We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only cash not credit cards”
Review of Mestizo

Mestizo
Ranked #3 of 249 Restaurants in Guanajuato
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
1 review
“Only cash not credit cards”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely dinner with eight at our table, which can be difficult for the waiter and the kitchen. Everyone of our party was very pleased with the quality of the food and the variety of wines. However, we were rather shocked when we wanted to settle the bill and found out that they do not accept credit cards; cash only.
We do reccommend it as a wonderful place to eat, great ambience and good service but go to the ATM before you eat!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pamiga2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    79
    21
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Exceptional food at an amazing price ”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

My mother and I went here for dinner last night, at the recommendation of a friend here. We were so impressed! The food was incredible, excellent service and a very pretty ambience and decor (you can shop for pottery while you dine). The prices for dinner were extremely low ($6 cdn) I loved the cerdo con miel y piña and mom enjoyed the bassa con hongos y hierbas. Both were perfectly cooked with so much flavor! The margaritas were delicious as well. We highly recommend this place and we plan to go back again before we leave!

Helpful?
Thank jglyka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, B.C.
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A sophisticated little restaurant reasonably priced”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We were so impressed with this little gem of a restaurant, we came for comida twice and a late dinner once. Our server was very attentive; the menu was interesting and all 4 of our party were impressed with their meal. The onion soup was light and flavourful-as was the mushroom; the spinach salad with goat cheese was dressed with an infusion of basil and fresh peach; ceviche had a great flavour - the fish was fresh and the marinade had a just a light 'punch' to it.
The arrachera was rich and tender. The pasta dishes were also a hit.....light sauces; each dish presented as a piece of art. The waiter recommended the house wine-it was a pleasant surprise.
A lovely, relaxing and very special treat during our travels. The restaurant is open from 2-11.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaypea_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent, great quality - Just perfect!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed in Guanajuato for three days and we ended up eating there twice because we loved it so much. The food was exquisite, the presentation was superb and the service was very friendly! And everything was more than reasonably priced.

We'll be back this Spring and we'll definitely go back again and again...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vince777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast, australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best in Guanajuato”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was by far our favourite restaurant in Guanajuato. We ate here 4 times during our 2 week stay in Guanajuato. The food is excellent. I really loved their tuna in a citrus and ginger sauce. I also thought the service was very good. It is a small restaurant and there was only ever one person working the tables, though he was very friendly and attentive. Perhaps if you are in a hurry you might find the service a little lacking (per the comments of other reviewers), though it worked for us. The drinks are also very good. The sangria comes highly recommended. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank azzabazza18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mestizo also viewed

Guanajuato, Guanajuato
 
Guanajuato, Guanajuato
Guanajuato, Guanajuato
 

Been to Mestizo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing