel will be our go to hotel when staying in Guanajuato!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariasabate, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Boutique 1850, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Guest: We appreciate to take your time,sending your comments at Tripadvisor, they help us very much to improve that points where in some times do not see or do not give the importance that deserve. we are cheking our list products,with the purpose to give better prices. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is probably the best hotel in town. What we loved: central square location, beautifully appointed, lovely employees specially the manager, rooftop bar after sunset, pillow bar, rooms with windows that look onto the garden, full service Starbucks adjacent to the lobby. What we didn't love so much: HORRIBLE wifi, design trumped function (hanging shirts in the closet touch the floor), many of the rooms--while beautifully appointed are dark and without windows.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jorge P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariasabate, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Boutique 1850, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Guest: Thank you so much for choosing us among so many hotels in Guanajuato, your comments will help us, trying to improve all our services. I will like to comment, that because the hotel was built in a building listed as a world heritage building, 2 of our rooms have no natural light, this is because we need to respect the original architecture and spaces of the 19th century building. I would also like to say that in terms of our hi speed Wi-Fi, we all ready increased the amount of acces points, in order to improve one small area of the hotel which had connectivity problems. Today Wi-Fi is running with good speed at all hotel areas and rooms. We hope to have the oportunity to see you again, and you will see that we are working hard trying to correct all our mistakes, in order to fill all our guest expectations.
Thank you, very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two days in June. I could not have picked a better hotel!! I had read the good reviews here and picked it even if the price was a bit higher than surrounding hotels... well, it's absolutely worth every penny!! It's not that expensive anyway... about $145 USD for the standard room (in this case delux room Natalia)... which by the way have nothing standard about them... every room is decorated in a completely different modern style (so you can pick the exact room that you want by looking at the name of each room and pictures). Well not only are the rooms amazing... the lobby and hotel common areas area a work of art... really great interior design! The room rate includes breakfast (at the restaurant next door... and it is very good as you can choose a la carte what you want... well worth it and delicious) and two complementary drinks at the rooftop bar at the hotel (also amazingly well designed). Well we checked into one of the standard rooms and it was quite nice... problem is the air conditioner froze up. The staff (I'll get to the above excellent customer service down below) were great at letting us know what the problem was and also upgrading us to one of the suites (Isabel) ... WOW! Amazing room!!! I think they run around $175 per night (also with breakfast and drinks). But now let me get to the staff! Excellent, Excellent customer service. I travel the world for work and have stayed at some of the best hotels in China, South America, rest of Asia, etc... and this has to be one of the nicest experiences I've had with the staff... what else can I say (keep it up staff!). The location of the hotel is in Jardines de La union (the main plaza in Gto) so its always busy and even noisy at night but you cant even hear this inside the hotel. Overall one of the best hotels I've stayed at anywhere. (p.s. I thought the modern décor would put me off...being in a very colonial traditional city, but they blended the two together perfectly!)

Room Tip: The rooftop bar opens at 6pm but it can get rather hot up there because of the blazing sun... we wai...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juanmbravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariasabate, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Boutique 1850, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Guest:
On behalf of all staff working at the Hotel Boutique 1850, we thank you for taking the time to include such kind comments about our rooms, service and great location. your comments help us and give us the pattern to know that we are on the right way to serve as you deserve. Thanks for your preference. We hope see you soon in Guanajuato.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel has a roof top terrace with a bar.

A wide view of Guanajuato downtown, less than a block from Teatro Juarez.

Nice people, friends groups, not expensive. A good option to have a drink after dinner.

If you order a whisky, do not expect the waiter to come back with the bottle to serve it at your sight; you will receive it served at the glass. A little detail, but a detail.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Comando23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariasabate, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Boutique 1850, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Guest
In the name of all staff working here at the 1850 Boutique Hotel, we thank you for the important feedback that you let us know by sending your tripadvisor coments.
Be sure that coments like yours, let us know where we are now, and where we want to be in a short future. We are concient, that care in small details makes the diference between a normal stay and an excellence one.
By this moment we are working hard, trying to correct our foults, to offer a better service for our future guests.
We honestly hope, to have, the oportunity of see you soon again, and give you the service that you deserve.
Kindly regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.2 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 55 in Guanajuato
507 reviews
0.0 mi away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#3 of 55 in Guanajuato
268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 55 in Guanajuato
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villa Maria Cristina Relais & Chateaux
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Paz
Hotel de la Paz
#8 of 55 in Guanajuato
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 55 in Guanajuato
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique 1850? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique 1850

Address: Calle Jardin de La Union 7 | Colonia Centro Histórico, Guanajuato 36050, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Guanajuato
Price Range: $168 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Boutique 1850 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Design Hotel, with the best location, within downtown of Guanajuato Capital, cultural heritage of humanity. Hotel features with the multi adward winning Restaurant "Casa Valadez", "1850 Spa", sky bar "One Bar & Lounge", with the best atmosphere and city view, "Lobby Bar", "Starbucks Coffee", and the best services and amenities of hotel industry worldwide. Enjoy The Secret... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Boutique 1850 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing