We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Meson de los Poetas
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Guanajuato
Certificate of Excellence
León, Gto.
1 review
“Excellent !!!”
Reviewed June 28, 2010

It was Great! We realise our wedding in the terrace of the hotel and everything was wonderful, a customized attention at any moment, the decoration of the place was terrific and we did not have ourselves to worry about the organization of the celebration, the hotel was in charge of everything. The room was charming, romantic and very comfortable, the delicious breakfast.
Congratulations for the facilities!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    200
    39
    13
    8
See reviews for
126
197
29
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timmins, Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2010

We stayed here during Semana Santa and loved it! So much character and yet not excessively rustic... Each room is dedicated to a poet.
I cannot speak for street facing rooms but we had wonderful sleep and a plesant fresh air from our window facing mountain.
Breakfast was excellent - I have yet to stay in that Holiday Inn Express serving similar one... Location is great as well.
Highly reccomend

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piramidon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California,US /Chiapas,Mex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Having a rental property of my own in another state in Mexico, I know what people look for....and I was very happy with this hotel. It's cute, charming and i found the staff friendly and helpful. Be forewarned that there are many stairs in this hotel, which adds to the unique quality.
I was first shown a room that was very nice but higher up than I would have liked... I asked to see something on a lower floor.They happily accommodated my request and my new room was perfect. Large, by most hotel standards these days..tv, phone, kitchenette...none of which I needed during my stay ...but was a welcome sight. There was a fan as well as a heater (also neither was needed during my time there) Bathroom was clean, bedroom was colorful and clean...Beds are usually harder in Mexico than in the states, for me it works great...for others maybe not...I slept soundly. Wi-fi internet connection through out the facility and breakfast was just about anything that I could want. I have no idea what the complaint that I saw in a previous review was all about. I have been all over Mexico and am so glad I trusted my instincts and paid that review no mind....I'm very glad that I found this little gem.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vphb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2010

Funny how a property can be rated #1 yet is barely a 2 or 3 star by north american standards. We are here in the Jose Marti suite based on previous reviews. We are exhausted as we hardly slept at all due to the drunks singing and shouting in the streets until the wee hours of the morning. This room faces the front and is exposed to everything happening in the streets. The room is large, bright and basic. We have requested a fan as it is too hot and we hope the white noise will help muffle the street noise. The breakfast buffet was only okay, similar to a holiday inn express. Nothing extraordinary, nothing memorable. Reception and staff seem indifferent. I would not stay here again and we are looking to move.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A_Canadian_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australai
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Wonderful hotel right in the middle of the historic centre. You can step out the door and walk to about four museums in a few minutes, or to any of the charming plazas such as San Fernando, La paz, Jardin de la Union. The rooms are all bright and colourful, the service is excellent, price is good, breakfast is delicious. A great hotel at a reasonable price. Much better than those fancy "arty" boutique hotels I stayed in last year, for twice the price.
Madeleine

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madzufi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2010

I picked El Meson because of the reviews on trip advisor and because of the location. The hotel itself was very cool. It use to be an apartment complex and all the rooms were unique and different. Also the design of the building was funky and cool with different court yards and passages. It had a great breakfast every morning and the staff was wonderful.

Our room itself was neat, we had a small kitchen and an office area. The showers warm and the beds were ok, kind of small for 2 people. We were there in January and it was cold. The only complaint on the room was that it was cold out and we only had a little space heater but every hotel we stayed at was the same way.

You can easily walk to any of the plazas and this was close enough to the churches but we didn't hear the noise of the city or the church bells. I would definitely recommend this for the price, location and cleanliness.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnviroGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VT
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2010

We chose a room with the balcony facing the street. Though the location increased street noise we loved the "people watching". The staff was friendly and accommodating...the room large...and a good breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VTNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.2 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#3 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Paz
Hotel de la Paz
#10 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mision Guanajuato
Mision Guanajuato
#8 of 56 in Guanajuato
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Maria Cristina Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Meson de los Poetas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Meson de los Poetas

Property: El Meson de los Poetas
Address: Positos 35 | Zona Centro, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Guanajuato
#2 Family Hotel in Guanajuato
#5 Business Hotel in Guanajuato
#6 Romantic Hotel in Guanajuato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Meson de los Poetas 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Meson de los Poetas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Meson De Los Poetas Hotel Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing